We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 13 Oban hotels

Royal Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Argyll Square, Oban PA34 4BE, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
54%
Ranked #12 of 13 hotels in Oban
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Richard F Bradford
  • Overview
  • Reviews (367)
  • Photos (37)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (88)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

367 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    98
    81
    60
    38
See reviews for
47
136
41
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed in room 301. It is tiny and dismal. Gloomy with dark decor and very little natural light and dim room lighting so you can barely brighten it enough to read.. By contrast the bathroom is bright and modern so I shifted a chair in there. The pillows were hard and uncomfortable. Also why is the Wi-Fi restricted to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bradford
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

The rooms are tired - like I was after a poor nights sleep. Furniture and decorations in room are dated, bed uncomfortable, noisy from floor above and late night drunks outside. Has had little maintenance/investment but as long as the coach parties keep on coming, hey why spend money it's only tourists spending their hard earned money. Such a shame... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dumfries, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Was a but weary about staying here after reading some of the reviews. Although the rooms are a bit dated, they are clean, bed was comfortable, shower was warm and we had a great nights sleep. Buffet breakfast was fantastic with lovely staff. We also had a meal here at a great price, with free wifi in the lounge. Great... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My Dad and I stayed here for a night after making a last minute decision to go to Oban. The staff was very friendly and helped us to figure out our train route. It is close to the train/ferry station which is good if you're on foot. Our room was great and the food downstairs wasn't bad. And free wi-fi... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fife, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We won't be back at this hotel it needs an overhaul ,it's old fashioned needs a refresh of paint Staff were nice so was breakfast but we look for more for the price they charge Heard some one complaining about there room Pity we hadn't looked at review before we booked

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed in the Royal as my friend was having her wedding reception there. The staff were really friendly and helpful. I had a room on the top floor which had a nice view and big windows you can open. The room had everything you would need, good size, clean and had a lovely modern shower. The food at the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stay in Oban several times a year and always enjoys my nights at the Royal. As someone who travels on business it ticks all the boxes for me. I have always found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The real bonus is the hotel is accessable 24 hrs a day and im able to have a continental... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Oban
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were recently married and had our reception and evening dance at the hotel. From the moment we began planning our wedding to the last dance it was faultless. The staff were just amazing, nothing was a problem for them, all very attentive to our needs. They made our day and took away any worries we had of organising a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Winter PArk, FL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a dump. At over 160.00 dollars.. Not only are the rooms a closet size, toilets dirty, mold on ceiling , bath ceiling fixtures falling from out , towels smell, no internet service, no parking....this is a rip off tourist trap. Unless you are desperate and forgot to book in advance, do not go here. Forgot, beds are hard... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steven R, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tripadvisor & American Express Detective I have read your review that you have recently posted with great interest, especially after reading your Comment Card that was also left at Reception for my perusal. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay here at the hotel, but I would like to correct a few opinions made regarding your... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Some rooms have been renovated and some haven't. As a coach driver I tend to get put in a tiny room looking out into the back courtyard. However, it's clean and warm so not much to complain about. Bar prices are a little high but there's no shortage of bars in town. Food is generally pretty good. Location is excellent,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steven R, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tripadvisor Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay here at the Royal Hotel. All of the rooms in Strathmore Hotels are in the process of upgrading starting from last year, our new approach is in its infancy but the early signs are fantastic. I hope that should you return to the Royal in... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: Argyll Square, Oban PA34 4BE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Oban, Scotland

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Oban with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
91

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Royal Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer