We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kings Knoll Hotel

Dunollie Road, Oban PA34 5JH, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Kings Knoll Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

138 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    42
    57
    20
    9
    10
See reviews for
21
76
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (138)
  • Mar-May only
    (31)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (62)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (35)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed in this hotel for one night and we were delighted by the friendly manager and his team. The room was spotless and had a great view over oban bay. The food was delicious and I would thoroughly recommend a stay in this delightful hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here with my son in our Scotland vacation. The room we got was very dusty. The carpet had holes. The shower head was broken. On the chairs was hair stuck to the back test. The drain in the tub had hair in it as well. The owners were very rude when we asked for a clean room. She... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kingsknoll, Manager at Kings Knoll Hotel, responded to this review

Looking at the other current reviews most can see this for what it is. Normally I would not respond to a review like this, it would be taken as an opportunity to improve. However I feel obligated to make an exception in this case. My wife met you at check in; on your way out she asked if everything was... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had difficulty in finding a hotel in the Taynuilt area and David, the proprietor of the Brander Lodge Hotel there, went to great efforts to find alternative accommodation after a booking agency confirmed a booking there when they had sent an immediate email to say they were full. After numerous calls he had us booked in to the Kings... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newtown St Boswells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After staying over night in the Kings Knoll I found it great value and a nice quiet place to stay while in Oban. It is as you come down the hill into town so is back from the front, you can walk into the main shopping area in 5 mins. Room was lovely and clean, food was also of a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed at the Kings Knoll on our two-week UK vacation and found the Kings Knoll after much searching for a place to stay. (It seemed like most rooms in Oban were booked.) Don't let the exterior fool you. The property, while slightly dated in appearance, is clean, it is a short walk to downtown Oban and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Azusa, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015

The room was fine; the manager very helpful; nice little bar; great view from our room; up above the town (very much a tourist town) and away from the noise but only a few minutes walk into town. Off-street parking. HOWEVER, our shower literally did not work; only scalding hot water came out. Apparently, according to the front desk, this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kingsknoll, Manager at Kings Knoll Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts, we do get an occasional experience like your own now and again We take the view that anyone who can organise themselves long haul flights and get to a smallish town, driving on the opposite side of the road from normal, will have a fair degree of common sense. There... More 

Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2015

We stayed here on our whistle stop tour of Scotland. . 2nd July 2015.. People say "you should never judge a book by its cover".. which in this case is very true. As initially at first glance on arrival, there did appear to be a need for updating the exterior but once inside we were pleasantly surprised and greeted by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2015 via mobile

The rooms are livable, but disappointing. The beds are fair, but the paint is chipping, and the rooms are full of dust. There are holes in the carpet, and the building is barely up to code. The rooms may not meet expectations for many people, but they can be okay for a night or two. I would not recommend this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2015

this hotel come B&B was a bit outdated to get to our room we had to go up 2 flights of stairs through numerous fire doors (needed a sleep after all that) the room itself was ok the so called on-suite well think it may have been a wardrobe before , well thats what it felt like .hospitality was good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (41)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.3 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 stars 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 stars 266 reviews
4.1 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
3.5 of 5 stars 296 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#12 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 stars 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay