We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 98 Oban B&Bs / inns

Sgeir Mhaol Guest House

Save Saved
You added Sgeir Mhaol Guest House to your Saves list
Soroba Road, Oban PA34 4JF, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Sgeir Mhaol Guest House
Ranked #64 of 98 Oban B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oban
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    11
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
8
19
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Campbeltown, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We staying 1 night before heading to Taynuilt Highland Games as a recommendation through Facebook. Can't fault our stay at all! Very friendly & helpful! Our wee dancer was very impressed and had a great nights sleep as did we. The rooms are a good size, with tea/coffee facilities. The property is right on the roadside, but we never really... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Isle of Arran, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

we were looking for something different and saw the street party in oban as we have been to oban a lot very homely place we saw sgeir mhaol guest house was open all year and we decided to make it a short break as there are no ferries new years day we phoned ishbel and she suggested we stay in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
obaniteOban, Owner at Sgeir Mhaol Guest House, responded to this review

Hello, thankyou for a lovely review,we both remember you from the falt and also the bnb. Hope you are both well and maybe see you again, Ishbell and Jamie More

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

I have just read two 'bad' reviews about sgeir mhaol And I cannot believe I have stayed in the same guest house,! Have I,? I arrived late to a warm welcome from a concerned lady who said she had been worried about me, She Explained everything to me about my room shower Qwerks etc the point im trying to make... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
obaniteOban, Owner at Sgeir Mhaol Guest House, responded to this review

hello, thankyou for your review,very much appreciated, Ishbell More

Scotland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Gave this B&B an average score but the review was taken off because it didn't have enough detail. I was trying to avoid doing so, but in the interest of honest reviews here goes.... Quite difficult to get in and out of as it is on a very busy main road. This also caused some road noise in my room.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
obaniteOban, Manager at Sgeir Mhaol Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Sir, can you clarify your stay with us at Sgeirmhaol as before your original review was removed you stated you stayed as a couple in February 2014.this latest review you have submitted states that you travelled solo in March 2014.Can you let me know which it was and perhaps send me an e-mail with you 'real' name and I... More

Lake Forest Park, Washington
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I have hesitated a long time before writing this review. Not because I have any reservations about giving Sgeir Mhaol a glowing review, but because it was so very special for me that I have had trouble finding the right words. A little background is in order here. My traveling companion wound up in the hospital in Oban with a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
obaniteOban, Owner at Sgeir Mhaol Guest House, responded to this review

Hello, well to say i am touched by your review would be an understatement indeed. When you came to the door of Sgeirmhaol, you looked so lost and worried, it was my pleasure to have you stay with us for a week,can I say Iona's loss was our gain. I hope you and your friend had a safe journey home... More

Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights after arriving in town and having to book on the spot. Ishbell and Jamie were great hosts. Our room was reasonably basic but clean and tidy and everything worked as it should. The guesthouse was conveniently located for a walk to the supermarket or to the centre of town. There was also plenty of free... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
obaniteOban, Manager at Sgeir Mhaol Guest House, responded to this review

Hi guys, thanks for your lovely review. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and gave a very fair and honest review. Yes we had the fan fitted in the dining room and its making a huge difference to the comfort of our guests at breakfasts,although we are always happy to see the sun streaming through the windows at... More

Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The owners were friendy and helpful, the room clean, and the bed comfortable if a little small for our liking. The washbasin wasin the room rather than in the ensuite shower room, which proved a little akward. The ample breakfast was freshly cooked and served hot.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
obaniteOban, Owner at Sgeir Mhaol Guest House, responded to this review

Hello from sunny Oban. Thankyou so much for your comments on Sgeirmhaol. We do understand that some of our guests do not like that our wash-hand basins are in the rooms and not in our en-suite.Unfortunately when we bought Sgeirmhaol the sink were as they are. We have thought of putting the sinks into the rooms but they would be... More

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Oban is nice enough but our stay at Sgeir Mhaol was marred by the owner's comments when asked to recommend sights in Oban's (she said there was nothing and we should head out) , eating out places (she said it was not worth even trying as she "guaranteed" they would all be booked & full) , a glass of water... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Benalla, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

On arrival, although the hostess was busy she was a bit snappy. The room was small and the bathroom smelt of urine. Nice breakfast was provided, but table was set with a second hand serviette. Ample parking, but due to it being on a busy road it was a bit of a challenge getting in and out.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Very enjoyable stay at the Sgeir Mhaol, nice friendly owners. Our room was a little small but, spotlessly clean. Breakfast was very good which had to be chosen the night before, so might not be everybody's cup of tea.. We only stayed here one night. Ideal location to visit Mull we went on a brilliant tour which I would highly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
obaniteOban, Owner at Sgeir Mhaol Guest House, responded to this review

Thankyou so much for taking the time to let me ,and everyone else, know how much you enjoyed your stay at Sgeirmhaol. Its been a long and very busy season for me and ,having no help with running Sgeirmhaol, reading these wonderful reviews makes it all worth while,again thankyou so much, Ishbell More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Sgeir Mhaol Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Sgeir Mhaol Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sgeir Mhaol Guest House

Address: Soroba Road, Oban PA34 4JF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Also Known As:
Sgeir Mhaol Guest House Oban, Scotland

5 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Oban with
any amenities