We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 100 Oban B&Bs / inns

Kathmore Guest House

Soroba Road | Argyll, Oban PA34 4JF, Scotland
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Kathmore Guest House
Ranked #20 of 100 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2013
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oban
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    99
    41
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
29
77
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in September in the downstairs room, due to disability. Very small room and very small bathroom - more like a corridor, so not suitable if you need to be in a wheelchair at all times. Also the room is right on the pavement so the noise of the traffic is not good if you require some... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
wkathmore, Owner at Kathmore Guest House, responded to this review

Hello Folks, Thank you for your review it was kind of you to do it for us. I would like to point out though that the room you were in is not a disabled room and is not advertised as being so. I say it is suitable for semi disabled or people who have a problem with stairs- due to... More

Llantwit Major, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Spent two nights in the Kathmore at the beginning of Oct 13. You will be hard pressed to find a better B&B in this corner of Scotland. Cleanliness, sleep quality, breakfast, hosts, parking, surrounding area, all A+++. Highly Recommend to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
wkathmore, Owner at Kathmore Guest House, responded to this review

Hello folks, I loved your " Top Banana" it made me laugh. Thank you for your lovely comments and for taking the time to do it for us. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us just as much as we enjoyed meeting you. I love my job, I love what I do, I love it when my guests have had... More

Fife
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

quiet location but an easy walk into shops and pubs only took ten minutes. plenty off road parking spaces and flat hard parking for motorbikes very friendly and helpful host. Clean and comfortable room with tea/coffee and biscuits. Good breakfast with plenty choice.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
wkathmore, Owner at Kathmore Guest House, responded to this review

Hello Folks, Thank you so much for your great review. We really do appreciate you took the time to do this for us. Trip advisor really does help a small business so it is nice when people take the time to write a review. Thank you. Morven More

Fayetteville, Arkansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

A friend and I we at the Kathmore Guest House at the end of September. Morven was very helpful. Beds were great and the electric shower had plenty of hot water once this Yankee learned to operate it. She give walking directions to a great eating place on the bay. Breakfast was a full Scottish cooked to order breakfast, It... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
wkathmore, Owner at Kathmore Guest House, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review. Glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and I do hope you come back again. It is no problem to me to help people out by letting them leave their car in my car park. We have a great car park that we are able to... More

Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We loved having the assortment of tea and snacks in our room. The location is near the end of town and is quiet so we had no trouble sleeping in our comfy beds. The very friendly staff helped us with all our requests. Also the B&B is very close to car rental locations and food market. The walk into town... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
wkathmore, Owner at Kathmore Guest House, responded to this review

Hello Folks, Thank you so much for your wonderful review. I really do appreciate you taking the time to do this for me. Always makes me happy when our guests have enjoyed their stay. Hope you enjoyed Scotland and that you will return one day. All the best Morven More

Montreal, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My husband and I booked a last minute stay at Kathmore House. We had originally booked a double occupancy room but when we turned up the elderly couple who had spent the past few days in our reserved room decided to spend an extra night. My husband and I ended up in a twin room instead. We're pretty easy going... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
wkathmore, Owner at Kathmore Guest House, responded to this review

Hi both, I know I was embarrassed with this. Normally I would have changed them into another room and honoured your booking but they were old and he was full of arthritis, could not do stairs. The room you booked is the only ground floor room I have. That is why I kept the only room I had left room... More

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We visited Kathmore for the second time in early October before getting the very choppy ferry to Lochboisdale. Morven gave us a warm welcome and once again we had a wonderful stay; definitely our place to stay in Oban. Thank you Morven!

Was this review helpful? Yes
wkathmore, Owner at Kathmore Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Colin & Kate, Thank you for your lovely review I was not expecting it. It was lovely to see you both again. Oh, was it a bit wild going over, poor you. Hope you got some of this great weather we have been having this past week while on holiday. The sunsets have been amazing. Look forward to seeing... More

Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Friendly lady staff, the triple room was comfortable and clean. Towel sets were in 3 different colors so guest avoid mixed ups. Very thoughtful I felt. There was a common lounge room for relaxation, dining and drinking. 10-15 mins walk into town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
wkathmore, Owner at Kathmore Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Folks, Thank you for your great review. Guests reviews really do help, so thank you. Glad you enjoyed your stay at wee Kathmore. Come back and see us one day. All the best Morven More

Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

we had a great stay we should stayed 3 nights but because of the bad weather we could not get the boat to Mull.and had to cancel 1 night. We offered to pay for all 3 she only charged for 2.I know a lot B&B who would have taken it all.We enjoyed our stay breakfasts were wonderful lots of choice... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
wkathmore, Owner at Kathmore Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great review. Really appreciate you taking the time to do this for me. All the best Morven More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Morvan was a great hostess, she could not do enough for us...she was full of information about things to do, places to see and where to eat. We parked the car and walked everywhere! It is the ideal location.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
wkathmore, Owner at Kathmore Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Foks, So glad you loved Kathmore and enjoyed your stay. I enjoyed having you here. Thank you so much for taking the time to write this for me. Hope you return one day, always nice to see my guests coming back again. All the best Morven More

Been to Kathmore Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kathmore Guest House

Also Known As:
Kathmore Guest House Oban, Scotland
Address: Soroba Road | Argyll, Oban PA34 4JF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Proud to have been nominated runner-up in the FX awards, we will give you the most genuine of Highland welcomes. Easy walk to town centre bus, train and ferry terminals. Rooms comprise of 7 en suite and 1 twin standard. All tastefully furnished with t.v's, hair dryers, tea/coffee trays. Spacious parking to rear. Choice breakfast offered. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kathmore Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kathmore Guest House to your Saves list