We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 61 Aberdeen hotels

Skene House Holburn

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Union Grove, Aberdeen AB10 6SY, Scotland
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Skene House Holburn to your Saves list
Skene House Holburn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
96%
Ranked #3 of 61 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Rachel_Perth_Aus Perth, Australia
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    39
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
30
70
9
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment for four nights with our 8 month old daughter. The staff on arrival were very friendly and helpful, and continued to be throughout our stay. Without being asked, the staff had arranged for a high chair and extra towels to be placed in our apartment for our baby. Although a ground floor apartment,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Taipei, Taiwan
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Reception有前後門的出入口,雖然大門面向Union Grove,但若是開車過來,停車場的入口則是在飯店的後面Albyn Lane走到盡頭的位置。可以在那裏按對講機進入。 飯店是以整排的四樓公寓方式經營,每樓有兩戶各自的空間。我們訂的房間是Executive 1-Bedroom Suite,但其實給我們的是兩房兩廳的精緻公寓,所有生活所需的設備,都非常齊全、整潔而且方便使用,包含一個完整配備的廚房,連傳真、洗衣機都可以使用。服務人員都非常友善熱心,Reception旁的小房間有齊全的各種飲料,歐陸式早餐的蔬果麵包非常新鮮美味,還可以加購熱食。雖然不是位在最熱鬧的中心區域,但是步行前往各景點或搭公車都很方便。這次使用Booking.com訂房,覺得本飯店Value Deal 的價格 C/P值超高~ I would especially like to thank the hotel manager. Your thoughtful and considerate present in all the high quality details of the arrangements for the guests. Thank you! I I will definitely come back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
SusanAitken, Manager at Skene House Holburn, responded to this review
Google Translation

尊敬的舒子。感謝您抽出寶貴的時間來寫。 ... More

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Stayed here for one night with my partner having stayed at another Skene House apartment previously. It was nice and clean, with good facilities. The apartment was slightly smaller than the other we had stayed in, but did take anything away from it. Would stay again for sure. A short walk into the city centre from here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SusanAitken, Manager at Skene House Holburn, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Skene House Holburn for your recent visit to Aberdeen and taking the time to write such a lovely review afterwards. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the apartments were nice and clean. Our Housekeeping department will be delighted that you valued the cleanliness of your suite. They all... More

Inverness, Scotland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

The room we had was excellent value for money ideally located in the centre of Aberdeen. The hotel is at the west side of union street in a residential area. The room we had included kitchen, bathroom, living room a double bedroom unbelievable value. There is secure on site parking also. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SusanAitken, Manager at Skene House Holburn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Skene House Holburn. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the comfort of Skene House. I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Susan Aitken Manager – Skene House Holburn More

San Mateo, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

I really wanted to like this spot--they have a lovely breakfast and pre-dinner drinks at the bar, but our room was loud from the bars across the street from 10 pm until the late night revelers left singing loudly at 2 am and the insanely loud birds who started chirping at 4 am, it was bright because they have very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SusanAitken, Manager at Skene House Holburn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for Skene House Holburn. I am extremely sorry that you did not have an enjoyable stay. I can only apologise that the noise from the local bars kept you awake most of the night. 90% of our bedrooms are located at the back of the building and they do not... More

Bangor Co Down
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Just returned from a 3 night stay. Suite was spotless and maid came every day. We stayed in 611 on the 1st floor - really handy to reception, breakfast room etc. My only complaint was the very abrupt n frankly quite rude night porter locked the honour bar at 11pm so as I was travelling with an 8 yr old... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SusanAitken, Manager at Skene House Holburn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read that you found the suite you were allocated spotless and I will pass these comments to our housekeeping team. However I was disappointed to read that one of our Night Porters was abrupt and rude to you. I am... More

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Looking for a hotel close to the center instead of along the Dee I booked this place for a short business trip. Very pleasant surprise. Small living room, larger and smaller bedroom, small but complete bathroom and a fully equipped kitchen (microwave, cooker with oven, fridge, freezer, washing machine and dishwasher, table for 4). Everything very clean. Good bed, slept... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SusanAitken, Manager at Skene House Holburn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on Trip Advisor. I was very happy to read that you found the suite comfortable, well equipped and very clean. Our staff members are always very pleased to read positive reviews and I will be sure to pass on your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.... More

Hartley Wintney, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Stayed in a two bedroom apartment. Rooms were spacious and comfortable. Bathroom had a good shower and kitchen was very well equipped. Everything was clean and well maintained throughout. Complementary drink at the bar was very welcome. The included buffet breakfast was also excellent. And all of this is cheaper than two hotel rooms will ever be in Aberdeen.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SusanAitken, Manager at Skene House Holburn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us this wonderful review. It was excellent to read that you enjoyed our buffet breakfast and that you found everything to be clean and well maintained. I’m glad you enjoyed your complementary drink from our honour bar; we do believe that the ‘small touches’ can make a big difference when staying at a hotel. Hopefully we... More

flower83
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

All I spent the evening saying was how amazing value this place was! Suite was immaculately clean, breakfast was delicious, location was perfect and the secure parking was a huge bonus. Staff were helpful and the wee extras like the complimentary drinks were perfect. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Fabulous.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SusanAitken, Manager at Skene House Holburn, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at Skene House Holburn and for taking the time to post a review. It’s always a pleasure to receive such a fantastic review. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Skene House Holburn. We are glad you liked our continental breakfast buffet and are delighted about your comment regarding the... More

Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights after a long trip. Perfect place - location is ideal to all the shops and bars, the staff were wonderful, the property itself is immaculately maintained, the space and layout is perfect - everything in the right place, great eye for detail on the design and finish, unique, homely, welcoming - even has its own car... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SusanAitken, Manager at Skene House Holburn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review after your recent trip to Aberdeen and Skene House Holburn It was such a pleasure to read all your wonderful comments. We pride ourselves on the personal touch and we genuinely enjoy getting to know our guests and making sure they have a pleasant stay. We hope that we can... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Skene House Holburn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Skene House Holburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skene House Holburn

Address: 6 Union Grove, Aberdeen AB10 6SY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Skene House Holburn 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Skene House Holburn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skene Hotel Aberdeen
Skene Hotel Holburn
Skene House Holburn Aberdeen, Scotland

99 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
3:17
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (51)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Aberdeen with
any amenities