We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 13 Oban hotels

Royal Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Argyll Square, Oban PA34 4BE, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
56%
Ranked #10 of 13 hotels in Oban
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Geoff B Frampton, United Kingdom
  • Reviews (337)
  • Photos (33)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (78)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

337 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    96
    75
    53
    31
See reviews for
38
129
40
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I guess for the money it wasn't so bad but when I sit on a bed I expect it to give a little but this was like a solid hard board. I thought it was uncomfortable but would do for one night but in the end I only got about 5 hours sleep because it gave me such a bad... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Galashiels, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staff could not be nicer, dining staff in particular. Sheets clean, food average. Rooms tired and feel dirty, grubby and stained, black hairs on the duvet cover (not ours), Rooms also small and cramped. Single glazed and noisy if you are at front, road side of hotel. No hot water one morning, hot tap not working properly. Food sticking to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Steven R, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tripadvisor Thank you for taking the time to rate your recent stay here at the Royal Hotel. I am sorry that you did not feel that the hotel met your nor my expectations on this occasion. I do ask that if you have the time, that you email me the comments direct, so that I can look into this... More

Oakham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I first sent an email (text below) to Customer Services, at Strathmore Hotels, on 5 June 2014 and heard nothing. I sent a reminder on 19 June and still heard nothing. People considering The Royal Hotel may wish to read below. Dear Sir, On Tuesday 3 June, I stayed at the Royal Hotel, Oban at the end of a short... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Steven R, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tripadvisor Thank you for your post regarding your recent stay with us here at the Royal Hotel. I have checked with our Head Office and they have not received your email regarding your stay. They have asked if you email it to info@strathmorehotels.com, I can assure you that you will get a swift response. We would like to apologise... More

Frampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Only stayed for one night as i was catching a ferry early in the morning. The room at the rear of the Hotel was quiet and the bed comfortable. All the expected amenities were there. As I was catching a very early ferry at 7.15 am I could only sample the Continental breakfast, but I am certain that from staying... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Spalding, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in this hotel whilst touring on motorcycles. The staff are very friendly and you feel it's because they want to and not have to be. The food was good and the good selection of drinks were good . The decore is a little tired but don't be put off. Little local entertainment in the evenings . They even... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Steven R, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Hi There Thank you for taking the time to contribute to our Trip Advisor page. I appreciate your comments regarding the Staff and the Food. Overall we receive mainly compliments regarding the staff and the food, I take pride in the effort made by the staff on a consistent basis. In regards to decor, Strathmore Hotels are undertaking a massive... More

Ardrossan, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was on a bus day trip and the hotel was booked for snack for dinner and hight tea. The friendliness of the staff was the first thing that was apparent.The soup etc was very good.. The high tea at night was excellent as well and no shortage of tea/coffee with the meal. It was good value and a good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Steven R, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Hi There Thank you for your kind words, I am glad that you enjoyed your quick visit to the Royal. I hope that we will see you back the next time you are in Oban Kind Regards Steven Reffin More

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The building is slightly on the tired side. The location is just off the sea front (literally 50 yards). The view from my window was an uninspiring 1980s block of flats. But the reason I was there was to rest. The bed was clean and comfortable, the bath was big enough and had plenty of hot water, the kettle and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Narooma, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We booked a classic double room for two nights so we could visit the islands. The room was on the 3rd floor overlooking the main square. Very small with nowhere for luggage. Very small en suite with shower in bath. Noisy town square, creaky floors & disturbed by voices in hall & other rooms. Hard bed & pillows. Having said... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bellshill, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

from the welcome from very friendly and helpful reception staff until the end of our stay my friend and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the royal...great value for money and excellent food in the restaurant...will b back

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Glasgow
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We booked the Royal Hotel as being handy for the harbour. We were arriving at about 2030 hours after a day's cruising on the Paddle Steamer "Waverley" and we found that more than a few of our shipmates were headed the same way. Perhaps because of this, there were 2 receptionists on duty, and we were checked in and given... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: Argyll Square, Oban PA34 4BE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Oban, Scotland

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
91

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer