We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 61 Aberdeen hotels

Skene House Whitehall

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Whitehall Place, Aberdeen AB25 2NX, Scotland
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Weekend rates from £69
Save Saved
You added Skene House Whitehall to your Saves list
Skene House Whitehall
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
96%
Ranked #1 of 61 hotels in Aberdeen
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Sarah R Montrose, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (413)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Photos (91)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (67)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

413 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    333
    65
    14
    1
    0
See reviews for
84
155
17
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montrose, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed at Skene House Whitehall on Saturday 19th July 2014 and we couldn't have had a better stay. The suites are brilliantly equiped, tea and coffee and our own little carton of 'proper' milk! We even had a complimentary drink in the hotel before we headed out and the breakfast was lovely! Would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sunapee, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Was in Aberdeen for two nights in July and stayed at Skene House Whitehall. Got a quiet room at the back on the 1st floor which was clean and spacious. Single and double bedrooms, living room, kitchen and bathroom. Nice soap and shampoo in the small bathroom. Good to have a fridge and stove. Very welcoming front desk and lovely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lossiemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel was extremely roomy and clean. The only problem was the parking lot was really hard to get to. It was convenient to restaurants and the main street in Aberdeen. The staff were very friendly and helpful which also made the stay in Aberdeen fun.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tyrone, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We only stayed two nights but wished we could have stayed more. We had a two bedroom suite with full kitchen, large bathroom, and separate living room. Hotel staff were incredibly nice. Breakfast was very good as well. No complaints!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Orkney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

well where do you start, absolutely excellent from arrival to leaving. Breakfast out of this world, facilities clean, spacious and central. I normally stay at city wharf apartments (which I cannot fault) but I will be using these in future. I stayed on a Wednesday night which is costly but isnt everywhere in Aberdeen mid week. An absolute gem of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely homely and spacious two bedroomed apartment with separate lounge and closed off kitchenette, for the same price as a cramped hotel room! The kitchen was spotless and well equipped, and as there is a table in the living room we chose to eat in rather than try to find a restaurant on a Sunday night (there's a small Sainsbury's... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review

Thank you for affording the time to leave such a lovely review of your recent stay with us. I was pleased to read that you found us a fantastic alternative to traditional hotel accommodation. As you mention it is convenient to have the additional space and the option to cook within your suite instead of going out in the evening,... More

Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here as a family to celebrate our daughters graduation. Arrived early and the manager quickly sorted out a suite for us and offered us toast and pastries for breakfast, as we had been travelling for 8 hours overnight. This allowed a quick cat nap and freshen up before the celebrations. From start to finish every member of staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for choosing Skene House Whitehall and for taking the time to leave a review. We always try to accommodate our guest’s requests where possible and we were pleased to be able to offer you breakfast upon arrival and early access to your suite. Graduation week is always a busy time but I am glad... More

Portrush
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just about to leave Skene House after a 3 day stay here are the pros and cons Pros The staff are excellent, nothing too much trouble, very helpful some of the best hotel staff I have encountered. The apartment I had was very clean. Free Wi Fi Good breakfast Free Parking and good location. Now the cons are down to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us. Our staff pride themselves on providing excellent customer service so they will all be pleased to read that you rated them as some of the best you have encountered. As your review mentions our 2 bedroom suites have only one bathroom, however we have... More

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Cannot find any fault at all at Skene House Whitehall, amazing staff, beautiful suite which has a loving and homely feel, the suite itself was very well equipped with everything you could ever need. The location is amazing, 5 minutes into the City Centre and very easy to find. The staff really made my experience wonderful and the complimentary upgrade... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of Skene House Whitehall. We have a wide range of suites, including spacious duplex suites with three bedrooms and bathrooms and I am delighted that you liked the suite that was chosen for you. As you have mentioned we benefit from an ideal location central yet quiet. We... More

Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Skene house in Whitehall is just a 5 minute walk to Union Street (Aberdeen's main street). There is a small parking lot on site but unfortunately it fills early (it's ok to leave the car at night on the curb). The staff was extremely nice and helpful. We had one of the small apartments (1 bedroom plus living area),... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at Skene House Whitehall and taking the time to leave a review. I was delighted to read that you found our staff helpful and would choose to stay with us again. Being located in traditional Granite buildings, we do not have the option to provide elevators, but as you mentioned we have staff available... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Skene House Whitehall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
Quiet, City Cen...
Show More
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
Restaurant, Bar...
Show More
0.8 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#21 of 61 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 stars 424 reviews
Romantic, Free...
Show More
0.5 mi away
Skene House Holburn
Skene House Holburn
#3 of 61 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 stars 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Romantic...
Show More
3.7 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
City Center, Fr...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#5 of 61 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 stars 480 reviews
Charming, City...
Show More
2.3 mi away
The Marcliffe at Pitfodels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skene House Whitehall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skene House Whitehall

Address: 2 Whitehall Place, Aberdeen AB25 2NX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Skene House Whitehall 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Skene House Whitehall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skene Hotel Aberdeen
Skene House Whitehall Aberdeen, Scotland

91 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (46)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (46)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen #1 Business Hotel in Aberdeen #1 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen #1 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Skene House Whitehall is situated in a quiet residential part of Aberdeen, yet only 5 minutes walk from the city centre, with its own private garden exclusively for guest’ use. The gardens lend a more residential feel to Skene House Whitehall and make this the perfect place for longer-stays or family trips with younger children.Skene House Whitehall’s interiors are easily the most eclectic of the Skene House collection. From the dramatic grandeur of the reception and Grosvenor Lounge which features an honour bar to the cheerily floral breakfast room. Whitehall has HotelSuites ranging from modern penthouse studios to more traditional townhouse apartment living and a selection of family suites.Free on-site parking, free wifi, breakfast restaurant, honour bar (complimentary drink on day of arrival) and guest lounge with complimentary tea, coffee and daily newspapersBreakfast included in price is a deluxe continental breakfast buffet, with cooked to order menu available at a supplement. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
49

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer