We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 13 Oban hotels

The Oban Caledonian Hotel

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Station Square, Oban PA34 5RT, Scotland
Hotel amenities
The Oban Caledonian Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Oban Caledonian Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Oban
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
HayMo10
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    182
    187
    134
    100
See reviews for
90
413
25
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (709)
  • Mar-May only
    (191)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (188)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (201)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (129)
All months
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Booked the Oban Caledonian Hotel through an Itison deal and stayed 1 evening on a bed and breakfast basis. Arrived at the hotel and we were greeted promptly and efficiently. The hotel seemed very quiet. The location of the hotel is great and can be seen from afar although the building is old and needs some TLC it did not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Fantastic value, and the food was great. Congratulations to the Chef, this was by far the very best Cullen Skink I have ever tasted, and as someone from the north east of Scotland, we know our Skinks! The room was warm and comfortable, with great views over the harbour. The only thing that let the hotel down was that the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Scotland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Astonishing value in the January sale......a room for two including breakfast for less than the cost of breakfast alone!! We had a standard double which was clean and warm, standard double bed which initially felt a bit soft but was in fact very comfortable. Cln bathroom with bath and shower over, decent toiletries. Given free codes for wi fi which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Friendly staff, dinner good, breakfast very good. Great location. We were lucky, weather beautiful, but very cold. Room was in need of quite a lot of attention, I.e. A coat of paint, quite noisy, bath and shower good, again please paint the bathroom, and just a general clean up. The beds were very comfortable and clean.We used the extra blankets... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked this from the hotel's January Sale email offer and I have to say, it was great value for money. Two nights bed and and full Scottish breakfast for two adults at a smidge over £40! We had a 'premium' room, which was a little tired but, had spectacular views past the ferry terminal to snow covered mountains. Our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Oban Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lorraine G Thank you for the review you posted to Trip Advisor of your recent stay at the Oban Caledonian Hotel. Like you, I am glad that you decided to make up your own mind about the Hotel, rather than cancelling because of negative reviews. I am also glad that you found all the staff to be helpful and... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

we payed 75 for this and it was rubbish. The staff on booking in were v unhelpful, the room smelt musty. we then had to go to reception for wifi access codes but the signal was to weak ( we needed to check the forecast due to the snow)! breakfast though was the worst I have ever tried to eat... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Oban Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear davieinglasgow I am disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at the Oban Caledonian Hotel but feel that some of your comments are unfair; such as your comment about o2 having no signal in the room. You have made this sound as though we are responsible for this when in fact that was due to a... More 

2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Read reviews before trip, nearly cancelled but glad we never. Good location great view of bay . Friendly helpful staff. Had breakfast and dinner in hotel, good food, pleasant helpful waiting staff. Clean linen, beds and bathroom. Old fashioned could do with some TLC but all in all glad we poo pooed the reviews and stayed here. Will be back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Oban Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lorraine G Thank you for the review you posted to Trip Advisor of your recent stay at the Oban Caledonian Hotel. Like you, I am glad that you decided to make up your own mind about the Hotel, rather than cancelling because of negative reviews. I am also glad that you found all the staff to be helpful and... More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The service is very good and most of the rooms have views overlooking of the bay but the rooms are very tired and in need of renovation. My room had wind noise and a draft coming from the windows which kept me up most of the night. The decor in the room was either very old, worn or broken. But... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Oban Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear PradBit Thank you for posting a review of your recent trip to the Oban Caledonian Hotel on Trip Advisor. I am glad that you would consider coming back to visit us again, despite some issues with the décor and upkeep of the Hotel. As I am sure you can appreciate a building of the Caledonian’s vintage is rather difficult... More 

edinburgh
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for two nights on an excellent deal....£62.50 per person 2 nights DBB and a bottle of wine each night.On arrival at 2pm we were checked in quickly and efficiently and given all the info we required.Rooms had lovely views of the harbour and were warm,spotlessly clean and well appointed.There were plenty of fluffy white towels and complimentary... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Oban Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear birdswhobrunch Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at the Oban Caledonian Hotel. I shall pass your praise onto all of the staff as feedback such as yours provides the whole team with a very welcome morale boost. As you point out in your review this grand old building... More 

Girvan, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014 via mobile

Good cheap break through Classic Britain. Have stayed in a number of hotels in Oban over the years and this is the first time in this one. The room was large, had a sea view and looked up the main road. Breakfast was good, although the mushrooms were missing. The room was tired, but as we only slept in it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Oban Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Smudger01 Thank you for the kind review that you posted on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at the Oban Caledonian Hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and agree that some of our rooms are looking slightly tired, but there are plans in the works to refurbish the entire Hotel starting early next year.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Oban Caledonian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oban Caledonian Hotel

Address: Station Square, Oban PA34 5RT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Oban Caledonian Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Oban Caledonian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caledonian Hotel Oban
The Oban Caledonian Hotel Scotland

152 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (141)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (29)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (40)
Viewed
View from room (13)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay