We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kathmore Guest House

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Soroba Road | Argyll, Oban PA34 4JF, Scotland
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oban
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Kathmore Guest House
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

229 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2015

Very good stopover while we were touring Scotland. Great off street parking for motorbike. Comfortable quite room. Short walk into town centre. Would definitely stop here again if visiting this area. Recommended.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank garrydouglas
wkathmore, Owner at Kathmore Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write this lovely review. You have no idea how much this helps a business. Glad you enjoyed your stay and yes, our car park is great for cars and bikes. Not many Guest houses have our spacious off road parking area. Thank you again and I do hope you will be back again. Morven More 

Leeds
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2015

Great guest house, on site parking, en suite bathroom included. With delicious breakfast. The lady arranged for us to have a fruit salad made for the day when we left too early in the morning to have breakfast. All in all, really great guesthouse

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank monsieurlw
wkathmore, Owner at Kathmore Guest House, responded to this review

Hello Folks, Thank you for your lovely review. Yes, some of the boat departures are cruel when you are actually on holiday BUT hopefully worth it when you reach these beautiful Islands they are taking you to. I always offer either a continental or packed breakfast to take away when people are leaving early in the morning. All the best... More 

Maple Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2015

This B&B is on a relatively busy street....but don't let that bother you!! Our room faced the street and it was very, very quiet. We were two couples who spent two nights staying here and we could not have been looked after better by Morven. She told us that she has been running this B&B for going on 30 years... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rick W
wkathmore, Owner at Kathmore Guest House, responded to this review

Oh thank you so much for remembering me and taking the time to write this wonderful review. So happy you had a good time while staying at Kathmore. It is so important to Keith and myself that our guests have a good time and want to come back again. Thank you folks. Morven More 

Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2015

Stayed here for two nights in June this year whilst touring the West Coast. Top notch Band B. Nothing to fault. Room was lovely, clean, newly decorated, everything you could want. Our room looked over the back garden area, which was quiet. We made use of the outdoor seating and enjoyed a glass of wine or two. Scrumptious breakfast. Owners... More 

Helpful?
Thank cassidy62
wkathmore, Owner at Kathmore Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for writing this great review for us. It really does help when guest do this for us. I take it you were lucky with the weather if you sat on the decking enjoying a glass of wine. Cannot beat it. Keith & I went to Cyprus 18th Oct for 2 weeks. Probably told you we got... More 

Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2015

I had a 2 night stay here with my fellow choir members for the Mod.Our twin room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable in every way. The en-suite bathroom was spacious with toiletries and bath robes supplied! There was a good choice at breakfast.I would have no hesitation in recommending Kathmore Guest House to travellers. Thank you Morven.

Helpful?
Thank Gillian M
wkathmore, Owner at Kathmore Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much Gillian for writing this review for us. It really does help a business when people do make the effort to do this. Glad you all enjoyed your stay with us as we enjoyed having you all stay with us. Keith and I thought you sounded great when you practised in our lounge. Come back and see... More 

Blair, Nebraska
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2015

We stayed here as part of a bus tour of Scotland (tour company booked all the lodgings) in September 2015. We had a twin room with a complete ensuite bathroom attached. The room was clean, spacious, and beautifully furnished. Breakfast was great as well. The only drawback was the location, as in it is right along a major road that... More 

Helpful?
Thank TJK427
wkathmore, Owner at Kathmore Guest House, responded to this review

Hello folks, Thank you for taking the time to write this review for us, we do appreciate this. Glad you had a good stay at Kathmore. We are on the main road but we have done all we can to reduce the noise with triple glazing. Find that people who are use to traffic do not have a problem, they... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2015

Booked this on the recommendations in the Lonely Planet and we were not disappointed. We had a ground floor unit, but didn't have any problems with the road noise at all. Small but comfortable and made more than welcome by Morven. Great breakfast the next morning.

Helpful?
Thank Bricari
wkathmore, Owner at Kathmore Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to do this review for us. It really does help our business when our guests do this for us. We have done this for 31 years and will do it for as long as I am able. Unfortunately it will not be for another 31 years. We are happy you enjoyed your... More 

England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2015

We stayed here one night. Friendly Hosts Clean Room Excellent Breakfast Bed was really comfortable! Good Parking to the rear in a spacious well tended area 10 minutes walking distance from Oban Centre And yes, you could actually get Wi-Fi in your room. Would definitely come back if I was staying in this area again.

Helpful?
Thank Felicity56
wkathmore, Owner at Kathmore Guest House, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, It is really important to us that our guests have a good time here and want to come back again. Always nice to see an old face back at the door. all the best More 

Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2015 via mobile

The hostess was lovely, very amiable and accommodating. We were leaving early for the ferry so missed breakfast but our hostess made us both a pack up to take on our journey. The bed was so comfortable and the room was immaculate with a good sized en suite and nice hot shower. The only thing I would say is that... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ju R
wkathmore, Owner at Kathmore Guest House, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you so much for writing this review for us. After running Kathmore for 31 years I have learned it pays to buy good quality. My dark wood furniture is 25 years old and still going strong. I will work on the assumption, like fashion, that it will come back... More 

Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2015

Our room was a small but cosy room on the first floor of the B&B. Very nicely done up the rooms also came equipped with things such as bathrobes which I thought was great cause we usually only get these at hotels these days and not in a B&B as such. The bathrooms are smart and clean. The beverages tray... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 2015ashah
wkathmore, Owner at Kathmore Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Folks, Thank you so much for taking the time to do this review for us. It is important that my guest have a good time while staying at Kathmore. I do not understand your comments about breakfast at all as you can choose what you want, there is no restrictions. Hope the tomatoes were from Tescos and not from... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.6 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 stars 298 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 stars 629 reviews
1.0 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#3 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 stars 1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Oban Caledonian Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Old Manse Guest House
0.6 mi away
Invercloy Guest House
Invercloy Guest House
#46 of 99 in Oban
4.5 of 5 stars 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities