We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sgeir Mhaol Guest House

Soroba Road, Oban PA34 4JF, Scotland
Sgeir Mhaol Guest House
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    21
    13
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
12
21
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (50)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (18)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
Kilmacolm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Typical bed and breakfast establishment as far as the room and the owner were concerned. The quirkiness is in the location of the driveway which is right at the traffic lights and is fine once you've established where it is. The other quirk is that it is not a cooked breakfast like you get in most B&B's. Now, that came... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
obaniteOban, Owner at Sgeir Mhaol Guest House, responded to this review

Thankyou for you kind review. The directions should lead you straight to Sgeirmhaol.sorry if you got a bit confused If you booked on-line or with the tourist board in Oban both would have said that we serve continental buffet breakfasts for our guests but, if you happened on us by chance then I can totally understand that guests do expect... More 

Largs, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2015

My wife and myself stayed overnight and the we found the landlady extremely friendly and helpful. The room was excellent with a nice comfortable bed and the morning continental breakfast was excellent. I would recommend this B&B to all my friends

Was this review helpful? Yes
obaniteOban, Owner at Sgeir Mhaol Guest House, responded to this review

Thankyou for you kind review on sgeirmhaol. Delighted you enjoyed our continental buffet breakfast and your nights stay with us. It would be lovely to see you both back again, kindest regards to both, Ishbell More 

glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2015

.Stranded in Oban with my grand daughter and a dog when cal mac cancelled all ferries.we trudged around looking for a place to stay,being told sorry no dogs!A friend suggested Sgeir Mhaol and phoned ahead for us.We were warmly welcomed,dog and all.A lovely comfy spotlessly clean en suite twin room,tv,power shower,kettle,we were sorted!Continental breakfast in the morning,all sorts of fresh... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
obaniteOban, Owner at Sgeir Mhaol Guest House, responded to this review

Thankyou for your lovely review after an unexpected overnight stay in Oban. Delighted you found everything as it should be at sgeirmhaol. Hope to meet you again but, not by being stranded in Oban. Keep up the great work you do with these lovely dogs. Ishbell More 

Isle of Tiree, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015

This is the worst place I have ever stayed in. Although I booked by email they had no record of my visit:." Nothing I can do darling, You will have to find somewhere else darling, etc" I showed the print out and was offered a room somewhere else. Half way out of the door I was called back. Yes if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
obaniteOban, Manager at Sgeir Mhaol Guest House, responded to this review

I see my original reply has been deleted, I would like to thankyou for your comments that have lost me 5 points on review status. I hope you are happy with your description of Sgeirmhaol for our potential guests to read !!!!!!! You say an unforgettable experience.... for me also More 

Ruthin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

Stayed four nights,great location on road into Oban ,Ishbell was a lovely hostess nothing was too much trouble.The bed was the most comfortable I've slept in for a B+B had wonderful sleeps .Real homely feel felt welcomed and comfortable, The best part is the Breakfast excellent selection of continental or full scottish.As a regular visitor this wee gem will be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Campbeltown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We staying 1 night before heading to Taynuilt Highland Games as a recommendation through Facebook. Can't fault our stay at all! Very friendly & helpful! Our wee dancer was very impressed and had a great nights sleep as did we. The rooms are a good size, with tea/coffee facilities. The property is right on the roadside, but we never really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Isle of Arran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

we were looking for something different and saw the street party in oban as we have been to oban a lot very homely place we saw sgeir mhaol guest house was open all year and we decided to make it a short break as there are no ferries new years day we phoned ishbel and she suggested we stay in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
obaniteOban, Owner at Sgeir Mhaol Guest House, responded to this review

Hello, thankyou for a lovely review,we both remember you from the falt and also the bnb. Hope you are both well and maybe see you again, Ishbell and Jamie More 

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

I have just read two 'bad' reviews about sgeir mhaol And I cannot believe I have stayed in the same guest house,! Have I,? I arrived late to a warm welcome from a concerned lady who said she had been worried about me, She Explained everything to me about my room shower Qwerks etc the point im trying to make... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
obaniteOban, Owner at Sgeir Mhaol Guest House, responded to this review

hello, thankyou for your review,very much appreciated, Ishbell More 

Scotland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Gave this B&B an average score but the review was taken off because it didn't have enough detail. I was trying to avoid doing so, but in the interest of honest reviews here goes.... Quite difficult to get in and out of as it is on a very busy main road. This also caused some road noise in my room.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
obaniteOban, Manager at Sgeir Mhaol Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Sir, can you clarify your stay with us at Sgeirmhaol as before your original review was removed you stated you stayed as a couple in February 2014.this latest review you have submitted states that you travelled solo in March 2014.Can you let me know which it was and perhaps send me an e-mail with you 'real' name and I... More 

Lake Forest Park, Washington
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

I have hesitated a long time before writing this review. Not because I have any reservations about giving Sgeir Mhaol a glowing review, but because it was so very special for me that I have had trouble finding the right words. A little background is in order here. My traveling companion wound up in the hospital in Oban with a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
obaniteOban, Owner at Sgeir Mhaol Guest House, responded to this review

Hello, well to say i am touched by your review would be an understatement indeed. When you came to the door of Sgeirmhaol, you looked so lost and worried, it was my pleasure to have you stay with us for a week,can I say Iona's loss was our gain. I hope you and your friend had a safe journey home... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

6 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
4.7 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
4.0 of 5 stars 287 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 stars 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 stars 261 reviews
0.9 mi away
Corran House
Corran House
#64 of 98 in Oban
3.5 of 5 stars 130 reviews
4.6 mi away
Grove House
Grove House
#3 of 9 in Connel
4.5 of 5 stars 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities