We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 98 Oban B&Bs / inns

Don Muir Guest House

Crannaig A Mhinister | Pulpit Hill, Oban PA34 4LX, Scotland
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (30)
  • Photos (15)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (5)
  • Location
  • More
Don Muir Guest House
Ranked #38 of 98 Oban B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oban
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    11
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
18
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My friend and I stayed at the Don Muir Guest house for three nights The owners Darren and Caroline were really friendly and immediately made us feel at home they were welcoming and helpful they could not have done anything else to make our stay any better My friend and I shared a twin room that was really comfortable great... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had average stay here, the owners are very polite and welcoming. The breakfast is good so it is good value but the rooms are quite dated and the walls it seems are on the thin side. It is a standard enough place that I wouldn't be rushing back to but it does the job fine.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brechin, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel welcome by both Caroline and Darren. We stayed in room 4, it was well furnished, spacious and immaculately clean. Large en suite, again very clean and the added touch of toiletries already there. Fresh towels every day. Television had good reception, Wi Fi worked fine. Breakfast was lovely, ordered the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Caroline H, Owner at Don Muir Guest House, responded to this review

Extremely glad you both enjoyed your stay with us it was a pleasure to meet someone who could actually park their car on our drive without hesitation. Hope you come back for a visit and enjoy another holiday with us and Oban. Your dogs look lovely by the way typical daschunds taking over the chair. Maybe you can bring them... More

Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After seeing the most recent review I felt that I had to comment on my stay. Caroline was a lovely host; making us feel very welcome. The room was beautifully decorated and the breakfast cooked by Caroline was lovely! Caroline greeted and chatted with us in between cooking breakfast for other guests. Darren also did an excellent job of waitering;... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Caroline H, Owner at Don Muir Guest House, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we are extremely sorry you had a bad experience with another guest. Hope this doesn't put you off booking with us again as we would love to see you and your husband again. Hope the rest of your holiday went well and you had a safe journey home . More

Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked one night for my mum and I to stay in Oban and booked a twin bed room at Don Muir. We'd driven 6 hours and felt a bit tired so we were disappointed to be greeted by Caroline telling us abruptly that checkin was 3pm (we arrived 2:15) which has never been a problem in any other accommodation... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Caroline H, Husband at Don Muir Guest House, responded to this review

Really sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We have a check in time as we are a family business and like to spend time with our family. The WiFi works in all rooms and as you hadn't even connected to your mobile when your asked me for help obviously it wouldn't work. Saying my wife and I were... More

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed overnight en route to Mull a couple of weeks back and would definitley stay again. Lovely, warm welcome from Caroline, the hostess, who was more than happy to give us directions over the phone as we drove passed twice due to cars parked in front of the sign-oops! Had a good chat with her too and she recommended us... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Caroline H, Owner at Don Muir Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive review. Just email me again as we would love to see you again. Hope the rest of your holiday went well and you got home safely. More

Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Stayed overnight recently, and were very happy with what we found. A comfortable, clean, quiet room with all the facilities you expect, friendly hosts, and a generous, well-cooked breakfast. It's a 10-15 minute walk downhill to the centre of Oban, which might not suit everybody, but in return for that you're only a few steps from Pulpit Hill with its... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Stayed for three nights in June 14 - had a lovely time and, to cut to the chase, wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Don Muir again. It's a well run establishment, clean, friendly, quiet and in a pleasant neighbourhood that provided everything we needed from a B&B. Highlights for us were (room 5) a super comfortable bed, a large... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Partner and I stayed here for a night before catching the ferry to Mull the following morning. Caroline and Darren provide a genuine warm welcome, but they allow guests plenty of space to do their own thing which is great. The double room was extremely clean, nicely decorated and had a great en-suite shower room. There were lots of little... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Caroline H, Owner at Don Muir Guest House, responded to this review

What a lovely review about us and how you enjoyed your stay. We try our best to please everyone but not everyone is easy to please. Hope that you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and we look forward to a return visit from you again. Thank you for enjoying our hospitality. More

Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Stayed for four nights, just what you would expect from a good standard family run B&B. Very clean ample breakfast and very hospitable hosts. We had an early start one morning and we were provided with some warm bagels and pancakes for breakfast to take with us. Great B&B if you are in Oban

Was this review helpful? Yes
Caroline H, Owner at Don Muir Guest House, responded to this review

Glad you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the review. If you are ever in Oban again you know where we are , we would love to see you again . More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Don Muir Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Don Muir Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Muir Guest House

Address: Crannaig A Mhinister | Pulpit Hill, Oban PA34 4LX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Don Muir Guest House Oban, Scotland

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Don Muir Guest House is a family run bed and breakfast situated in a quiet residential area only a 3 minute walk from the Pulpit Hill viewpoint overlooking Oban Bay and surrounding islands. We offer a comfortable bed & breakfast accommodation.All rooms are equipped with TV, hairdryer, hospitality tray, heating and many more extras to make your stay most enjoyable.A choice of cooked or continental breakfast or our ever popular takeaway breakfast for those people catching an early ferry .We have parking for up to 4 cars and a large public free car park at the viewpoint for those with bigger vehicles. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
5

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    Bookmark for later
    Save Saved
    You added Don Muir Guest House to your Saves list