We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 13 Oban hotels

The Oban Caledonian Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Station Square, Oban PA34 5RT, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Oban Caledonian Hotel to your Saves list
The Oban Caledonian Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
42%
Ranked #13 of 13 hotels in Oban
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
jane2063 Helensburgh, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (649)
  • Photos (143)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (172)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

649 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    164
    173
    130
    90
See reviews for
82
381
22
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

reception needs training in customer service,rooms are awful,ask to see first. carpets are ancient,as is the decoration. this hotel was taken over 6 months ago,so the reception said. crief hydro now own it..doesnt say much for them.Evening in the dining room,dont even go there. asked to see manager,was told by staff he only works 9am-5pm mon to Friday, WHAT KIND... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Given the location right on the waterfront next to the train and ferry terminal this hotel should be fully booked through the summer season. Here's why its not. Threadbare carpets, dirty old windows, a bed that is two old lumpy single beds pushed together, a leak in the bathroom from the suite above. It was unbelievable the poor shape that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Stewart W, General Manager at The Oban Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Oaktree58 Thank you for your recent comments I was sorry to read that you did not enjoy aspects of your stay with us. I have now investigated the points you have raised with the heads of departments and I can now assure you that the problems you experienced within the hotel, and highlighted for our attention are already being... More

Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We enjoyed a lovely cup of tea, but shame they had run out of scones for their afternoon teas. The hotel has lovely friendly staff, who were very helpful on directions to their lovely baby changing area. And they were welcome for our breast feeding daughter to feed her daughter. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stewart W, General Manager at The Oban Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jane2063 I would like to thank you for the time you have taken in writing your review on the trip advisor website it is good to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit in our Cafe. I will certainly pass on your comments to my team We do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to... More

North Walsham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Having stayed here a few years ago were looking forward to repeating the experience. It started badly when they had lost ( or rather not processed ) our booking despite confirming ti to me. They did eventually find us the last room in the hotel which was not the best! A noisy position at the back of the hotel, not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Stewart W, General Manager at The Oban Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear David A Thank you for your recent review, Please accept my apologies with regards to the issues you have experienced, this is certainly not our normal standard at the hotel and every effort will be made to ensure this is not repeated. I was extremely sorry to read that there were points during your visit, which had caused you... More

GLASGOW
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a view over the bay, booked feature room, feature being the carpet marks, threadbare in some places, furniture needing replaced, stations on television. The best thing was the pleasant staff who dealt with us. Breakfast total disappointment. Next time for my anniversary will be paying a little bit more money for somewhere else in Oban.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Stewart W, General Manager at The Oban Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear GlasgowSandhills Thank you very much for taking time to write this review. I have spoken in depth to both my F&B Manager, Housekeeper and Maintenance Engineer about the shortfall in standards with your room and food and they would all like to join me in sincerely apologising for these issues. Let me ensure you that we are working very... More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had light lunch here today, tea scones, a tuna melt a hot chocolate and a pint of Carlsberg. This was £15. Scones were good, jam was in little catering packs pity there was no cream. Staff we're polite. Tuna melt was a bit boring. It's not a great place to eat, just very average. There's better in Oban .

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stewart W, General Manager at The Oban Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rik M Thank you for you review. We are taking every feedback very seriously as we realise that there is always room for improvement and only with honest opinions (like yourself) we are able to better our standards. I have highlighted to my Head Chef issues of bland and badly presented dishes in order to improve them. Thank you... More

Anstruther, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This trip was surprise for myself as part of celebrating 5 years together. We have always on our many trips to the West Coast said that we should stay here as it is on the waterfront overlooking the harbour, so I was pleasantly surprised. I cannot say we were disappointed ,booked a double and although we looked out the back... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stewart W, General Manager at The Oban Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tracy b Thank you for writing a review and I was very pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay at the hotel and that the “team” looked after you well. I hope that you will choose to stay with us again on your next visit to Oban Thank you once again for your feedback Stewart Walker General... More

Scarborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having stayed at three Scottish hotels on our touring holiday we were impressed by the prospect of staying in such an imposing building set on the waterfront in Oban. How wrong we were !! Our room was a small attic up stairs covered in places with threadbare carpet. The carpet in the room was placed on very uneven flooring, the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Stewart W, General Manager at The Oban Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Robert L Thank you for your recent comments on the Trip Advisor website. I must apologise that you felt the general standard of the hotel was not to your liking. I certainly acknowledge your comments related to the property showing signs of wear in some areas. I can ensure you that all maintenance related issues have been addressed and... More

Alyth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After reading previous reviews I was very nervous about staying here. I found the reception staff very helpful to a couple if questions i had on arrival. The room we had was a fantastic size (303), almost a bit big for just 2 people as it did appear like a family room, the only problem with the room was the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stewart W, General Manager at The Oban Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JGo84 Thank you for your review, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I will certainly pass on your comments to my team staff who will be pleased. Thanks again and I look forward to welcoming you back to Oban in the very near future. Kind regards Stewart Walker General Manager More

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Was in oban on Thursday for a day out and decided to eat at the caledonian for dinner, unfortunately my son and I were very disappointed as we sat for about 10 mins without even getting asked for a drink never mind what we wanted to eat. This we wouldn't have minded if it was busy but we were the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Stewart W, Manager at The Oban Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Yvonne G I have read your comments today of your experience in our Café Bar and can only apologise for what was an unacceptable standard of service and something that should never have happened, Having spoken to my team as Food and Beverage manager today they have assured me (not that it’s any consolation for you) that this shall... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Oban Caledonian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Oban Caledonian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oban Caledonian Hotel

Address: Station Square, Oban PA34 5RT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oban Caledonian Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your The Oban Caledonian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caledonian Hotel Oban
The Oban Caledonian Hotel Scotland

143 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (133)
Viewed
Room/suite (39)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the gateway to Argyll and the Isles where the romantic luxury of the Oban Caledonian Hotel beckons.The Oban Caledonian is Oban’s landmark building. This 3 star hotel rises from the water’s edge, commanding breathtaking views over the sheltered bay of Oban to the romantic hills and islands of Scotland’s magnificent west coast.Gaze seaward as the sun slips behind Hebridean hills and a friendly Highland hospitality unfolds. The hotel has 59 bedrooms, many with fine views over Oban Bay to the mountains of Mull and Ardgour.Centrally situated the hotel has two restaurants – Café Caledonian where a bistro menu is served all day and open to both residents and the many visitors to Argyll. Restaurant Caledonian where the menu changes daily and is set in a relaxed ambience using where possible Scottish produce.We strive here at The Oban Caledonian hotel to exceed guest expectation and offer a great base for your Oban stay. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
59

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    ;