We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Hotel

Argyll Square, Oban PA34 4BE, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Royal Hotel
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    135
    100
    69
    46
See reviews for
64
183
52
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (469)
  • Mar-May only
    (133)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (142)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (103)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (91)
All months
There are newer reviews for Royal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
ayrshire,Hurlford
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

From start to finish staff very pleasent,room a bit dated but was spotless clean,breakfast buffet is 5*,selection and quality of everything was of a high standard.We ate in the lounge bar on the Sat night and starter and meal was 1st class and excellent value for money and an added 10% off meal and drinks made it even better with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Aberdare
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

Having been to Oban the last four years staying in various hotels,this is the best so far,very close to the ferry terminal to go visit all the islands would definitely stay there again.all the staff were brilliant and helpful nothing to much trouble.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Collioure, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

The hotel is old and well past it's glory days. The staff were very friendly and helpful, but the room was awful, the bed felt cheap and was rock hard. The room was dark, overlooking the roof and sad windows at the rear. The ceiling had a small creak in it and the room was boiling hot even though the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven R, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TripAdvisor Thank you for your recent review of your stay at the Royal Hotel. I appreciate that you did not enjoy your stay with us, I would like to extend my apologies to you for the hotel not coming up to your expectations. I kindly ask that you email me about your stay with your room number and booking... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

Comfortable and basic hotel right near the train station and the boat terminal... Negative point is the fact that apparently internet isn't available in the bedrooms and only in the lobby, although, needed to be rebooted constantly... Decorating need revamp as well as the Bathrooms, shower cubicle of another era (I was in room 501). Welcoming of the bar staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

I had a very short stay at this hotel arriving fairly late at night and leaving early the following morning. Not much to say therefore other than that the room was clean, the bed was comfortable, the shower was warm and the buffet breakfast was excellent. Only other thing to mention is that the few staff members I encountered could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

I stayed here for 2 nights in a single room. The staff were polite, informative and very helpful, as was the cleaning lady. The room was very clean indeed, with an easily controllable radiator, and had a large bathroom. Having read other reviews on this site before booking, it was no surprise to find that the walls were indeed quite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
West Dunbartonshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

just had a lovely weekend at the Royal the receptionist was very pleasant and had no problem with us parking in the small car park even though we arrived way too early to book in. When we did get to our room on the 3rd floor it was very nice the beds were comfy the room was clean as was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tillicoultry
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

had a great stay,staff were very pleasant,couldnt do enough for you,will defo be back,weather wasn't to good,but it was January,first morning porridge was lumpy,but the next morning it was perfect,sausages for brecky were awesome,will be going back soon,with hubby,when the weather is better

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maitland, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Stayed at this hotel as part of a tour of Scotland. The hotel is in the city centre so it is nice for the convenience of being near the docks and some shopping. The hotel is "quaint" and gives you a sampling of simple Scottish accommodations. Nothing frilly here just the bare necessities. Rooms are small and the beds are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

Given a voucher deal re the "Royal", and decided to take up, to get away from the grind of work. Guys as you may well know by now on my reviews submitted I have hospitality back gound. Well I have to say, yet again, not disappointed. Very warm welcome on booking in, and if you decide to visit and book... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

74 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (58)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question