We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 13 Oban hotels

Columba Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Esplanade, Oban PA34 5QD, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Columba Hotel to your Saves list
Columba Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
64%
Ranked #7 of 13 hotels in Oban
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
waterlily5
  • Overview
  • Reviews (481)
  • Photos (161)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (121)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

481 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    170
    101
    49
    30
See reviews for
73
237
32
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Great location, value for money. Breakfast was very nice,enough variety. Only negative point was I had single room above pub and across from cleaners cupboard so noisy in morn and at night but not a big issue for me

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

You have to get an extremely cold or extremely hot shower - temperature is not regulated. And before the hot water goes, you must turn it on for appr. 5 min. Room overall good, convenient beds and linen, they even have a lift that is very good if you're travelling with luggage. Breakfast starts too late - 7:30, and this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Galashiels
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel is perfectly situated in Oban, being close to the harbour and easy walk along the Main Street. Staff were very pleasant, the room, although basic was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was plentiful, well cooked and hot, which makes a change from many hotels.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
wonderb67, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I will certainly pass on your great comments on to the team, Thanks again and I look forward to welcoming you back to Oban in the very near future Kind regards Darrell Williams More

Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was very spacious and comfortable. Bathroom too. Both the room and bathroom were clean. The staff very friendly and attentive. Varied breakfast. Excellent location near restaurants, shops,...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
wonderb67, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor. It is greatly appreciated by both management and the entire team. A good review is incredibly motivational for all of us and encourages the entire team to keep up the good work. So once again a big thank you and we hope to be able to welcome you back... More

Lesmahagow
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location, good service. If you are fortunate enough to bag one of the six reserved parking spaces, it's great: if not, parking can be a hassle. I can commend the Leisure Centre carpark, which is free and closed at night as long as you don't mind a wee walk and an uphill climb to get there. Room was fine,... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor. It is greatly appreciated by both management and the entire team. So once again a big thank you and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel at some time in the future Kind Regards Darrell Williams More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good location on the waterfront near shops and restaurants.Ideal for those wishing to visit Staffa,Iona and Mull as it is walking distance to the port.Dinner options weren't great,food tasted as though it had been microwaved and wasn't fair priced.It was disappointing that on the night we stayed the water from the tap in Oban was very dirty and this stopped... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
wonderb67, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. I would like to apologise that you did not enjoy your experience with us; however I can assure you that it is not typical of our service. Your comments have been passed on and where feasible improvements will be made. Thank you once again for your comments. Kind Regards... More

West Saltoun, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in a small top floor room (306) which had been given a very recent lick of paint to walls and ceiling. Unfortunately the decorating was a very poor job with paint on switches, sockets and fittings. Hard to imagine how a tradesman could walk away and leave a job like that and also how the hotel could accept... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. We have taken on board your comments with the hotel and will look to improve where possible. Kind Regards Darrell Williams General Manager More

Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The stuff was friendly , good location close to harbour and train station.Just opposite good fish rest , however, we failed to enter restaurant with the kid. I put average mark as there was very hot and not enough air in room, I know this July was untypical hot in Scotland, plus one day there was brown water from the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us.. We have taken on board your comments with the hotel and will look into them. Kind Regards Darrell Williams General Manager More

Inverness
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I went with a group of friends for a girls' weekend away, the staff knew our group as some of us had visited previously and had a family connection to the hotel, they went out of their way to be friendly and helpful and the service was amazing, thankyou so much :) :) :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I will certainly pass on your great comments on, Thanks again and I look forward to welcoming you back to Oban in the very near future Kind regards Darrell Williams More

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel itself is lovely, though I have to say I was shocked by the price when I saw the size of my room, I had no bath, which I was very disappointed with, though the overall service was excellent, it was just the price of the room and the standard of it which disappointed me

Was this review helpful? Yes
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. Your comments have been passed on and where feasible improvements will be made. Thank you once again for your comments. Kind Regards Darrell Williams More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Columba Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Columba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columba Hotel

Address: The Esplanade, Oban PA34 5QD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Columba Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Columba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columba Hotel Oban, Scotland

161 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (152)
Viewed
Room/suite (47)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Oban with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
49

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Columba Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer