We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 18 Derry accommodations

Paddy's Palace Derry

1 Woodleigh Terrace, Derry BT29HG, Northern Ireland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Paddy's Palace Derry to your Saves list
Paddy's Palace Derry
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
67%
Ranked #6 of 18 Specialty lodging in Derry
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Matt J Cardiff, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (186)
  • Photos (46)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (23)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

186 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    25
    16
    17
    28
See reviews for
2
19
67
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
28 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Was an alright hostel ok wifi kitchen common room was good comfy cosy! Staff were great here good laugh took us all on a pub crawl which was a lot if fun! Close to nearby weAtherspoons so cheap steak was good too! Everything was within walking distance!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Expensive compared to Belfast, Cheap compared to Derry, free parking closest to centre was best. staff let us take pictures of the three types of rooms, readied for a fire-brigade and health-audit. We couldn't afford the ensuite as it needed a minimum of 3 people, and another building wasn't ready to allow guests. The 6-bed would be cramped for unprepared... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tony S, Manager at Paddy's Palace Derry, responded to this review

Hey there, Thanks so much for the comprehensive review! We know possible guests use these reviews to choose where they'd like to stay and want to thank you for highlighting our best bits :) So glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you'll return soon! More

New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

So this hostel has a problem with locks, and someone came into our room and slept because both the front door and the room lock didn't work? The hangout room outside of the kitchen was really gross, and someone had cut their hair on the table where people eat. Ew. Also, the ceiling crumbled in the living room while I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tony S, Manager at Paddy's Palace Derry, responded to this review

Hey there, We're sorry you didn't enjoy your stay! We clean the hostels twice daily but unfortunately some guests don't respect a freshly cleaned room! We apologise for any inconvenience and hope you had a good time in Derry regardless. More

Seville, Spain
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good place to rest, but as this is a clean old building would need some repairs in bath, paint and walls, even so is acceptable. The staff is very nice and try to help and lend attention all the time. It is a charming hostel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tony S, Manager at Paddy's Palace Derry, responded to this review

Hey there, Thanks so much for the kind words! To keep costs down we keep the hostel basic but clean and functional. So glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon :) More

Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Stayed here a couple of years ago,in a basic but clean room and met the friendly owner. Went back a couple of weeks ago and was really disappointed. Our room was in dorm with 3 bunks,all the lower bunks were doubles and the room was just too small for them,the bin was overflowing with rubbish. This was in a seperate... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tony S, Manager at Paddy's Palace Derry, responded to this review

Hey there, We're sorry you didn't enjoy your stay! Our hostels have a huge amount of traffic and we try to have as many beds as possible to cater to the masses! We clean the hostel twice a day and giving light to your situation i'm sure staff would oblige you in clearing the bins. We try to stay out... More

Philomath, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Paddy's Palace Derry is a unique experience not to be missed by rough and ready travelers to the area. Great affordable prices if you're on a budget. The owner, Steve McPhilemy, is always eager to make your stay great. And if you plan to stay for an extended time, he might be able to give you a quantity discount. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tony S, Manager at Paddy's Palace Derry, responded to this review

Hey there, So glad you enjoyed your stay! Great to hear Stephen facilitated you so well, never hesitate to alert our staff of any issues! Thanks for the kind words and hope we see you again! :) More

Simi Valley, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Incredible experience. The staff are very kind and friendly, and know the area despite being from all over the world (don't worry, they all speak english fluently). Our small group of 3 spent hours just talking with the staff and other patrons in the common area, which has 2 guitars and a piano, and a modest selection of books. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I stayed here as part of a tour. The common area was awesome, it had a piano and guitars which makes for a fun night in. I stayed in the main building and the rooms were nice,somewhat small 3 of us had a 4 bed and I am glad there wasn't a 4th. There was only one shower working at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I stayed here as part of a tour and would definitely not go back again. We had a room for 5 of us with 7 beds and 2 armchairs. It was good there was only 5 of us in the room as we would have had no space for our bags otherwise. Our room was outside the main building and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tony S, Manager at Paddy's Palace Derry, responded to this review

Hey there, We're sorry you were unhappy with your room we use as many beds as possible to facilitate the masses! We have separate luggage holds so guests don't have to leave them in the dorms. We have a handyman and cleaner on site so we're prepared to fix any issues in the hostel! Regardless we hope you enjoyed the... More

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

This place is great! Nice cozy common areas that make it easy to meet new friends, and it's a short walking distance from the shops and pubs. The thing I liked the most was when you return, you can actually get some sleep. It has everything you need, including a mascot for those like myself who miss their furry companions... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Paddy's Palace Derry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Paddy's Palace Derry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paddy's Palace Derry

Address: 1 Woodleigh Terrace, Derry BT29HG, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Paddy's Palace Derry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paddy's Palace Derry Northern Ireland

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (19)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Derry with
any amenities

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Number of rooms
13

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Paddy's Palace Derry staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer