We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Paddy's Palace Derry

1 Woodleigh Terrace, Derry BT29HG, Northern Ireland
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Paddy's Palace Derry
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Paddy's Palace Derry
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    26
    17
    17
    29
See reviews for
2
19
68
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (189)
  • Mar-May only
    (56)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (58)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (35)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (40)
All months
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Old, worn out. Staff friendly enough but front door not secure and bedroom doors don't lock properly. Shower out of order and breakfast typical cheap toast and jam and uht milk. Good enough location and ok for one night stay. Probably cheap for city

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
1,921 helpful votes 1,921 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The six-bed mixed dorm room was very cramped with hardly any room to turn. If you didn't know your fellow travellers, would be very uncomfortable indeed. Bathroom is on the next floor, which was clean. No one in the room thought to ask how to turn the hot water on and the staff did not offer the information either. This... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Great location with easy access to Derry. I stayed in a 6 bed mixed dorm with my Paddy Wagon group (only 5 of us so we had ample space). Room was good with a sink; no lockers in the room; separate toilet and shower rooms in the hallway - wish the showers drained better though. Very nice and helpful staff.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
32 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Was an alright hostel ok wifi kitchen common room was good comfy cosy! Staff were great here good laugh took us all on a pub crawl which was a lot if fun! Close to nearby weAtherspoons so cheap steak was good too! Everything was within walking distance!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Expensive compared to Belfast, Cheap compared to Derry, free parking closest to centre was best. staff let us take pictures of the three types of rooms, readied for a fire-brigade and health-audit. We couldn't afford the ensuite as it needed a minimum of 3 people, and another building wasn't ready to allow guests. The 6-bed would be cramped for unprepared... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tony S, Manager at Paddy's Palace Derry, responded to this review

Hey there, Thanks so much for the comprehensive review! We know possible guests use these reviews to choose where they'd like to stay and want to thank you for highlighting our best bits :) So glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you'll return soon! More

New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

So this hostel has a problem with locks, and someone came into our room and slept because both the front door and the room lock didn't work? The hangout room outside of the kitchen was really gross, and someone had cut their hair on the table where people eat. Ew. Also, the ceiling crumbled in the living room while I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tony S, Manager at Paddy's Palace Derry, responded to this review

Hey there, We're sorry you didn't enjoy your stay! We clean the hostels twice daily but unfortunately some guests don't respect a freshly cleaned room! We apologise for any inconvenience and hope you had a good time in Derry regardless. More

Seville, Spain
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Good place to rest, but as this is a clean old building would need some repairs in bath, paint and walls, even so is acceptable. The staff is very nice and try to help and lend attention all the time. It is a charming hostel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tony S, Manager at Paddy's Palace Derry, responded to this review

Hey there, Thanks so much for the kind words! To keep costs down we keep the hostel basic but clean and functional. So glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon :) More

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Stayed here a couple of years ago,in a basic but clean room and met the friendly owner. Went back a couple of weeks ago and was really disappointed. Our room was in dorm with 3 bunks,all the lower bunks were doubles and the room was just too small for them,the bin was overflowing with rubbish. This was in a seperate... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tony S, Manager at Paddy's Palace Derry, responded to this review

Hey there, We're sorry you didn't enjoy your stay! Our hostels have a huge amount of traffic and we try to have as many beds as possible to cater to the masses! We clean the hostel twice a day and giving light to your situation i'm sure staff would oblige you in clearing the bins. We try to stay out... More

Philomath, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Paddy's Palace Derry is a unique experience not to be missed by rough and ready travelers to the area. Great affordable prices if you're on a budget. The owner, Steve McPhilemy, is always eager to make your stay great. And if you plan to stay for an extended time, he might be able to give you a quantity discount. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tony S, Manager at Paddy's Palace Derry, responded to this review

Hey there, So glad you enjoyed your stay! Great to hear Stephen facilitated you so well, never hesitate to alert our staff of any issues! Thanks for the kind words and hope we see you again! :) More

Simi Valley, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Incredible experience. The staff are very kind and friendly, and know the area despite being from all over the world (don't worry, they all speak english fluently). Our small group of 3 spent hours just talking with the staff and other patrons in the common area, which has 2 guitars and a piano, and a modest selection of books. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Paddy's Palace Derry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paddy's Palace Derry

Address: 1 Woodleigh Terrace, Derry BT29HG, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Paddy's Palace Derry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paddy's Palace Derry Northern Ireland

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (19)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay