We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 62 Aberdeen hotels

Skene House Holburn

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Union Grove, Aberdeen AB10 6SY, Scotland
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Weekend Rates from £69
Save Saved
You added Skene House Holburn to your Saves list
Skene House Holburn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
96%
Ranked #2 of 62 hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Eystein H G Oslo, Norway
Write a Review

156 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    31
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
27
63
9
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked a suite. Turns out to be an apartment. Love it. -Reception is open 24 hours, so if there's anything, you can either call them or go to the reception and ask them, if you need help. -Very good service. -What ever you need, is in walking distance from the hotel: Pubs, bars, restaurants, food stores, starbucks, subway etc etc... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SusanAitken, Manager at Skene House Holburn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for affording the time to complete a review on your recent stay with us. We really appreciate when feedback is given from our guests, as this is one of our most effective methods in maintaining our high standard of hospitality and guest service. It was also really nice to read your comments about our staff. They... More

Ayr
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

This visit was a first time at a Skene House and we were very impressed. Secure parking is probably a higher priority in a city centre location and this did not disappoint. The suite itself consisted of living room, double bedroom, kitchen and bathroom. It was clean, well furnished and had every facility you are likely to need. With these... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SusanAitken, Manager at Skene House Holburn, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at Skene House Holburn and for taking the time to post a review. It’s always a pleasure to receive such a fantastic review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were pleased with our Breakfast selection. It was also really nice to read your comments about... More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Stayed mid January after spending a couple of weeks in Scotland. Compared to other accommodation on this trip we were not impressed. Just not to our taste, bit old fashioned and not very clean. I thought hotel accommodation would be more modern in all Aberdeen hotels.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SusanAitken, Manager at Skene House Holburn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Skene House Holburn after your stay with us. I was very sorry to read that you were disappointed with your stay and I apologise that we were not able to provide what you were looking for. The feedback we receive from the majority of our guests is normally positive so... More

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

I travel to Aberdeen regular for business and have tried many places. This one is just the best. Sufficient space and really service minded staff. Well located in the centre of town and a goo breakfast with fresh fruit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SusanAitken, Manager at Skene House Holburn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review and also for choosing to stay at Skene House Holburn. It is lovely to read that you had a great stay and that out of all the hotels in Aberdeen that you have stayed in, we are the best. The staff will be delighted to hear this. We... More

Perthshire, Scotland
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
48 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights recently at Skene House, Holborn in Aberdeen. It was just great! We had a 2 bedroom suite with living room, kitchen & bathroom. It was great having space to relax. There's a dining table & chairs in the living area. The kitchen has a hob, microwave etc. Everything you could need if you wanted to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SusanAitken, Manager at Skene House Holburn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent review, after your stay at Skene House Holburn. It’s always a pleasure to receive such a fantastic review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff looked after you in the way that Skene House is reputed for. I am sure it was also a pleasure for the staff... More

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I often stay at Skene Apartments when visiting Aberdeen. They never fail to provide clean and comfortable accommodation and the prices are reasonable, particularly at weekends. My latest stay was at the Holburn apartments, In a lovely one bed apartment on the top floor. Everything was perfect, the location is great for easy access to Union St and the spacious... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SusanAitken, Manager at Skene House Holburn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read that you always find our suites clean and comfortable whenever you stay. Like all major Hotels we work with a ‘Best Available Rate’ system which allows us to offer very reasonable prices. Once again thank you for... More

Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I stayed here when visiting my brother who lives in Aberdeen. The room was very large and resembled a flat. It felt like it was a little house. The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. There was 4 of us the room, but it was not cramped at all! We had a complimentary drink which was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SusanAitken, Manager at Skene House Holburn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us this lovely review. Your feedback is much appreciated. I was delighted to read that you found your suite clean and comfortable and that you all enjoyed your complementary drink. We look forward to welcoming you back to Skene House Holburn in the near future. Kind Regards Susan Aitken –... More

Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

A very nice hotel, or hotel flats with kitchen. Got a junior suite that can easily fit 3 persons. Nice kitchen with all utilities, so can cook your own food or break fast. Nice living room, clean and fine bath and a nice bedroom. In all a very nice surprice, and located almost downtown.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SusanAitken, Manager at Skene House Holburn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on Trip Advisor. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found your suite very comfortable, well-equipped and clean. I am sure you will agree staying in a suite is much more comfortable than staying in a hotel room, you really have the best... More

Friockheim,Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Lovely clean apartments, centrally located ideal for shopping, dining out, entertainment. The car-parking is a bonus. The apartments are well equipped more than you would expect, washing machine, dish washer and all the usual kitchen essentials. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment which was quite spacious, warm, clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was in the main hotel area full... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SusanAitken, Manager at Skene House Holburn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. We very much appreciate that you have taken the time to review Skene House Holburn. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We value your feedback and appreciate that you took the time to share it with us all. We hope it won’t be too long before you return. Kind... More

England
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I enjoyed our stay at Skene House/Holburn as it was ideally situated and had its own parking facilities. We had one of the new re-furbished suites and had no complaints. It was clean, spacious and suited our needs. Two mini local supermarkets are situated just around the corner and so eating in for one evening was easy. The kitchen was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SusanAitken, Manager at Skene House Holburn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review, we really value your nice comments. We were delighted to read your exceptional comments in regards to the staff that provided you with the excellent customer service, our staff work hard and take great pride in their high levels of customer care. They genuinely enjoy making sure our guests enjoy their time... More

Been to Skene House Holburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skene House Holburn

Also Known As:
Skene Hotel Aberdeen
Skene Hotel Holburn
Skene House Holburn Aberdeen, Scotland
Address: 6 Union Grove, Aberdeen AB10 6SY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#3 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#3 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Skene House Holburn 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Skene House Holburn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skene House Holburn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.