We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oban Youth Hostel

Certificate of Excellence
Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AF, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Oban Youth Hostel
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ranked #7 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Oban
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
stoneyGiraffe Playa de las Americas, Spain
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    29
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
15
20
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (77)
  • Mar-May only
    (19)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (15)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Playa de las Americas, Spain
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed two nights in March. This is a modern and comfortable hostel and I would imagine a very busy hostel in the tourist season. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hostel has amazing views looking over Oban bay and you can sit back and watch the ferry's coming and going in and out of the harbour. You can... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Oban Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi There, What a lovely review, thanks so much, we really do appreciate it and will pass on your kind comments to our team. Hope too see you again soon. Lorna Padden More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

Great location and great price for room, room was clean and tidy staff were friendly. Exactly what you look for in a cheap 1 night getaway. Oban it's self is lovely and great to walk about, a trip to the beach at ganavan Sands is recommended. Ross

Was this review helpful? Yes
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Oban Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi There, Thanks for such a lovely review, we really appreciate it, hope too see you again soon. Lorna Padden More 

Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

We were so pleasantly surprised with Oban, partially because of the fab hostel. Right on the esplanade, it's still a short walk into the center for restaurants and ferry access. The staff were friendly and helpful, our room was a nice size and very clean, though the supposedly-double bed was really two twins pushed together with a double sheet over... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Oban Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your stay, you have made a few suggestions that we will look into for the future. Thanks Lorna Padden More 

Covington, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

We only stayed one night but it was such an enjoyable stay. Ample parking, easy to find, located near a church and a restaurant, close to shopping in town. Spent time watching the ferry come and go, walking along the waterfront, meeting fellow travelers while making dinner. We had a private room in the newer building and it was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Oban Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, What a lovely review, thanks so much for taking the time, we agree it has one of the best views around. Thanks again. Lorna Padden More 

Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

Had booked a twin room and had a triple, very good sized room in the old part of the hostel on the 2nd floor. Fortunately I am only 5' tall and was quite happy on the bottom bunk!!!! We were in the attic which was really quiet despite the remains of the hurricane hurtling over the roof which did provide... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Oban Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank You very much for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay, we really appreciate it. We hope you enjoyed being back in Oban, Wi-Fi, we are looking into this, but its a huge undertaking for us a charity but it is being reviewed, I just at this point cant give any further details. Thanks... More 

Zagreb, Croatia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

When we arrived at the hotel the receptionist was quite helpful with the information about Oban so at first we had a good impression. But when we got to our room we were disappointed since we got a room with 4 bunk beds which one of them was double, although we paid for double room a month ahead and checked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Oban Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for your review, we appreciate all feedback. Its disappointing to read your experience wasn't what you had hoped for. The entire building was renovated in 2010/2011 and everything in the main building is new. We would like to get some further feedback from you in terms of the customer service you have described so that we can investigate... More 

Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Stayed there one night. On site parking. Very good facility with great rooms. Great location, relatively short walk (200 m) to the main shopping area and harbour. We had an ensuite and stayed in the annex. Very quiet, and large comfortable room with ensuite. It was better than some of the hotels we've stayed in....Very clean, comfortable, and the annex... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Oban Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks so much and for recommending us, we hope you make the journey back to visit us again as well. We really appreciate out review. Lorna Padden More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Same price as a hotel (for a family of 4 ) but it was a good location. On the night we visited the kitchen wasn't working (for provided meals) so we ate out. Problem with the gas. Staff were helpful and would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Oban Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to post your review on here, we really do appreciate it, and we will be sure to let the team know you enjoyed your stay with us. I think, I may have responded to you already thru our own SYHA feedback on the issues you have raised above, so I hope that clarified everything... More 

London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

Very pleasantly surprised and how nice this hostel is. Great location a short walk along the promenade at the quieter edge of town. Spotless room, public areas and kitchen. Only booked because no B & Bs had triple rooms but due to the refit this place was excellent- so long as you are okay with bunk beds (albeit one was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Oban Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks so very much for this great review, our Youth Hostel in Oban is great and we are really proud of the refurbishment there. Great to read you rated us so highly, please try some of our other Youth Hostels next time you visit Scotland. Lorna Padden More 

Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for three nights over the weekend and I can say there was nothing I could fault. The place was more like a five star hotel and the staff could not have been more help full. It even had a great drying room for our wetsuits. And as for value for money if the price per night was double... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Oban Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for this great review, we really appreciate it, it makes all the hard work worthwhile, we will let our team know about your great feedback. Thanks Lorna Padden More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question