We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Atholl Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
54 King's Gate, Aberdeen AB15 4YN, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Atholl Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Atholl Hotel
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    81
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
31
75
25
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (237)
  • Mar-May only
    (57)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (72)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (71)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (37)
All months
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great stay for business. Room and hotel throughout was immaculate. Large modern bathroom. Food very good with a wide choice and cooked breakfast of your choice freshly made and not lying under a hot plate. Would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AthollHotelAberdeen, Front of House Manager at Atholl Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased that you were satisfied with your stay with us. Breakfast is superb at the Atholl and is always cooked to order. This is the only way to do it correctly. We thank you again and look forward to welcoming you back to the Atholl in the near future. Regards Gaynor Priest More 

norwich
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed for several nights recently. Centrally placed hotel. Welcoming staff. Quiet well appointed room of good size with decent sound proofing. Decent sized bath. One had to negotiate an up and then down flight of stairs to get from reception to the room (this obviously repeated when going in the other direction - a poor planning decision here I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AthollHotelAberdeen, Front of House Manager at Atholl Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. I am glad that you found the rooms of good size, a quiet environment and with modern bathroom facilities. We are a centrally located hotel which can be easily reached from any approach into Aberdeen. Also very useful is the large free car parking at... More 

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had an excellent dinner and a wonderful room in the lovely Atholl Hotel in Aberdeen. The city is beautiful with its stone buildings and waterfront. This hotel was a really nice find, and, it was our favorite on our Scotland adventure. The host of the restaurant on a busy Friday evening, gave us wonderful service and was very accommodating.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AthollHotelAberdeen, Front of House Manager at Atholl Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, I am very lucky to work with such a great team who are dedicated to ensuring that customers enjoy the full Atholl experience. Thank you also for your kind comments regarding the host of our restaurant. I will pass your comments on. We take great pride in looking after our guests and I am... More 

Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here for a course i was doing in aberdeen and found the rooms a bit dated and very expensive. I wouldn't say it was a 4 star, more like a 3 star. They had a cheek to charge an extra £10 for my girlfriend staying even though she never had breakfast. Lots better hotels for less money.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AthollHotelAberdeen, Front of House Manager at Atholl Hotel, responded to this review

Here at the Atholl we take all comments on board both positive and negative. Feedback is beneficial to us as here we strive to meet our guest’s expectations and are disappointed when this is not met. I am disappointed to learn that you were let done by the finish of the room and I am also disappointed that you did... More 

Perth
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

We stayed here last weekend for our second visit to this Hotel having stayed here a couple years ago. The reception staff were all excellent and could not welcome us enough. Their is a lift in the Hotel which is suitable for Disabled people access to the Bedrooms upstairs. We stayed in room 20 and it was clean spacious and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AthollHotelAberdeen, Front of House Manager at Atholl Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us. Our lift has just been newly installed this year and will get used greatly. All of our staff take pride in their work and they will be delighted by your comments, I will ensure to pass these onto all the team. We look forward to... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015 via mobile

i went here for my grandmas 90th birthday party. We had a lovely time, the wait staff were very cheery and attentive. The function room was bright and spacious for 25 guests! We also stayed in one of the room with was very nice and clean. I left my make up bag and when I phoned to ask about it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AthollHotelAberdeen, Front of House Manager at Atholl Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Catherine, I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us and especially for your grandma’s 90th birthday party. The team get great pleasure from knowing that they made a difference to your stay. Your make up bag is on its way. Hope to welcome you back soon. Regards, Gaynor Priest More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

We turned up as a family of five knowing they were full, however they accommodated us and found us a table quickly. Service was fast and efficient which was exactly what we were after. Food is pretty decent, we all went for burgers and they were served quickly and were tasty, only criticism really is the horrible ketchup - spend... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AthollHotelAberdeen, Front of House Manager at Atholl Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Atholl. We do our absolute best to accommodate all guests, even on very busy days and I am delighted that your family managed to get a table. I am happy to read that you all enjoyed our homemade burgers. Comment noted on ketchup. We look forward to welcoming... More 

aberdeen
Top Contributor
283 reviews 283 reviews
66 hotel reviews
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015 via mobile

A family Sunday lunch to celebrate a birthday, you can never go wrong in choosing the Athol Hotel. The restaurant has been refurbished since our last visit and what a good job that has been done in both maintaining the style but at the same time giving it a fresh feel. A number of changes had been made to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AthollHotelAberdeen, Front of House Manager at Atholl Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are absolutely delighted to read that we made a family Sunday lunch and also a birthday enjoyable for you all. Our new restaurant is lovely and liked by many new and old customers. Atholl favourites will always remain on the menu as they are so popular. Look out for our new menu from... More 

Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015 via mobile

Had a family dinner at the Atholl Hotel on Wednesday evening. There is a large car park at the back of the hotel which makes it very convenient to visit. First impressions were good as the restaurant was busy, a lovely atmosphere and family feel. Waiting staff gave great service and were friendly and helpful. The menu was varied with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AthollHotelAberdeen, Front of House Manager at Atholl Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Karen, It is always fantastic when I read that people have enjoyed a family dinner together with us at the Atholl. All of our staff take great pride in their work and they will be delighted by your comments. We like our guests to feel at home. Therefore your feedback is greatly appreciated and helps us to maintain the... More 

Cheadle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

Absoultely worn out when I arrived at the hotel. They were superb every single member of staff couldn't do enough. i was leaving early next morning and they arranged a cooked breakfast the chef came in earlier; how wonderful is that? I tell you I was so impressed by these wonderful professional people. Fantasic evening meal! I would reccommend this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AthollHotelAberdeen, Front of House Manager at Atholl Hotel, responded to this review

I appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience at The Atholl Hotel, we greatly value hearing all our guest’s feedback. I am thrilled to read your very complimentary review and am happy that you enjoyed your complete stay with us. All of our staff take great pride in their work and they will be delighted by... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay