We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 14 Oban accommodations

Backpackers Plus

The Old Church | Breadalbane St, Oban PA34 5PH, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Backpackers Plus to your Saves list
Backpackers Plus
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
96%
Ranked #4 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Oban
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Thomas M Carrieres-sous-Poissy, France
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    19
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
6
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (62)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (26)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Carrieres-sous-Poissy, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A very very good hostel: first it's in a ancient church! And the people working here are all very nice and helpfull. Allways smiling. The main room is quiet and beautiful. In the rooms each bed has is own light and electric plugs. That's really good. The hostel is near the center, and it's clean. Mind the showers, some are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Padua, Italy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The environment is warm and friendly. The room was clean and comfortable, I was with other friends in a 8-beds room. The living and dining rooms are shared, good to meet people. A kitchen corner is available. The building is an old church.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nothing much to say : We paid 15 pound each for night . Staff at the reception friendly , bedroom clean and smelling good. Toilette clean and organized. Kitchen. And Leaving room together and everything was great. For that price.... Go for It.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Whakatane, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were a group of 4 mature New Zealand travellers who stayed 2 nights here in the accommodation just up the road, and we found it fabulous. Clean, comfy, great breakfast, well priced, handy to everything. We simply loved it, and would recommend it to fellow travellers. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Midlands
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Light, bright rooms, with consideration notices in the dorm areas that are over served. Free wi fi, with great reception and speed. Free continental breakfast, relax and make it yourself, but as much as you want, which is nice in a budget place. Bathrooms were clean and the cubicles were were private and well thought out. Beds were comfortable, storage... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed one night having looked at reviews and pictures on website had twin room in the Rosal building up the road. Top floor decor dirty, bed lump of foam, sheets looked grey and dirty, shower mouldy, towels thread bear, carpet dirty, wifi would not log on, very noisy group in building. No mention of pub across the road. Not worth... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BackpackersPlus, Public Relations Manager at Backpackers Plus, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we’re sad that you didn’t have a good time. We’re sorry that some other guests in your building were noisy. This is unusual but we can understand it would be upsetting wherever you were staying. The pub on the other side of the road is 100 metres away but even so we have taken... More

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Dorm rooms are spacious, beds are comfy and each bed has its own power socket. The rooms are a little bit stuffy as there's only 2 windows which barely open. There could be more toilets but that's not the end of the world. The staff are very kind and for only £4, they will wash, dry and fold your clothes.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oban, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

I stayed in June with a friend, we were up for a wedding and stayed 2 nights. We had dormitory room 7 to ourselves with a bunk and a double bed and it was perfect - enough powerpoints to charge all our gadgets, comfortable beds, everything we needed. The facilities are new and colourful - separate male/female bathrooms which is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
travelling
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

Great facilities! Very friendly! Lovely decorated! There's lots of storage space in the rooms and bed lights. Good self catering kitchen. The lounge had everything you want for a short stop in a longer journey. And wifi is free!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

I reviewed the private rooms earlier in year and had a great time, so returned this week and stayed in the dorm rooms. There is a female only, male only and mixed room. I was in the 6 bed mixed dorm. Good sized room, huge lockers underneath beds and plenty space to sit up in the bunk and chill. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Do you own or manage Backpackers Plus?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Backpackers Plus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers Plus

Address: The Old Church | Breadalbane St, Oban PA34 5PH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Backpackers Plus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpackers Plus Oban, Scotland

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay