We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The George Hotel

22 George Street, Montrose DD10 8EW, Scotland
The George Hotel

89 reviews from our community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    23
    33
    13
    12
    8
See reviews for
17
25
4
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (89)
  • Mar-May only
    (27)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (24)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (24)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My family held a 90th birthday meal here for our dear old mother. We booked about six weeks in advance and ended up with about 35 guests. Contact throughout the lead up was excellent. On the day, the room was looking lovely. On the evening, nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Despite us ordering different meals, the waitresses... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeorgeMontrose, Receptionist at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review and your kind words about our hotel and our staff. It is fantastic to hear! All of the staff in the hotel work greatly as a TEAM (Together Everyone Achieves More). We will always try our best to meet the needs and requirements of all of our customers. We are a family run... More 

warrington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Family of 4 stayed here whilst visiting us. Great room, although up lots of stairs. Friendly staff, good food, maybe could have warned about music festival that weekend. Noise from nearby pub went on quite late, not ideal with children. Would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeorgeMontrose, Receptionist at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I do apologise about the noise and busyness during the weekend that you stayed. As it was the Montrose Music Festival we were very busy and did assume that everyone was there for the Festival. However, in future we will now be sure to check that families staying with children over this period are aware... More 

Scotland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here during the Montrose Music Festival. Was surprised to get a room pretty last minute so wasn't expecting much. It was a lovely surprise then when the room we had along with the hotel was much better than our expectations. Staff were very friendly and helpful especially the breakfast service staff (one girl) who couldn't have been more pleasant,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeorgeMontrose, Receptionist at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review and I'm glad you had a very pleasant and welcome stay with us. It is great to hear our staff are meeting the high standards we expect them to give, even if it is a Sunday morning! Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you back soon. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015 via mobile

Have been here for lunch a few times now & have never been disappointed. Service is really good & food is really good. Cannot speak for desserts as have never managed one thanks to the very generous portions.one of our favourite places for lunch.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeorgeMontrose, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, it is good to see the staff are meeting the standards expected of them. We aim to ensure a consistant high standard, you should maybe go for a small portion with a starter to allow yourself a sweet as I can guarentee you will not be disappointed. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015

Lovely food service a little slow, received not very much toast for a night tea never got any pots of tea, and you only get scones or ice cream or a pudding not a choice of cakes which I prefer but they were Lovely ..... Would recommend a visit though

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeorgeMontrose, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

thank you for the review, I will ensure that the staff do make sure they offer the tea or coffee as this should be done at the preference of the customer, whether with the meal or after and topped up if required. We do not offer cakes as we do not have a consistant number of hight teas due to... More 

Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

Stayed here for one night for a wedding. We received a nice welcome at reception and were checked in quickly. We were lucky enough to be allocated one of the recently refurbished rooms and it was very nice, modern and clean. Unfortunately I can't comment on breakfast as we missed it :( but others in our party said it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeorgeMontrose, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, we try to ensure all our rooms are kept in a good condition, all our bathrooms have recently been upgraded to keep us improving the comfort of the guests and ensuring their comfort. More 

Scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2015

I stayed here for two nights. On arrival I was given a lecture about leaving keys at reception before getting my key. I was told there was free wifi throughout, but could only get it on the stairs. I told the reception staff this, they tried resetting it but to no avail. The TV only had a few channels as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GeorgeMontrose, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your points raised, I can only apologise that you felt you were given a lecture on your arrival, the reception staff are informed to give the customer all the relevant information on arrival, but in a professional way which was not done appropriatley or well in this circumstance. With regards to the Wi-fi, due to the building,... More 

Travelers are raving about these Montrose hotels

Littlehampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015 via mobile

As a fairly small and unassuming building on the corner of the street, my expectations as I entered The George were as an average B&B. 'This will be adequate' I thought, as I arrived. Well I must say, I was more than pleasantly surprised to find the place completely exceeded my expectations on every front. My room was of a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeorgeMontrose, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, it has been said before that the exterior of the hotel does not give the client the impression of the inside, it is very mis-leading, we have 25 bedrooms, all different shapes and sizes to fit in with the building restrictions, however once insde a warm and friendly greeting is guarenteed. More 

Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

Great little hotel. Eaten there on many occasions and never been disappointed, quality no nonsense food and real ale to wash it down with, I really like their burgers not something I would normally go for but remember the first time we visited the hotel seeing someones meal being brought out, that was it for me, delicious. Well done

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeorgeMontrose, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, it is good to know that the food is to the consistant level we expect it to be at all times, altough we have a team of chefs it is the consistancy and value that is required. More 

A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015

I got put up in the George hotel, I arrived late, too late for food, due to delayed flight, but Gavin kindly made me a sandwich. The staff were helpful throughout. I feel like a few improvements with room 3 could be done, like a coat hook, or a towel rail in the bathroom. Otherwise I was very impressed with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeorgeMontrose, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments about The George, on your return, if you are given Room 3 you will find a towel rail in the bathroom, a big thank you for pointing this out. Delighted you were fed, Gavin is a good guy. We pride ourselves on our food, everything is made to order, my staff work as... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities