We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kings Knoll Hotel

Dunollie Road, Oban PA34 5JH, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Kings Knoll Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

145 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2015

Great management, friendly. Great position, some interesting collections positioned around the walls in different rooms, like stepping back in time. Huge servings of meals. Great experience, even a packaged breakfast as we were leaving early that morning. Only drawback no elevator and many floor to climb - once they realised I had a disability and stairs would be a challenge... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank GWalker23
Bentleigh, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2015

I could not fault the place! Great location with amazing views! Hotel manager is extremely friendly and gave very helpful recommendations! Breakfast was fantastic and we will definitely be back! Only fault is that we couldn't spend more time in Oban at Kings Knoll!

Helpful?
1 Thank Ella H
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2015 via mobile

We were with a group of 4 couples on vacation. We were a little put of by some previous reviews but were very pleasantly surprised. The hotel was quite clean, and everything worked. We have found the showers to be different in most places we have stayed. This seemed to be especially so in Scotland but if you can not... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank RMHBJH
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2015 via mobile

I was working in Oban and stopped at the King Knoll Hotel. I enjoyed my stay breakfast was good, evening food menu could do with a few more choices on it ( house burger was nice). Room was OK nice view out to the hills, bathroom was a little small for a big person like myself. Owner and workers friendly... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Richard H
kingsknoll, Owner at Kings Knoll Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review and taking the time to share your thought s. We try to strike a balance between having a menu that covers most of the popular bases, and not being so long that there delays in getting the food out. I have passed on your comments to our local butcher , who makes the haggis... More 

Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2015

i was booked at a place out of town in ford and was not happy with what i see there so i got in touch with kings knoll the manager was nice and said yes we can fit you in for 3 nights, yes great it was more money but i was happy to not stay at the other place,after... More 

Helpful?
Thank lee a
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2015 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for one night and we were delighted by the friendly manager and his team. The room was spotless and had a great view over oban bay. The food was delicious and I would thoroughly recommend a stay in this delightful hotel.

Helpful?
Thank Alastair L
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2015 via mobile

I stayed here with my son in our Scotland vacation. The room we got was very dusty. The carpet had holes. The shower head was broken. On the chairs was hair stuck to the back test. The drain in the tub had hair in it as well. The owners were very rude when we asked for a clean room. She... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tex S
kingsknoll, Manager at Kings Knoll Hotel, responded to this review

Looking at the other current reviews most can see this for what it is. Normally I would not respond to a review like this, it would be taken as an opportunity to improve. However I feel obligated to make an exception in this case. My wife met you at check in; on your way out she asked if everything was... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2015

We had difficulty in finding a hotel in the Taynuilt area and David, the proprietor of the Brander Lodge Hotel there, went to great efforts to find alternative accommodation after a booking agency confirmed a booking there when they had sent an immediate email to say they were full. After numerous calls he had us booked in to the Kings... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bert_travels0208
Newtown St Boswells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2015

After staying over night in the Kings Knoll I found it great value and a nice quiet place to stay while in Oban. It is as you come down the hill into town so is back from the front, you can walk into the main shopping area in 5 mins. Room was lovely and clean, food was also of a... More 

Helpful?
Thank ScotsPeter
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (42)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.8 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 stars 298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#3 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 stars 1,319 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#11 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 stars 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 stars 631 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rowantree Hotel
Rowantree Hotel
#10 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 stars 231 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay