We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 61 Aberdeen hotels

Skene House Holburn

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Union Grove, Aberdeen AB10 6SY, Scotland
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Weekend Rates from £69
Save Saved
You added Skene House Holburn to your Saves list
Skene House Holburn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
95%
Ranked #3 of 61 hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Tricia40 Bangor Co Down
  • Overview
  • Reviews (172)
  • Photos (91)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (40)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    127
    36
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
29
68
9
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor Co Down
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned from a 3 night stay. Suite was spotless and maid came every day. We stayed in 611 on the 1st floor - really handy to reception, breakfast room etc. My only complaint was the very abrupt n frankly quite rude night porter locked the honour bar at 11pm so as I was travelling with an 8 yr old... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SusanAitken, Manager at Skene House Holburn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read that you found the suite you were allocated spotless and I will pass these comments to our housekeeping team. However I was disappointed to read that one of our Night Porters was abrupt and rude to you. I am... More

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Looking for a hotel close to the center instead of along the Dee I booked this place for a short business trip. Very pleasant surprise. Small living room, larger and smaller bedroom, small but complete bathroom and a fully equipped kitchen (microwave, cooker with oven, fridge, freezer, washing machine and dishwasher, table for 4). Everything very clean. Good bed, slept... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SusanAitken, Manager at Skene House Holburn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on Trip Advisor. I was very happy to read that you found the suite comfortable, well equipped and very clean. Our staff members are always very pleased to read positive reviews and I will be sure to pass on your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.... More

Hartley Wintney, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Stayed in a two bedroom apartment. Rooms were spacious and comfortable. Bathroom had a good shower and kitchen was very well equipped. Everything was clean and well maintained throughout. Complementary drink at the bar was very welcome. The included buffet breakfast was also excellent. And all of this is cheaper than two hotel rooms will ever be in Aberdeen.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SusanAitken, Manager at Skene House Holburn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us this wonderful review. It was excellent to read that you enjoyed our buffet breakfast and that you found everything to be clean and well maintained. I’m glad you enjoyed your complementary drink from our honour bar; we do believe that the ‘small touches’ can make a big difference when staying at a hotel. Hopefully we... More

flower83
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

All I spent the evening saying was how amazing value this place was! Suite was immaculately clean, breakfast was delicious, location was perfect and the secure parking was a huge bonus. Staff were helpful and the wee extras like the complimentary drinks were perfect. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Fabulous.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SusanAitken, Manager at Skene House Holburn, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at Skene House Holburn and for taking the time to post a review. It’s always a pleasure to receive such a fantastic review. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Skene House Holburn. We are glad you liked our continental breakfast buffet and are delighted about your comment regarding the... More

Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights after a long trip. Perfect place - location is ideal to all the shops and bars, the staff were wonderful, the property itself is immaculately maintained, the space and layout is perfect - everything in the right place, great eye for detail on the design and finish, unique, homely, welcoming - even has its own car... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SusanAitken, Manager at Skene House Holburn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review after your recent trip to Aberdeen and Skene House Holburn It was such a pleasure to read all your wonderful comments. We pride ourselves on the personal touch and we genuinely enjoy getting to know our guests and making sure they have a pleasant stay. We hope that we can... More

Ayr UK
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

A one night stay only, but it will certainly not be our last. Arrival and check in was easy and the staff friendly and helpful. Free car parking a large plus, and the location was excellent, both for the little bit of business I had to carry out, and the shopping with my wife and restaurants. Breakfast the next morning... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SusanAitken, Manager at Skene House Holburn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. We very much appreciate that you have taken the time to review Skene House Holburn. It’s great to see our guests so happy that they enjoy sharing their experiences with others. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the breakfast we provided to be first... More

Scotland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Stayed at Skene House Holburn for a few nights, not really what we expected. Lots of street noise and noise from early morning from staff smoking outside. Breakfast was adequate but nothing special. Housekeeping a bit haphazard. More 3 star than 4.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SusanAitken, Manager at Skene House Holburn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for reviewing your stay at Skene House Holburn on Trip Advisor. I am obviously very disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us. As you will see from other reviewers on Trip Advisor we receive extremely favourable reviews which keep us at the top of the rankings. Again, I am sorry that we did... More

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

My husband and I stayed here as we had a night out in Aberdeen. Accommodation was immaculate and we only wished we were able to stay longer to get the full use of the apartment. Free parking and breakfast included. This is our second stay at skene holburn and we look forward to returning in the near future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SusanAitken, Manager at Skene House Holburn, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at Skene House Holurn and for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. It is always a pleasure to read that guests have returned from another enjoyable stay with us and taken the time to leave a review. I am pleased to read that you found the suite you were allocated immaculate... More

Essex
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We had a trip to Aberdeen for 3 nights, our party consisted of myself, my husband and mother, and an apartment seemed the ideal option I had requested a low room as stairs can be a bit of a problem. At check in we were informed that we had been upgraded in order to accomodate our request! The apartment was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SusanAitken, Manager at Skene House Holburn, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for your lovely review and kind comments. I was delighted to read that you found your suite to be cleaned to a high standard and that you enjoyed your stay with us. I’m glad that our staff looked after you in the way that Skene House is reputed for. I’m sure it was also... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Although it is well-located for the "top" end of Union Street, I hadn't tried this particular Skene House before. You get essentially the same deal as at the other Skene Houses - a traditional style Aberdeen apartment. Except mine, round the corner into Holburn Street, was on a much more grand scale than the typical tenement flat. 3 metre high... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SusanAitken, Manager at Skene House Holburn, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at Skene House Holburn and for taking the time to post a review We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We value your feedback and appreciate that you took the time to share it with us all. We hope it won’t be too long before you return. Kind regards Susan... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Skene House Holburn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Skene House Holburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skene House Holburn

Address: 6 Union Grove, Aberdeen AB10 6SY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Skene House Holburn 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Skene House Holburn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skene Hotel Aberdeen
Skene Hotel Holburn
Skene House Holburn Aberdeen, Scotland

91 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
3:17
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (50)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (9)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#2 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen #3 Family Hotel in Aberdeen #3 Business Hotel in Aberdeen #3 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
39

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer