We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The George Hotel

22 George Street, Montrose DD10 8EW, Scotland
The George Hotel
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    31
    13
    12
    8
See reviews for
15
24
4
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (86)
  • Mar-May only
    (27)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (21)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (24)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Have been here for lunch a few times now & have never been disappointed. Service is really good & food is really good. Cannot speak for desserts as have never managed one thanks to the very generous portions.one of our favourite places for lunch.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeorgeMontrose, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, it is good to see the staff are meeting the standards expected of them. We aim to ensure a consistant high standard, you should maybe go for a small portion with a starter to allow yourself a sweet as I can guarentee you will not be disappointed. More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely food service a little slow, received not very much toast for a night tea never got any pots of tea, and you only get scones or ice cream or a pudding not a choice of cakes which I prefer but they were Lovely ..... Would recommend a visit though

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeorgeMontrose, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

thank you for the review, I will ensure that the staff do make sure they offer the tea or coffee as this should be done at the preference of the customer, whether with the meal or after and topped up if required. We do not offer cakes as we do not have a consistant number of hight teas due to... More 

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for one night for a wedding. We received a nice welcome at reception and were checked in quickly. We were lucky enough to be allocated one of the recently refurbished rooms and it was very nice, modern and clean. Unfortunately I can't comment on breakfast as we missed it :( but others in our party said it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeorgeMontrose, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, we try to ensure all our rooms are kept in a good condition, all our bathrooms have recently been upgraded to keep us improving the comfort of the guests and ensuring their comfort. More 

Scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here for two nights. On arrival I was given a lecture about leaving keys at reception before getting my key. I was told there was free wifi throughout, but could only get it on the stairs. I told the reception staff this, they tried resetting it but to no avail. The TV only had a few channels as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GeorgeMontrose, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your points raised, I can only apologise that you felt you were given a lecture on your arrival, the reception staff are informed to give the customer all the relevant information on arrival, but in a professional way which was not done appropriatley or well in this circumstance. With regards to the Wi-fi, due to the building,... More 

Travelers are raving about these Montrose hotels

Littlehampton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

As a fairly small and unassuming building on the corner of the street, my expectations as I entered The George were as an average B&B. 'This will be adequate' I thought, as I arrived. Well I must say, I was more than pleasantly surprised to find the place completely exceeded my expectations on every front. My room was of a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeorgeMontrose, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, it has been said before that the exterior of the hotel does not give the client the impression of the inside, it is very mis-leading, we have 25 bedrooms, all different shapes and sizes to fit in with the building restrictions, however once insde a warm and friendly greeting is guarenteed. More 

Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

Great little hotel. Eaten there on many occasions and never been disappointed, quality no nonsense food and real ale to wash it down with, I really like their burgers not something I would normally go for but remember the first time we visited the hotel seeing someones meal being brought out, that was it for me, delicious. Well done

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeorgeMontrose, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, it is good to know that the food is to the consistant level we expect it to be at all times, altough we have a team of chefs it is the consistancy and value that is required. More 

A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015

I got put up in the George hotel, I arrived late, too late for food, due to delayed flight, but Gavin kindly made me a sandwich. The staff were helpful throughout. I feel like a few improvements with room 3 could be done, like a coat hook, or a towel rail in the bathroom. Otherwise I was very impressed with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeorgeMontrose, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments about The George, on your return, if you are given Room 3 you will find a towel rail in the bathroom, a big thank you for pointing this out. Delighted you were fed, Gavin is a good guy. We pride ourselves on our food, everything is made to order, my staff work as... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

A nice family run hotel with an excellent restaurant and breakfast, huge portions and friendly service. The room was large and comfortable with an excellent bathroom and shower. The only problem is that because Montrose is a conversation area there is not a single double glazed window to be seen and this means that when the pubs close you hear... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeorgeMontrose, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for your fantastic review of The George. Our building indeed is in a conservation area, I am working around the building replacing windows with double glazing glass with wooden window frames. I am constantly reviewing the decor, all the bedrooms have new white bathroom suites, this has been a two year programme, completed at last!... More 

Airdrie, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

nice comfortable room, good bed and an excellent breakfast, good bar with friendly staff and a great location.Not a bad wee stop of point with some nice scenery and activities within easy distance of the hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeorgeMontrose, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, glad my staff looked after you as expected. Delighted you had a comforable stay, hope you will use The George again when travelling on the East Coast. More 

Rhynie, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

This review specifically focuses on the restaurant / bar of The George Hotel. I attended The George Hotel with my family for an evening meal in the bar area. Although the set up causes the tables to be a little cramped, the bar areas is nice and the staff are friendly. The menu has a variety of choices, one of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeorgeMontrose, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review

I do apologise for this very late response, not very good on the technology side but I am learning! I have owned The George for 26 years, just love it! I am a sole trader with a fantastic staff, we work as a team. For me working here is a great pleasure, despite my 69 years! We pride ourselves on... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities