We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Thistle Aberdeen City Centre, The Caledonian

4.0 of 5 10-14 Union Terrace, Aberdeen AB10 1WE , Scotland
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thistle Aberdeen City Centre, The Caledonian
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Thistle Aberdeen City Centre, The Caledonian
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    138
    73
    34
    17
See reviews for
29
134
40
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (396)
  • Mar-May only
    (103)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (112)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (96)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (85)
All months
Grangemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed one night after a conference and before meeting friends east of the city. Great location for exploring the city and near to transport links.The room was comfortable and well presented. My room was on the third floor so I wasn't bothered by noise as it was at the back of the building the only down side of this was... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
leinster
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Myself and my now husband stayed in this hotel while he was working in Aberdeen. It is very conveniently located and within the main shopping areas, restaurants and bars. The rooms are very comfortable and have all amenitites you would need. The highlight of our stay was when my husband proposed!! This was one of the happiest times in our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colin G, Manager at Thistle Aberdeen City Centre, The Caledonian, responded to this review

Dear riaLeinster, Thank you for your recent review on your stay with us. Massive congratulations from us all on your engagement. It was great to hear that we will always hold a special place for you both, we are honoured that your fiance felt our hotel was the right place to propose. We wish you all the best with your... More 

Inverness, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a great stay on a Christmas shopping weekend. Low cost tariff because it was a weekend. Plenty friendly staff so the service was great and the food was reasonably priced. This hotel is near to the theatre, restaurants and main shopping areas. We couldn't have asked for better at that price. We will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colin G, Manager at Thistle Aberdeen City Centre, The Caledonian, responded to this review

Dear fraternally, Thank you for your review on your recent stay. It was excellent to read that you enjoyed your visit and we had plenty staff on hand ensuring a smooth and enjoyable service. I am pleased to hear you will be back, we look forward to welcoming you once again. Kind Regards Colin Gunn Operations Manager More 

Scotland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here on a voucher deal over the weekend. Hotel is lovely, breakfast great and rooms are spacious! The only reason i have rated it 3 out of 5 and i know not the hotels fault but i have had about 4 hours sleep over two nights from noise outside! There are bars across the street/park that plays music till... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colin G, Manager at Thistle Aberdeen City Centre, The Caledonian, responded to this review

Dear Taliswoman, Thank you for your recent review on your stay with us. I was sorry to read that you were unable to sleep. Unfortunately as we are a city centre hotel, we are occassionally subject to some external noise which is completely outwith our control and as it is now the Christmas season I apologise that the revelling of... More 

Ayr, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at this hotel on business and can I say what a pleasant experience it was. The room allocated to me was large and welcoming, what I would expect from a superior room. The heating was on full blast and very warm but once I worked out the thermostat on the radiator I got the room to an acceptable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colin G, Manager at Thistle Aberdeen City Centre, The Caledonian, responded to this review

Dear wickedhes, Thank you for your recent review. It made for a pleasurable read. I am glad you were able to comment on the efficiency of the staff, we do have a really great team here. I am sorry you had issues with the drainage, our maitenance team have attended to this since. With regards to your rate due to... More 

Surabaya, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here for one night, and the front desk upgraded me to a suite! Sweet! Room is very spacious, nice setting and very comfy bed. The breakfast is the standard breakfast, but includes haggis and marmite! (my impression of haggis = steamed hamberger bun and marmite = salty soy sauce). Immediately outside the hotel is the square, nice for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colin G, Manager at Thistle Aberdeen City Centre, The Caledonian, responded to this review

Dear Lord_Lorenzo, Thank you for your recent 5 star review on your stay with us. I am glad you appreciated your free upgrade, we try to upgrade our guests wherever possible as we dont like to see our best rooms left sitting empty when our guests can be enjoying them instead. Its good to hear you noticed a few of... More 

The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good location if you want to stay central in the city. Shopping centre nearby, as is the train station. Rooms are modern, breakfast might be upgraded a bit. Very customer-friendly reception staff. Free wifi available. Some areas are only accessible via the stairs.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Colin G, Manager at Thistle Aberdeen City Centre, The Caledonian, responded to this review

Dear JJ_112013, Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor. I am was pleased to read that you found the staff to be friendly and customer focussed and you took advantage of our unlimited free wi-fi. With regards to breakfast, with a choice of 18 hot items from the buffet along with cooked to order omelettes, eggs benedict, porridge and... More 

Albufeira, Portugal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I normally stay in another city centre hotel when in Aberdeen, but refused to pay the price they asked for this time and found this hotel on last minute.com considerably cheaper. From the moment I arrived reception couldn't have been any more helpful and friendly. Lovely room, comfy bed, great nights sleep, then an amazing breakfast with really friendly staff.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colin G, Manager at Thistle Aberdeen City Centre, The Caledonian, responded to this review

Dear gtobias2014, Thank you for your excellent 5 star review after your stay with us. It was great to see you rated us 5 stars for all aspects and great to hear that reception were friendly and helpful. We have a great reception team and I'm glad they impacted on your stay. I am so glad you had an excellent... More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed at The Caledonian during a business trip to Aberdeen. The hotel was quite centrally located which was a big plus for me as I had a weekend overlapping with my business trip. It is a stone throw away from the Union Square shopping mall and Aberdeen train station. The rooms were quite spacious and clean. The staff was fairly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colin G, Manager at Thistle Aberdeen City Centre, The Caledonian, responded to this review

Dear G_the_Globetrotter84, Thank you for your recent review here on TripAdvisor. I'm glad that everything was to your liking during your stay. Our location is definitely second to none in the city. It is great you were able to take advantage of this during the overlap betweeen business and pleasure. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.... More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I had a lovely stay here for one night whilst doing some Xmas shopping, staff were lovely, room was ok for the price we paid( I would have been dissapointed if i had paid the full price), breakfast was excellent at £15 each it should be. The only negative was the bar prices , I have difficulty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colin G, Manager at Thistle Aberdeen City Centre, The Caledonian, responded to this review

Dear gogs_11, Thank you for your recent review on your stay with us. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay and breakfast. If you pre-book breakfast on check-in we can give you a voucher which reduces your breakfast price to £10 per person which for an all you can eat offering we feel it is great value for money.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Thistle Aberdeen City Centre, The Caledonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Aberdeen City Centre, The Caledonian

Address: 10-14 Union Terrace, Aberdeen AB10 1WE , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Aberdeen City Centre, The Caledonian 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and EasyToBook so you can book your Thistle Aberdeen City Centre, The Caledonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Caledonian, Aberdeen Hotel Aberdeen
The Hotel Aberdeen
Caledonian Thistle
Thistle Aberdeen City Centre, The Caledonian Scotland
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#15 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen

78 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (48)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay