We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen

Malcolm Road | Bucksburn, Aberdeen AB21 9LN, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #61 of 63 Hotels in Aberdeen
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    64
    81
    119
    358
See reviews for
73
136
51
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (643)
  • Mar-May only
    (144)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (164)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (190)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (145)
All months
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Old fashioned. Dirty. Unfriendly and unhelpful staff. Dirty pool area There was absolutely nothing good or even moderately acceptable about this hotel. If it wasn't for a business trip id have walked out

Was this review helpful? Yes
richard l, Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks for taking time in putting your thoughts of our hotel on here. Im sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us and its a shame that I never got chance to have a chat with you with regards your opinions so that you could show me some specifics. If you wish to get in touch with... More 

Glasgaw
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I did not look at previous reviews until I had booked and if I had I probably would not have bothered. I chose this hotel mainly because it was near to Pitoddrie Stadium where I was attending a football match also it was cheaper than most and now I know why. When I first arrived I was less than impressed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
richard l, Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for your review of our hotel, I can only apologise for the service you received by the receptionist on this occasion this falls below the standard that we as a company expect, I am in the process of completing Customer service training to all staff with the expectation that this kind of review will hopefully be... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was very disappointed in this hotel for many reasons. Although it initially looked value for money with having the swimming and gym, other than most of the staff being friendly it didn't live up to my expectations. The rooms were cold, and not the cleanest. Some lights in the room didn't work or had no covers, we couldn't turn... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
richard l, Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks for the comments you have made. I am disappointed by the comments especially so as I was present over the period and wasn't aware of your issues which meant that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We always enjoy the company of the coaches over the weekend and the atmosphere that the guests give to the... More 

Travelers are raving about these Aberdeen hotels

Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel is in an okay location for the airport & Dyce. Check in was okay with no problems. Bit hard to find the room with some signs missing & others just propped up against the wall on the ground. Room was large but cold (radiator badly needs bleeding as only bottom 2 inches gets hot rest is just cold!) and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
richard l, Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for taking time to review our hotel, I can see that you are an experienced trip advisor reviewer and your comments reflect where we are as a hotel. As you may have seen whilst you were here the hotel is being refurbished and you may have been in a room whose bathroom has not yet been... More 

Birmingham UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I travel all over the UK with business and spend over 50 nights a year in hotels, normally Premier Inn. This is positively the worst hotel I have stayed in. From the distinct lack of ambiance at reception, to the dated decor, the smell of cigarette smoke in the room, and the awful buffet I knew I had made a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
richard l, Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this review

Dear Guest Im truly sorry that your stay here at the Britannia was not of the standard you would expect. We are in the process of improving what we offer to our guests and I hope that in a few months time you give us another chance. More 

Annan, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

On Arrival met by human excrement in car park and a ream of soiled toilet paper,obviously someone caught short LOVELY!,Entrance to Hotel filthy , reception staff not interested and cant work the hotel booking system, was more like foreign affairs with Manuel from Fawlty Towers ,no communication for important things like what time breakfast is or where it is ,what... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
richard l, Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks for the review here on trip advisor, many thanks for the kind comments about the breakfast staff and the quality of the breakfast as well as the member of management that you dealt with, I will ensure that this is communicated to them. Obviously some issues are outwith our control i.e fighting in corridors, but the refurbishment... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015 via mobile

Staff are hopeless. They never followed my company booking instructions and took 20-25 mins to check in after a rather lengthy phone call. No hint of an apology. 15 minutes into my stay, another guest opened the door with a key that was given to him by reception. The hotel is run down and dirty in areas. To be honest,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
richard l, Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks for taking time to put a review of our service onto this forum, Im sorry that you did not experience the service that you ought, for me to investigate a little further I will need some more facts regarding your stay. If you could contact me at the hotel it would be appreciated. More 

Lancashire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015

If this hotel is 60 of 63 hotels in Aberdeen, I cannot imagine what the other 3 are like. This is a dreadful hotel. I stayed in one of the new rooms which had no window, they are terrible. The breakfast room reminded me of eating in a building site canteen with Hi-Vis jacketed workmen wearing dirty boots. Bar and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
richard l, Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks for reviewing us here on trip advisor. We welcome all guests to our hotel and some guest will wear their work uniforms to come to breakfast. Indeed some of our bedrooms do not have windows and are used primarily for guests here for one night only. More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

the hotel was in the middle of renovation during our stay. It is a very old building and everything inside is old too. It was very expensive for the service it offers. The breakfast too was of poor quality. However the staff was nice and friendly. Hopefully it will be better after the renovation.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
richard l, Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for taking time to put a review on trip advisor, indeed we are almost complete with our renovations so indeed it will not be as old as before. Your kind comments regarding our staff are welcome and will be passed on. We look forward to seeing you again here at the Britannia when you will be... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

Where do you start? Filthy hotel throughout. Seats, carpets, cups, windows, everything. My room had the lift shaft at the adjoining wall so could here it moving throughout the nights. I left my laptop charger in the room and despite paying the hotel over the phone to deliver it, I am still waiting for it one month and several calls... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

113 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (104)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (35)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay