We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel

The Links, Carnoustie DD7 7JE, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel
Rate this Hotel

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    248
    126
    79
    37
See reviews for
105
288
14
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (647)
  • Mar-May only
    (165)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (145)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (163)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (174)
All months
Letham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

It is not the hotel that I am rating but the restaurant. A delicious hot and cold buffet lunch and attentive staff in very pleasant surroundings - what more can you ask for? I can't comment on value as I was at a conference.

Was this review helpful? Yes
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

a great value Hotel,we expected to pay more for it ! and good value. good food in the bar, warm cosy rooms and friendly staff. a good base for touring around, walking and of course the Golf course(s).

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Larbert, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Visited the hotel for a 2 night short break with my partner and baby. We were given a room on the third floor facing the golf course. After getting to the room there was no travel cot for our baby (although asked for) and there was a major draft coming into the room at various points of the window ledge... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Really disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that we clearly failed to meet your expectations on this occasion. More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We chose to stay here in March 2015 on a golf stay and play package, to be honest after reading some of the previous reviews on trip advisor I was a little bit apprehensive about staying at the hotel, but much to my satisfaction the hotel turned out to be fantastic and a memorable experience. We stayed on the second... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, delighted you enjoyed your stay. More 

Lanark, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for the weekend Friday to Sunday. Accommodation fine with friendly and helpful staff. Decided on a bar meal Friday night, that was a big mistake. Pastry on the steak pie like a frisbie, one touch from a fork and it shattered into many dry flakes. The meat was ok in its watery gravy. Roasted veg consisted of 5 limp... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and review which we note & appreciate. More 

Scotland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We took advantage of a special offer and, for the price, thought it excellent value for money. We made use of the pool and spa facilities and found the staff and hotel very pleasant although some of the room furnishings were a little tired e.g. bashed in lampshade made for a poor first impression and would have been an easy... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review

We note your comments and appreciate your review. More 

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at the hotel this week while taking part in an event in Forfar. The hotel was nice and clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. The twin room I was staying in had a nice view over one of the courses and was as well equipped as you would expect. The function laid on at the hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and comments which we note. More 

2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Attended a tourism event today . Heard all about the industry standards and providence of food local suppliers etc. How disappointed was I to then go for the lunch. No labels on the food dishes and the pastry on the miniature vegetable pies was awful,only partially cooked. I was not the only person to comment. However I handed my plate... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, I must admit to being disappointed you couldn't take the time to discuss any issues with me when you were here. There were menus in all the tables whcih explained what the buffet items were, and I know that you were offered an alternative to the pie which you didn't like. If you are going... More 

2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Rooms facing the golf course extremely noisy when the wind blows from that direction. Rather tired decor. Friendly staff. Food poor to average. Excellent car parking space. Prompt attractive elevators. Suites huge on first floor with balcony facing the course.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and comments More 

Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is rather tired and the food very disappointing.. The staff however are very obliging and helpful. The room with sea view was very noisy as the wind whistled by. When the loo was flushed there was a strange howl from the pipes.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and review. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

111 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (100)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question