We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Columba Hotel

The Esplanade, Oban PA34 5QD, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Columba Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    227
    129
    57
    35
See reviews for
91
310
38
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (615)
  • Mar-May only
    (170)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (159)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (167)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (119)
All months
Leyland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed at the Columba hotel in Oban for the second time. It was equally as good as the first time we stayed. The staff were really good and the food could not be faulted. The hotel has stunning views over to Mull and is an excellent base for touring all the islands. Yet again a wonderful 6 day break.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kilmacolm, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed one night at this hotel. It was full up, but the receptionist, Jean-Marie went out of her way to find us a family room. I would describe the place as quirky so might not suit everyone, but we loved it. This is a very old hotel, but the room had been refurbished to a very high standard and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We were there to have a catch up with friends. The hotel staff are friendly and accommodating without being overbearing. The room was comfortable but could probably do with a little TLC. A spruce up and modernisation would make a huge difference. In saying that it won't stop us from staying there in the future.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

rooms were nice and clean, staff was friendly and helpful. very good location, centre of a town by the best seafood restaurant in town! highly recommended! a lot of bars on the ground floor, beautiful place to set the sun down- stony beach is just a few steps aside the hotel, that;s where we met the sunset

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and I have passed your kind comments on to vickas and the Team at the hotel We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Darrell Williams More 

Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed there with my partner for a music gig and although I was impressed with the location and enjoyed the breakfast - good choice of food - I found my room disappointing. Bathroom had been upgraded and was lovely and clean but why neglect the actual bedrooms??? Dirty windows - could hardly see out of the glass - and a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. I would like to apologise that you did not enjoy your experience with us;Your comments have been passed on and where feasible improvements will be made. Thank you once again for your comments. Kind Regards Darrell Williams More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

All the staff were nice and polite the minute we got there, the room was lovely and clean. The breakfast in the mornings were good while we were there and views were great. I would recommend the hotel to anyone that was thinking of going to oban.

Was this review helpful? Yes
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, . I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and I have passed your kind comments on to our Team We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Many Thanks Darrell Williams More 

Abergavenny, Wales, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was my third short stay in in as many years and have always recommended it to friends and family on their way to the Hebrides. I booked a twin room which I was given on the third floor which was fine, apart from the bathroom which to be honest was a bit gross. I don't think in this day... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. Your comments have been passed on and where feasible improvements will be made. Thank you once again for your comments. Kind Regards Darrell Williams More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel is very centrally located, an ideal base. Parking is limited but we were prewarned about this by hotel. Breakfast is generous, the staff were helpful, the room was comfortable and the bathroom recently upgraded. Only complaint concerns the lift, a bit niffy and depends on other guests closing the gates when they get out. If back in Oban we... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, . I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and I have passed your kind comments on to the teamd here at the hotel We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Many Thanks Darrell Williams More 

Pickering, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
30 hotel reviews
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Spent four nights whilst seeing the beautiful surrounding area.The hotel is well sited for views across the harbour and bay and we were lucky enough to have a third floor room overlooking the harbour with a lounge area in the tower with windows all round. The only downside was the lift which is in desperate need of refurbishing. The buffet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, it was truly appreciated. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and I have passed your kind comments on to vickas and the Team at the hotel We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Darrell Williams More 

Stornoway, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Manor Castle Senior Citizens trip this spring was to Oban and our 4 night stay was at the Columba Hotel, where all 46 of us had a wonderfull time. Staff were fantastic very helpfull and the food was superb. Nothing was too much bother for any of the staff. Would go back again and high praise to all helpfull... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, . I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and I have passed your kind comments on to our Team We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Many Thanks Darrell Williams More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

171 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (161)
Viewed
Room/suite (49)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (27)
Viewed
View from room (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question