We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Caledonian Hotel

#20 of 64 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
10-14 Union Terrace, Aberdeen AB10 1WE , Scotland (Formerly Thistle Aberdeen City Centre, The Caledonian)
Announcement
We've changed
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Caledonian Hotel
Professional photosView all
Browse nearby
The Caledonian Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

537 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    204
    182
    83
    44
    24
See reviews for
38
195
48
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (537)
  • Mar-May only
    (176)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (145)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (96)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (120)
All months
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I have stayed at this hotel on two occasions now and the staff are very welcoming. The food has always been good and the set lunch and dinner menus are really good value for money. On the whole the interior of the hotel is nice although some of the rooms are starting to look a bit tired and could do... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Montrose, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We were a party of 15 for afternoon tea on Saturday 22nd August For the amount of people and the price we paid the the amount of food was very poor. the table was booked for 13 people and an extra 2 turned up and paid on the day. Two plates of sandwiches for 15 people is not nearly enough.!!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bourqueMrs, General Manager at The Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Caroline T Please accept my sincere apologies you did not enjoy your afternoon tea with us on Saturday. I have just called the organiser of the event to get more details and see what happened as this is very usual to hear this feedback. Your 2, 3 tier stands of sandwiches it seems contained seafood that your party took... More 

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here for a Friday night during a brief visit to Aberdeen and have to say we paid very little for the standard of room and service we received. Our room was huge, overlooking the gardens to the front of the hotel and had all the facilities we could wish for. The bed was massive, almost allowing us to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bourqueMrs, General Manager at The Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DavenRachGlos Thank you for spending the time to share your recent experience at the Caledonian. It is always great to hear from regular reviewers and seasoned travellers as in my opinion this gives good rounded feedback. I am glad you found the breakfast “superb” and will pass your feedback onto the Head Chef and his team who will be... More 

Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Very close to city centre and 5 minute walk from train station. Friendly staff, modern room, lovely toiletries! Fantastic choice for breakfast.....I have never seen so many items in the hot food buffet, large range of bread and pastries. Very good value for a weekend stay. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
bourqueMrs, General Manager at The Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Donna M What a great review and from a level 5 contributor! Its great to hear feedback from experienced reviewers and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. Breakfast is the most important part for the day and we like to make sure we offer a great selection to ensure no rumbling tums before lunch! Look forward to welcoming... More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Went for our wedding anniversary, and the staff kindly upgraded us to a deluxe room. They were so helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Buffet breakfast was exceptional. They had a full Scottish as well as cold buffet. Ideally located near the train and coach station. Close to shops, restaurants, bars, coffee shops. You name it, it was in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bourqueMrs, General Manager at The Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dawn N Thank you so much for your fantastic review of The Caledonian. I am delighted to hear that the team looked after you during your visit and hope you enjoyed your wee take away for the journey home! Look forward to welcoming you again Regards Jane Bourque General Manager More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for 2 nights.superb location, the rooms were of a high standard and the food was first class.prices were very reasonable and we will be returning for sure. Ideal place to stay if on a business trip/part of a couple or a family break

Was this review helpful? Yes
bourqueMrs, General Manager at The Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear stationers22 Thank you for sharing your experience of your recent stay at The Caledonian. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and your comments are much appreciated by me and the team. No doubt we will be welcoming you again soon. Regards Jane Bourque General Manager More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Bed is cheap and uncomfortable, walls and windows paper thin but worst aspect for me was having wait 15 to be ignored at breakfast. Why doesn't a business hotel realise that a business traveller hasn't got endless time to wait around at the start of the day.end result 15 mins of my time lost forever, late for work and no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
bourqueMrs, General Manager at The Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dannyboy83 I am disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your stay and I have tried to investigate your comment about breakfast and the wait time. I would appreciate it if you could contact me direct so I can investigate further as this is a concern. Currently we have no log or comments about a wait on our breakfast... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for 1 night. Reception area is really nice and we were checked in quickly by the friendly receptionist. Room could do with an update. The carpet was lifting just as you go into the bathroom and the shower wasn't powerful at all. I didn't have breakfast but my boyfriend did and said it was fine but nothing special.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bourqueMrs, General Manager at The Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Ashleee5 Thank you for your feedback. It is a shame you did not join us for breakfast, our feedback is normally very positive and we have received positive mentions just this week here on TripAdvisor. I will however discuss your feedback with the team to look at ways we can improve our offering. I will also speak with the Reception... More 

Somerset
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here two night on business. The hotel is in the city centre of Aberdeen. The staff were friendly, and the breakfast was very good. Would definitely return to stay again either on business or personal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
bourqueMrs, General Manager at The Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SomersetTravelBug Thank you for spending the time to review The Caledonian. I appreciate your comments and will no doubt be welcoming you again to The Caledonian in the near future. Best Regards Jane Bourque General Manager More 

Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here on a Friday night after a late flight in from a business trip. Bed was uncomfortable and had "bits" of black dust in it. Was woken by the room next door who banged on the wall all night and a woman battering down their door for about 20 minutes at 0500. Had to pay £10 to try and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
bourqueMrs, General Manager at The Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sharprc It is disappointing to hear your feedback and I have already conducted an investigation with the team that were on duty on Saturday night/morning. We have no log of any complaints on the night in question. We always have 2 members of our team here 24 hours a day to ensure that all guests have a pleasant experience... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

276 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (67)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (168)
Viewed
Executive Room (46)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (31)
Viewed
The Hotel (53)
Viewed
Twin Room (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (41)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#13 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 stars 997 reviews
0.5 mi away
Skene House Whitehall
Skene House Whitehall
#1 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 stars 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#23 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 stars 627 reviews
3.9 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
2.6 mi away
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
#12 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 stars 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay