We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 98 Oban B&Bs / inns

Don Muir Guest House

Save Saved
You added Don Muir Guest House to your Saves list
Crannaig A Mhinister | Pulpit Hill, Oban PA34 4LX, Scotland
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (33)
  • Photos (15)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (5)
  • Location
  • More
Don Muir Guest House
Ranked #37 of 98 Oban B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oban
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    12
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
18
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lossiemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a very brief stay at the Don Muir Guest House - we arrived at 2200 and left at 0430 to catch the ferry to Tiree. Caroline was very friendly and couldn't do enough for us. The room was immaculate.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here sunday 25th august for one night and were thoroughly impressed. The owners made us feel very welcome and allowed a late(ish) check in with no problems. Nicer than some hotels we have stayed in. Excellent value for money. Will definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at Don Muir for one night on our way up to the outer Hebrides . Our room was clean and we equipped (though not large) and the breakfast was excellent. In addition the hospitality was warm and helpful without being over the top. Couple of caveats - parking is limited, and it's a bit if a walk into... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My friend and I stayed at the Don Muir Guest house for three nights The owners Darren and Caroline were really friendly and immediately made us feel at home they were welcoming and helpful they could not have done anything else to make our stay any better My friend and I shared a twin room that was really comfortable great... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We had average stay here, the owners are very polite and welcoming. The breakfast is good so it is good value but the rooms are quite dated and the walls it seems are on the thin side. It is a standard enough place that I wouldn't be rushing back to but it does the job fine.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brechin, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel welcome by both Caroline and Darren. We stayed in room 4, it was well furnished, spacious and immaculately clean. Large en suite, again very clean and the added touch of toiletries already there. Fresh towels every day. Television had good reception, Wi Fi worked fine. Breakfast was lovely, ordered the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Caroline H, Owner at Don Muir Guest House, responded to this review

Extremely glad you both enjoyed your stay with us it was a pleasure to meet someone who could actually park their car on our drive without hesitation. Hope you come back for a visit and enjoy another holiday with us and Oban. Your dogs look lovely by the way typical daschunds taking over the chair. Maybe you can bring them... More

Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

After seeing the most recent review I felt that I had to comment on my stay. Caroline was a lovely host; making us feel very welcome. The room was beautifully decorated and the breakfast cooked by Caroline was lovely! Caroline greeted and chatted with us in between cooking breakfast for other guests. Darren also did an excellent job of waitering;... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Caroline H, Owner at Don Muir Guest House, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we are extremely sorry you had a bad experience with another guest. Hope this doesn't put you off booking with us again as we would love to see you and your husband again. Hope the rest of your holiday went well and you had a safe journey home . More

Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I booked one night for my mum and I to stay in Oban and booked a twin bed room at Don Muir. We'd driven 6 hours and felt a bit tired so we were disappointed to be greeted by Caroline telling us abruptly that checkin was 3pm (we arrived 2:15) which has never been a problem in any other accommodation... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Caroline H, Husband at Don Muir Guest House, responded to this review

Really sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We have a check in time as we are a family business and like to spend time with our family. The WiFi works in all rooms and as you hadn't even connected to your mobile when your asked me for help obviously it wouldn't work. Saying my wife and I were... More

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Stayed overnight en route to Mull a couple of weeks back and would definitley stay again. Lovely, warm welcome from Caroline, the hostess, who was more than happy to give us directions over the phone as we drove passed twice due to cars parked in front of the sign-oops! Had a good chat with her too and she recommended us... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Caroline H, Owner at Don Muir Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive review. Just email me again as we would love to see you again. Hope the rest of your holiday went well and you got home safely. More

Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Stayed overnight recently, and were very happy with what we found. A comfortable, clean, quiet room with all the facilities you expect, friendly hosts, and a generous, well-cooked breakfast. It's a 10-15 minute walk downhill to the centre of Oban, which might not suit everybody, but in return for that you're only a few steps from Pulpit Hill with its... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Don Muir Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Don Muir Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Muir Guest House

Address: Crannaig A Mhinister | Pulpit Hill, Oban PA34 4LX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Don Muir Guest House Oban, Scotland

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Oban with
any amenities

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Don Muir Guest House is a family run bed and breakfast situated in a quiet residential area only a 3 minute walk from the Pulpit Hill viewpoint overlooking Oban Bay and surrounding islands. We offer a comfortable bed & breakfast accommodation.All rooms are equipped with TV, hairdryer, hospitality tray, heating and many more extras to make your stay most enjoyable.A choice of cooked or continental breakfast or our ever popular takeaway breakfast for those people catching an early ferry .We have parking for up to 4 cars and a large public free car park at the viewpoint for those with bigger vehicles. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
5

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Don Muir Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer