We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oban Youth Hostel

Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AF, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Oban Youth Hostel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #8 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Oban
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
148robint123 Stirling, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

81 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    33
    30
    10
    6
    2
See reviews for
16
20
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (81)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (15)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

the hostel and lodge where OK the view was lovely with the isle of mull ferry going past during the daytime the nightlife is not wonderful but it nice to walk along the harbor side at night i hope to visit again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hostel advertised online and in the Scotland Youth Hostel Association guide as beds being £15. When I got there, they were £26! For that price, you might as well get a B&B. In addition to this, they charge £3/hr for Wi-Fi, which is absurd. The saving grace is that the staff is friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here twice, before and after a trip to the Islands. I stayed in a 6 bed dorm, we had the room over the kitchen in the main room with views over Oban bay and the Kerrera Island - absolutely beautiful and we could sit in the bay windown. comfortable beds, lots of space and good ensuite shower, toilet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Oban Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Thank You What a great review, thanks so much for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at Oban Youth Hostel, the team will be happy to read this positive review, thanks so much. Lorna Padden More 

Playa de las Americas, Spain
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015 via mobile

Stayed two nights in March. This is a modern and comfortable hostel and I would imagine a very busy hostel in the tourist season. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hostel has amazing views looking over Oban bay and you can sit back and watch the ferry's coming and going in and out of the harbour. You can... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Oban Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi There, What a lovely review, thanks so much, we really do appreciate it and will pass on your kind comments to our team. Hope too see you again soon. Lorna Padden More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

Great location and great price for room, room was clean and tidy staff were friendly. Exactly what you look for in a cheap 1 night getaway. Oban it's self is lovely and great to walk about, a trip to the beach at ganavan Sands is recommended. Ross

Was this review helpful? Yes
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Oban Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi There, Thanks for such a lovely review, we really appreciate it, hope too see you again soon. Lorna Padden More 

Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

We were so pleasantly surprised with Oban, partially because of the fab hostel. Right on the esplanade, it's still a short walk into the center for restaurants and ferry access. The staff were friendly and helpful, our room was a nice size and very clean, though the supposedly-double bed was really two twins pushed together with a double sheet over... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Oban Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your stay, you have made a few suggestions that we will look into for the future. Thanks Lorna Padden More 

Covington, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

We only stayed one night but it was such an enjoyable stay. Ample parking, easy to find, located near a church and a restaurant, close to shopping in town. Spent time watching the ferry come and go, walking along the waterfront, meeting fellow travelers while making dinner. We had a private room in the newer building and it was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Oban Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, What a lovely review, thanks so much for taking the time, we agree it has one of the best views around. Thanks again. Lorna Padden More 

Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

Had booked a twin room and had a triple, very good sized room in the old part of the hostel on the 2nd floor. Fortunately I am only 5' tall and was quite happy on the bottom bunk!!!! We were in the attic which was really quiet despite the remains of the hurricane hurtling over the roof which did provide... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Oban Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank You very much for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay, we really appreciate it. We hope you enjoyed being back in Oban, Wi-Fi, we are looking into this, but its a huge undertaking for us a charity but it is being reviewed, I just at this point cant give any further details. Thanks... More 

Zagreb, Croatia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

When we arrived at the hotel the receptionist was quite helpful with the information about Oban so at first we had a good impression. But when we got to our room we were disappointed since we got a room with 4 bunk beds which one of them was double, although we paid for double room a month ahead and checked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Oban Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for your review, we appreciate all feedback. Its disappointing to read your experience wasn't what you had hoped for. The entire building was renovated in 2010/2011 and everything in the main building is new. We would like to get some further feedback from you in terms of the customer service you have described so that we can investigate... More 

Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Stayed there one night. On site parking. Very good facility with great rooms. Great location, relatively short walk (200 m) to the main shopping area and harbour. We had an ensuite and stayed in the annex. Very quiet, and large comfortable room with ensuite. It was better than some of the hotels we've stayed in....Very clean, comfortable, and the annex... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Oban Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks so much and for recommending us, we hope you make the journey back to visit us again as well. We really appreciate out review. Lorna Padden More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay