We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 14 Oban accommodations

Oban Youth Hostel

4.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AF, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Oban Youth Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Oban Youth Hostel to your Saves list
82%
Ranked #6 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Oban
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014
Canuck2011_11 Calgary, Canada
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    26
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
15
16
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (69)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Zagreb, Croatia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When we arrived at the hotel the receptionist was quite helpful with the information about Oban so at first we had a good impression. But when we got to our room we were disappointed since we got a room with 4 bunk beds which one of them was double, although we paid for double room a month ahead and checked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Oban Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for your review, we appreciate all feedback. Its disappointing to read your experience wasn't what you had hoped for. The entire building was renovated in 2010/2011 and everything in the main building is new. We would like to get some further feedback from you in terms of the customer service you have described so that we can investigate... More

Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Stayed there one night. On site parking. Very good facility with great rooms. Great location, relatively short walk (200 m) to the main shopping area and harbour. We had an ensuite and stayed in the annex. Very quiet, and large comfortable room with ensuite. It was better than some of the hotels we've stayed in....Very clean, comfortable, and the annex... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Oban Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks so much and for recommending us, we hope you make the journey back to visit us again as well. We really appreciate out review. Lorna Padden More

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Same price as a hotel (for a family of 4 ) but it was a good location. On the night we visited the kitchen wasn't working (for provided meals) so we ate out. Problem with the gas. Staff were helpful and would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Oban Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to post your review on here, we really do appreciate it, and we will be sure to let the team know you enjoyed your stay with us. I think, I may have responded to you already thru our own SYHA feedback on the issues you have raised above, so I hope that clarified everything... More

London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Very pleasantly surprised and how nice this hostel is. Great location a short walk along the promenade at the quieter edge of town. Spotless room, public areas and kitchen. Only booked because no B & Bs had triple rooms but due to the refit this place was excellent- so long as you are okay with bunk beds (albeit one was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Oban Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks so very much for this great review, our Youth Hostel in Oban is great and we are really proud of the refurbishment there. Great to read you rated us so highly, please try some of our other Youth Hostels next time you visit Scotland. Lorna Padden More

Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We stayed for three nights over the weekend and I can say there was nothing I could fault. The place was more like a five star hotel and the staff could not have been more help full. It even had a great drying room for our wetsuits. And as for value for money if the price per night was double... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Oban Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for this great review, we really appreciate it, it makes all the hard work worthwhile, we will let our team know about your great feedback. Thanks Lorna Padden More

Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We arrived at the Oban youth hostel to a warm welcome and a nothing was a problem. The place is spotlessly clean in the rooms, common room and kitchen area. We asked to leave a bike rack for a couple of days and it was no problem. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Oban Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for taking the time to post your feedback on your recent stay ay Oban Youth Hostel, we are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back again in the near future. Lorna Padden More

Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Booked the hostel for a mixed group of 19 on an annual three day charity biking event around Oban. From the first enquiry to the day we checked out the customer service and helpfulness from everyone at the hostel has just been incredibly good. The hostel is definitely worth the 5 star rating with superb rooms and facilities and a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Oban Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Mountainman1956 Wow, that's is just such a great review and thank you also for the personal email you sent to the Oban Team thanking them. We are so glad that your group enjoyed your stay and that the customer service you received from all our team at Oban was great, we really do try to surpass each and every customers... More

Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I was very pleasantly surprised when I went to stay in Youth Hostel in Oban. First impression great! The entrance & reception area very clean and welcoming - and so was the staff. Self catering kitchen area is spacey and clean - and all living areas in Hostel very relaxing. Room we stayed in was very clean and very spacious!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Oban Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Riika A Thank you so very much for a lovely review, we at Oban Youth Hostel are thrilled that you enjoyed your recent stay and that our team were all so helpful, our cleaning team are thrilled that you thought the place was so clean. It really is so good of you to post such a great review, and we... More

Troon
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
13 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We stayed in the lodge behind. The hostel was welcoming, the staff informative and the communal lounge homely with a wide age range from babies to the elderly. The place was spotlessly clean. The bunks in the lodges were comfortable and the showers were great - full force and plenty of hot water. The facilities were good if self catering... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Oban Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Talamhgirl Thanks for posting your feedback on your recent stay at Oban Youth Hostel, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and liked what we have done in our refurb of the Lodge building. We are continually looking for feedback as to where we can make further improvements, budget willing but limited, we try too. Our Property Officer (Mike)... More

Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

I'm 30 and this was my first time in a hostel and I'm not going to lie, I was super worried I would get stuck in a gross room with 20 year old kids. Not so at all. The hostel is located near everything although you have to walk about 10 or so minutes to get to it. It is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Oban Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Sheila B We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Oban Youth Hostel, and even more so that we surpassed your expectations, which is what we strive to do. The team at Oban Youth Hostel are all glad that you enjoyed your stay and we thank you for your feedback. thanks Lorna Padden More

Do you own or manage Oban Youth Hostel?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Oban Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oban Youth Hostel

Address: Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Oban Youth Hostel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Oban Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oban Youth Hostel Scotland

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Oban Youth Hostel