We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel

4.0 of 5 The Links, Carnoustie DD7 7JE, Scotland
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    244
    118
    75
    37
See reviews for
103
283
14
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (629)
  • Mar-May only
    (146)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (145)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (164)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (174)
All months
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Just returned from weekend in hotel. Whilst I must agree with other reviewers insomuch the decor, carpets and upholstery are a bit tired and could do with a refresh, I cannot fault the service. From the moment of arrival at checking in, in the bar, restaurant at dinner and breakfast the staff were always polite and helpful and most welcoming.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My partner took me for a romantic weekend over valentines. The female changing room was filthy, dirty towels lying everywhere . The spa pool was not very warm and steam room had hardly any steam & the sauna was out of order . This was disappointing as it was main reason we choose this hotel. You can't get a proper... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Disappointed that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion but hope we can welcome you back another time. More 

Sanquhar scotland
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After recently visiting Trump Turnberry I thought another of the British Open Golf Championship Hotels would be an ideal birthday present for my wife and myself as we both have birthdays close together. A four star rating from the AA and Scottish Tourist Board should indicate a hotel of a decent standing but with this one its not the case.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry we didn'y match the expectations of your visit. We do not, and never have aligned ourselves in terms of product or expectations with Trump Turnberry, and I would be surprised if the rates you paid were similar which might have highlighted that fact to you. Important to compare like with like. More 

Alford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel, despite other reviews which made us nervous! We found the staff friendly - especially the front desk girl and the waiting staff at breakfast. We didn't have dinner here but found breakfast good. We had a drink in the bar at night while the kids played happily beside us in the friendly atmosphere.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments, much appreciated. More 

St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We got an itison deal which was lunch, use of facilities and 2 treatments: facial abs back neck and shoulder massage. We arrived in the morning to take advantage of the leisure facilities first. Very surprised in Carnoustie that the hotel isn't signposted.... We used sat nav and followed signs to golf course. The hotel is huge upon arrival, AA... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comprehensive review. I note your comments and hope to see you back again. More 

Lundin Links, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited here with friends as a golf treat, which we do every year at different locations. The golf hotel is an imposing building from the outside. Lovely big wood-clad foyer inside. Check in was smooth and receptionist was informative and professional. We had not been able to book a meal in the hotel, despite trying to book one weeks... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is always disappointing when we are unable to accommodate all requests for spa treatments, but like a dentist or hairdresser we only have so many appointment spaces and when they are gone - they are gone. Our policy is always to advise clients if a twin treatment room is to be used and I... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed in this large hotel over 2 week ends as I was working close by. The hotel is very large and reception area very welcoming bar and restaurant area also appealing the rooms I was in was ok and served there purpose although there is no complimentary water in the rooms to make tea or coffee staff were pleasant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Hoefully you will stay with us in the future and please note that our tap water is perfectly safe to use for tea & coffee making in the bedrooms. Thanks again. More 

East Kilbride
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I bought an Itison deal for this hotel before I had checked Tripadvisor, something I don't normally do. Was a bit apprehensive but on arrival, the Receptionist was very effecient with all the paperwork and allocated us a room on the 2nd floor facing the golf course. The view was amazing and at first glance the room looked slightly tired.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments which we note. Hope to welcome you back again. More 

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived to a tired building, no atmosphere, unsociable and disinterested staff. Headed to our room which was again tired but in desperate need of a clean and an uplift. Dinner was ok, the staff were all helpful and the food appeared ok. I would say that the prices don't reflect the quality. Unfortunately through the night my partner became... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry your partner took ill and I hope they are feeling better. If you wnat to reschedule you spa treatments which you chose not to use, we will be very happy to oblige, just ask. More 

consett
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Me and my friend stayed at this hotel not for a golfing break but a fishing break. Got a great deal on 3 nights bed and breakfast on twin room. Comfortable beds. Very spacious with great views and even table with two chairs. Downside was a rather small Scottish cooked breakfast but as both me and my mate are big... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments, delighted you enjoyed your stay. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel

Address: The Links, Carnoustie DD7 7JE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Carnoustie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carnoustie Hotel Course
Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel Scotland

108 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (97)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay