We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 13 Oban hotels

Bay Great Western Hotel

Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5PP, Scotland
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BREAKS FROM £89
Save Saved
You added Bay Great Western Hotel to your Saves list
Bay Great Western Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
62%
Ranked #7 of 13 hotels in Oban
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
lilian07 loch lomond
Write a Review

302 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    124
    62
    26
    36
See reviews for
37
169
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
loch lomond
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Just returned from 2 night stay .The location perfect ,rooms dated but they are in process of updating.The food well presented and good.Dining staff great and plenty of them.Only complaint was unpleasant bar man on Saturday evening who,when I ordered glass of wine which was £5 .60 and had only taken £5 with me,put his full hand on top of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Upton, null, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just back from Oban Scotland ,booked the Bay Great Western online, £49.00p for a double room and 2 Xbreakfast , super room 306 fantastic view of the bay ... lovelly staff and great breaky ...well dune ... devo book againe ...HEATHER /.BRIAN.....

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DarrenMoyle, General Manager at Bay Great Western Hotel, responded to this review

Hi It was great to see you again, and really pleased you liked the improvments. Hope to see you again soon!! Warm Regards Darren More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have just returned after a long weekend and can't thank the staff enough.My mother fell ill the first night and we had to call an ambulance,all the employees handled this very well,reception-service staff helped take the children's mind off it and watched them for us to go to the hospital.The receptionist took my sister to the hospital even though... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DarrenMoyle, General Manager at Bay Great Western Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Debbie, Thank you very much for posting your kind comments. I do hope that your mother is feeling a lot better. Whilst I was not present that weekend, I was informed of the incident on Friday night and I am very pleased and proud of the team on duty that they dealt the situation so well. Although I am... More

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a 3 night stay commencing on March 21st, travelling with Shearings. We'd had a similar stay last March, and the difference in the hotel was tremendous, especially in the dining room and our bedroom. The dining room has new purple lights and seating, and trendy wallpaper; the food was better too, a big improvement in quality and quantity, but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DarrenMoyle, General Manager at Bay Great Western Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Linz6bil9, What can I say! Thank you for your great review. I am so pleased you returned to us and found the hotel much improved. We have invested so much in the hotel over the last 12 months, not only spent lots of money on refurbishing areas but also as the hotel is now under new management we have... More

alloa
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed at this hotel 10th - 14th March 2014 All staff polite, friendly and curtious and nothing was a bother to them.especially Betty in the dining room. Rooms spotless. Entertainment good. Excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DarrenMoyle, General Manager at Bay Great Western Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Marie, Thank you for your kind comments. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and will pass on your comments to Betty, who will loves receiving a special mention. Thank you again and look forward to see you again soon. Warm Regards Darren Moyle More

North Lincolnshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

4 day trip with National in March. Given the price paid excellent value. Negative point - Typical Victorian type seaside hotel that is a little bit rough round edges but this is being really picky. This is easily overcome by plus points -: Room (26) at rear of building so no view, but otherwise excellent, clean, spacious, comfortable beds with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DarrenMoyle, General Manager at Bay Great Western Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AirlieJock, Thank you for your kind review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I do agree that room 26 is a very spacious room, and even more good news is that room has now been refurbished since your stay with us, so it is even nicer now! I do agree with your comments regarding the location... More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Stayed in this hotel with Caledonian Travel coach tour for long weekend. Tired around the edges, sure, but clean and very comfortable and warm. We had sea view (single rooms, one was upgraded to sea view on arrival at no extra charge). Very well run hotel and staff (especially waiting staff in restaurant) were amazingly efficient and helpful. Evening meals... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DarrenMoyle, General Manager at Bay Great Western Hotel, responded to this review

Dear alongcamepolly074, Thank you for your very complimentary review. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found it ‘Great Value’. I have passed on your comments to the Karina and her team in the restaurant who do love to receive such good comments, as do I. I do understand your comments regarding our lift, however due... More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We had visitors from down south and decided to head to Oban for weekend and chose this hotel. Our rooms were disappointing I think they were 17 and 18 just up the first flight of stairs and into right. The light in corridor was not working and was reported but still not working when we left. The rooms were dull... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DarrenMoyle, General Manager at Bay Great Western Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LFrankie, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am very sorry that you did not your break with us. I have noted the points you have raised and have already spoke with my management team regarding these who are taking action within their departments. I am pleased you enjoyed the entertainment on the Saturday night... More

north of england
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

spent 4 days on a Shearings break. Great location, very helpful, friendly staff and the food was good and nicely presented. Bathroom in need of up grading but No complaints, value for money. would recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DarrenMoyle, General Manager at Bay Great Western Hotel, responded to this review

Dear bulavinaka_8, Thank you for your kind review! I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon. Warm Regards Darren Moyle More

Ulverston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is the third time that my wife and I have stayed at this hotel, the last time being over a year ago. This time we visited on the 24th February 2014 for 5 days. We were welcomed by very friendly and helpful staff. We had been told that there were no standard rooms available, so we paid the extra... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DarrenMoyle, General Manager at Bay Great Western Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tony, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am very pleased you enjoyed you stay with us. We are currently refurbishing rooms and at present we have the next phase of rooms about to be completed. I do agree that the hotel is very centrally positioned to the town, and is great for exploring the... More

Been to Bay Great Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Great Western Hotel

Also Known As:
Great Western Oban
Great Western Hotel Oban
Great Western
Hotel Great Western
Bay Great Western Hotel Oban, Scotland
Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5PP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a prime location, right in the centre of the curving esplanade, just a pleasant walk from the shops and harbour, stands Oban's Great Western; a hotel proud of offering space and comfort, as well as magnificent views of the bay (remember to look out for those memorable sunsets!). Ideal for a relaxing holiday, the activity on the bay can simply be watched from the welcoming lounge and cocktail bar, while it's also an ideal touring centre. With Glencoe, serene lochs and the Western Isles on the doorstep, there's a myriad of sightseeing opportunities. And with coast and country walks, angling, sailing, diving, bird-watching and a whole host of other leisure pursuits at hand, you should never be at a loss for something to do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bay Great Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Great Western Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.