We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 13 Oban hotels

The Oban Caledonian Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Station Square, Oban PA34 5RT, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Oban Caledonian Hotel to your Saves list
The Oban Caledonian Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
42%
Ranked #13 of 13 hotels in Oban
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
fufan Avoca Beach, Australia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (655)
  • Photos (143)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (172)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

655 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    164
    175
    131
    92
See reviews for
83
384
22
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fontainebleau, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

£145 for a 2 adults and 2 children sharing a room. Old pull out double couch for kids.worn out lumpy bed for the adults.broken window, broken TV control. Its the price that really hurts...we live near Oban and have over the years watched the " cally" fade ...and watched the prices increase... the hotel is in the best spot in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Avoca Beach, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel is in an excellent location, although some in our party complained about the noise outside. The hotel has a faded charm, and we liked the little sitting area in our room, with a view over the harbour. The breakfast was average only: I would prefer to select hot food from a buffet to get the items and quantity... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What a faulty towers place this is showers don't work the water from the taps is yellow. You can hear all noise outside. Still waiting after 10 hours for an iron. 45 minutes to get served in restaurant . Not good avoid the place avoid avoid avoid

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Stewart W, General Manager at The Oban Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear James B Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on trip advisor. We were sorry to hear that your stay was not pleasurable. I can only regret that all problems you had weren’t brought to my attention during your stay. I have shared all your concerns with my team and they would like to join me... More

Boston, MA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

While a good location with a nice setting, this place is not somewhere I would urge folks to stay. Carpets are worn, TVs are 1980s vintage with poor reception, pillow quality is poor, only one key is provided couples, wifi is fair, and there really is not much good I can say. Avoid this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stewart W, General Manager at The Oban Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rupert54 I would like to assure you that we take all feedback positively at the Oban Caledonian Hotel and was disappointed to learn that your experience wasn’t as expected. Thank you for bringing to our attention all problems you have encountered during your stay. I and my heads of departments are already acted upon some of the issue. We... More

Stirling
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great setting and views from bedroom were superb. Tired interior with worn carpets. Comfortable bed and clean bedroom although again rather tired. Misinformation from check in staff -stop serving food at 9.30pm not till 11so can't comment on food. Staff in bar disinterested when arrived but happy to redirect to alternative eating venue at 9.35pm- good recommendation to visit wetherspoon.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stewart W, General Manager at The Oban Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anderson17 I was very concerned to hear your comments regarding staff members being disinterested and misinforming you. I have highlighted the issue to my heads of departments and senior staff. An additional training program has been put in place and will be monitored more closely, However it was pleasing to learn that other aspects of your stay were as... More

Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

reception needs training in customer service,rooms are awful,ask to see first. carpets are ancient,as is the decoration. this hotel was taken over 6 months ago,so the reception said. crief hydro now own it..doesnt say much for them.Evening in the dining room,dont even go there. asked to see manager,was told by staff he only works 9am-5pm mon to Friday, WHAT KIND... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Stewart W, General Manager at The Oban Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear gus s I thank you for the time you have taken in writing your review on the trip advisor website. I am sorry that your stay not an entire success for which I can only apologise. Thank you also for highlighting our shortfalls, thanks to comments like yours we are able to narrow down and address our weaknesses. Let... More

Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Given the location right on the waterfront next to the train and ferry terminal this hotel should be fully booked through the summer season. Here's why its not. Threadbare carpets, dirty old windows, a bed that is two old lumpy single beds pushed together, a leak in the bathroom from the suite above. It was unbelievable the poor shape that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Stewart W, General Manager at The Oban Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Oaktree58 Thank you for your recent comments I was sorry to read that you did not enjoy aspects of your stay with us. I have now investigated the points you have raised with the heads of departments and I can now assure you that the problems you experienced within the hotel, and highlighted for our attention are already being... More

Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We enjoyed a lovely cup of tea, but shame they had run out of scones for their afternoon teas. The hotel has lovely friendly staff, who were very helpful on directions to their lovely baby changing area. And they were welcome for our breast feeding daughter to feed her daughter. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stewart W, General Manager at The Oban Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jane2063 I would like to thank you for the time you have taken in writing your review on the trip advisor website it is good to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit in our Cafe. I will certainly pass on your comments to my team We do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to... More

North Walsham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having stayed here a few years ago were looking forward to repeating the experience. It started badly when they had lost ( or rather not processed ) our booking despite confirming ti to me. They did eventually find us the last room in the hotel which was not the best! A noisy position at the back of the hotel, not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Stewart W, General Manager at The Oban Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear David A Thank you for your recent review, Please accept my apologies with regards to the issues you have experienced, this is certainly not our normal standard at the hotel and every effort will be made to ensure this is not repeated. I was extremely sorry to read that there were points during your visit, which had caused you... More

GLASGOW
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

What a view over the bay, booked feature room, feature being the carpet marks, threadbare in some places, furniture needing replaced, stations on television. The best thing was the pleasant staff who dealt with us. Breakfast total disappointment. Next time for my anniversary will be paying a little bit more money for somewhere else in Oban.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Stewart W, General Manager at The Oban Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear GlasgowSandhills Thank you very much for taking time to write this review. I have spoken in depth to both my F&B Manager, Housekeeper and Maintenance Engineer about the shortfall in standards with your room and food and they would all like to join me in sincerely apologising for these issues. Let me ensure you that we are working very... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Oban Caledonian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Oban Caledonian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oban Caledonian Hotel

Address: Station Square, Oban PA34 5RT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oban Caledonian Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your The Oban Caledonian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caledonian Hotel Oban
The Oban Caledonian Hotel Scotland

143 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (133)
Viewed
Room/suite (39)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Oban with
any amenities

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the gateway to Argyll and the Isles where the romantic luxury of the Oban Caledonian Hotel beckons.The Oban Caledonian is Oban’s landmark building. This 3 star hotel rises from the water’s edge, commanding breathtaking views over the sheltered bay of Oban to the romantic hills and islands of Scotland’s magnificent west coast.Gaze seaward as the sun slips behind Hebridean hills and a friendly Highland hospitality unfolds. The hotel has 59 bedrooms, many with fine views over Oban Bay to the mountains of Mull and Ardgour.Centrally situated the hotel has two restaurants – Café Caledonian where a bistro menu is served all day and open to both residents and the many visitors to Argyll. Restaurant Caledonian where the menu changes daily and is set in a relaxed ambience using where possible Scottish produce.We strive here at The Oban Caledonian hotel to exceed guest expectation and offer a great base for your Oban stay. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
59

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Oban Caledonian Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer