We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Skene House Whitehall

4.0 of 5 2 Whitehall Place, Aberdeen AB25 2NX, Scotland
Hotel website
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Skene House Whitehall
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Skene House Whitehall
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    73
    20
    1
    0
See reviews for
99
175
20
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (454)
  • Mar-May only
    (112)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (122)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (116)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (104)
All months
Warrenpoint N. Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This was our third stay at Skene House. It is a great base for visiting our children at Aberdeen university. The apartments have a sitting room which is great for sitting around and chatting. Love the seaweed toiletries. Will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2whitehall, Operations Assistant Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. It is wonderful to read that you enjoy staying with us at Skene House Whitehall and will definitely be back again in the future. I’m glad that you love the toiletries that we use in the suites. We try to use local products throughout our suites and this particular product is made by a... More 

Milngavie, Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was our third visit to Skene House, our second to Whitehall. We visit Aberdeen regularly as our daughter is a student there. First thing to say is that it is very friendly; Edyta at reception is very helpful both in person and in emails. Both times at Whitehall we have been upgraded to a two-bedroom suite. The suites are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2whitehall, Operations Assistant Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us this lovely review on Trip Advisor. Your feedback is important to us and we were delighted to read that our staff are always friendly and helpful when you stay with us. I will pass on your review to Edyta and all the staff and I am sure they will... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I really enjoyed the stay here. The room was much larger than I expected, and it was very clean. We were asked why we were visiting when we checked in, and replied it was our first night of our honeymoon. I hadn't asked for anything special, or let them know beforehand, so I was very surprised when the staff knocked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2whitehall, Assistant Operations Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review on Trip Advisor. It’s excellent to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were pleased with your suite and the breakfast we offer. It’s wonderful to read that you would not hesitate to stay with us again and I hope you had a... More 

Fife Keith, null, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Another fantastic stay. Wish we had known about Skene Whitehall years ago. Having your own apartment is so much better than one room. Had asked for fleece blankets as staying in February, but really didn't need them as heating was left on. My daughter & I had a 2 bed apartment & we really cant fault it, lovely stay. Breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2whitehall, Assistant Operations Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this lovely review on Trip Advisor. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed another stay with us at Skene House Whitehall and that you are planning to stay with us again in the future. It’s wonderful to hear that you rate our continental breakfast so highly and that you found... More 

Dumfries, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I visit Aberdeen regularly and I've become bored with the monotony of hotel life. Now I've discovered these apartments I'm happy to say I am a convert. We had a spacious one bedroom apartment. The lounge/kitchen/diner are in open plan and everything we needed was there. To be honest, I hadn't expected a freezer and a washing machine but they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2whitehall, Assistant Operations Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on Trip Advisor. It was wonderful to read that you enjoyed the benefits of an apartment in comparison to staying in a hotel bedroom. The extra space and facilities is a lovely advantage that helps you feel more relaxed and at home. Hopefully we will be able to welcome... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Converted apartments as part of a 3 property chain ? Locals will recommend Skene House without reservation. Clean, excellent breakfast and central to most of Aberdeen's downtown sites-to-see by foot, or a short cab ride if weather is uncooperative. An interior court-yard to the hotel's complex is very handy for rental/ leased vehicle parking and included in the room charges.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2whitehall, Assistant Operations Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review

Thank you very much for affording the time to complete a review on your recent stay with us. We really appreciate when feedback is given from our guests, as this is one of our most effective methods in maintaining our high standard of hospitality and guest service. I am very pleased that you were satisfied with the cleanliness of your... More 

Wallingford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have stayed here a number of times and my father-in-law is a regular here. Good place for staying and working, but we also used it as our base before our wedding in 2013. The rooms are not flashy, but they are comfortable and have space to chill out and work if you get one of the apartment style ones... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your very valued review. Yes indeed we are unique with our complimentary continental breakfast and honesty bar! This is probably unheard of these days but we feel it is a nice touch and something which our Guests appreciate. It is always nice to give something back. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us... More 

Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for one night, 10 of us, booked 2 apartments ( 5 in each) very spacious had everything you would need, including fresh milk in fridge. Comfy beds, very clean and well maintained living area. Free wifi. The complementary drink at reception and the continental breakfast made it very good value for money. The staff were all extremely polite and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review

Dear Guests, I hope you enjoyed your night at theTheatre and I am delighted to read your very complimentary review. Yes we are in an ideal location for the City Centre and our spacious appartments are very well equiped and comfortable. I am very disappointed to hear that our Receptionist was abrupt and apologise for this as it is extremely... More 

Insch
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

stay at whitehall all the time , including christmas and new year. When I booked I requested a 3 bedroom suite,which wasnt available but offered a 2 bedroom and told they would supply cot/bed. Our suite had a tiny kitchen 2 small bedrooms, the second being so small the two single beds were pushed together. When I booked in I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. Since your recent stay with us I have liaised with my colleagues who have said that the reason you were given a ground floor suite was because it was on your profile as a preference, so they allocated the suite in "Good Faith". We did not have any other suites on the ground... More 

Croydon
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

Stayed here whilst visiting friends in Aberdeen, much nicer than a hotel room as you have more space. Continental breakfast is included. It can work out cheaper to book direct with Skene House and avoid the comparison sites so check before you book. Also has a free car park.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review

Dear Visitor, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Skene House Whitehall. Yes I agree it is nice to have the space and facilities on hand as well as being great value for money. The Complimentary Continental Breakfast is a big selling point as is the Complimentary first beverage. Car Park is definately a bonus and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Skene House Whitehall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skene House Whitehall

Address: 2 Whitehall Place, Aberdeen AB25 2NX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Skene House Whitehall 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Skene House Whitehall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skene Hotel Aberdeen
Skene House Whitehall Aberdeen, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Business Hotel in Aberdeen

110 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (64)
Viewed
Room/suite (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (46)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay