We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Columba Hotel

The Esplanade, Oban PA34 5QD, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Columba Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

821 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Location... Great area, 5 min walk from train station, shops & cafes are very close by with 'Visit Scotland' tourist information centre next door. In hotel... Meal: Not a great selection on our first night but found items which we liked, Tomato & Squash soup was amazing & my partners Tomato & Mozarella salad was also good. We both had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Neil D
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Old building sitting on sea front.At £30 for B&B I expected just another usual old seaside hotel but it wasn't. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean, warm and smartly decorated & furnished with spare pillows & blanket. Bed was very comfortable. En suite with large shower. We dined there on first night and planned to eat... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank susanmX9025CG
Callander, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

arrived at the columba for a two night stay booked with hotels.com so i had already paid. Big mistake! The room i booked looked lovely that is the reason i chose the columba. How wrong was i. The room we got was nothing like the photographs as it was like a childs boxroom. When i went down to complain i... More 

Helpful?
Thank ruth m

Travelers are raving about these Oban hotels

Glasgow Scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely old hotel. A little worn round the edges, but spotlessly clean, warm and welcoming. Sea view room very fine. Only downside no lifts, so if you have a mobility issue could be a problem. Breakfast cooked to order.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Baillie
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Columba Hotel for two nights over a weekend. We arrived on the Friday night and were welcomed by a pleasant lady at the reception who checked us in quickly and explained everything sufficiently. We spent little time in the hotel though as it was unclear if there was a bar or area for us to relax,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nicola P
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked a 2 night "5pm" deal and had read some mixed reviews. However our atay passed our expectations and we had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. Yes there were a few irritants but the positives outweighed the negatives. Check in was quick and efficient and our sea view room while on the top floor gave great views of the harbour... More 

Helpful?
Thank Allan B
Clydebank, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I really should have said something but had to bite my tongue.I stayed here on Friday night to go out with Cef staff and I always stay up Oban in other hotels but opted to try this one, The Lady at reception was very welcoming and my room was superb, The thing that spoiled my stay was when I went... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 56kirkn
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. I would like to apologise that you did not enjoy your experience with us; however I can assure you that it is not typical of our service. Your comments have been passed on and where feasible improvements will be made. Thank you once again for your comments. Kind Regards... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We go here every winter for a few nights as we loved this hotel and Oban. Sadly this time it was a very different experience. We thought we were given a very good rate which included Dinner B&B but sadly the food quality was so poor we couldn't eat it (It was really awful) At breakfast there were no plates... More 

Helpful?
Thank EatTheBreed
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. I would like to apologise that you did not enjoy your experience with us; however I can assure you that it is not typical of our service. Your comments have been passed on and where feasible improvements will be made. Thank you once again for your comments. Kind Regards... More 

Glasgow
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in room 112 which was a double with sea view. Great size, comfy bed. Spotless throughout. The view from our window was amazing. We went to sleep with the tide out and woke up for a few minutes in the early hours of the morning to the gentle sound of the sea lapping against the sea sea wall... More 

Helpful?
Thank denmack12
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel at some time in the future Kind Regards Darrell Williams More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Loved the hotel and new addition of the restaurants , staff really helpful and shops cafes etc all close by . Parking the only issue but we came to Oban just to get away from it all for a few days and it worked a treat , my fiancé was pregnant when we came so let her put her feet... More 

Helpful?
Thank johnd1711
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I will certainly pass on your great comments on, Thanks again and I look forward to welcoming you back to Oban in the very near future Kind regards Darrell Williams More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

224 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (214)
Viewed
Room/suite (53)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
View from room (25)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (79)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.4 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#3 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 stars 1,318 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 stars 631 reviews
0.4 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 stars 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Oban Caledonian Hotel
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#11 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 stars 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay