We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Slieve Donard Resort and Spa

Certificate of Excellence
Downs Road, Newcastle BT33 0AH, Northern Ireland
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
Add Photo Write a Review

1,883 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    1,072
    411
    226
    117
    57
See reviews for
332
932
22
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1883)
  • Mar-May only
    (506)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (555)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (396)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (426)
All months
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My family and I stayed for two nights 24& 25th July. We had four rooms booked with a non refundable deposit of £300 Two of the rooms were okay. Room 317 had bubbled mould all over one wall and behind the curtains. This room was replaced with an upgrade. Room 328 the bathroom fittings were loose....the toilet seat and sink... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had Sunday carvery lunch at the slieve donard. There is a very large selection of food available, starters, main courses and desserts. The food was very nice and we all enjoyed the variety. Our only issues were with the dessert table as nothing was labelled so we chose desserts for how they looked but on tasting them we didn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We flew in from London and stayed over for a Van Morrison concert. First of all, if you have not attended one of these Hastings events - you simply must. Great atmosphere, compact, very comfortable venue, excellent food, quality service and Van and band playing to a small audience. Simply not to be missed and great value for money. What... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I originally booked a single superior room and to my delight upon arrival at check in i was told i had been upgraded, i was thrilled, once I had seen my room, well WOW! it was amazing, top floor, fab views of the sea and the Mournes, lovely big comfy double bed, my own sitting area, i was in heaven!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Very nice traditional, old style hotel. The staff were much friendlier than expected. We were there for the Van Morrison show- which was over the top phenomenal. The room was clean and comfortable, except that it was much too warm to sleep

Was this review helpful? Yes
Templepatrick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel has to be the nicest, cleanest most friendliest hotel ive ever stayed in. The staff would go extra mile for you. The double resort room is absolutely fantastic with such a gorgeous view of the sea.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canberra, Australia
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My husband and I stayed here for three nights in July 2015 to attend a couple of Van Morrison dinner shows being held there. From start to finish, everything about SD was superb with a quality of service equalled by nothing I have experienced elsewhere. Our room had three bay windows overlooking the Irish Sea, which was simply breathtaking. As... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Stephen_Meldrum_GM, General Manager at Slieve Donard Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you from all the staff and management here at the Slieve Donard Resort & Spa for leaving such a great review. We put a lot of effort into making our guests stay one that they will remember for a long time, and it is great to hear our efforts recognised. We are glad that you enjoyed your... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Booked in for one night, lovely room, friendly staff at check in. Only downside was the bathroom fittings were poor. The toilet seat was broken along with the hook on the back of the door. The shower basket(to hold toiletries) was poorly fitted as well. Apart from that loved the room! The breakfast the next morning was disappointing for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stephen_Meldrum_GM, General Manager at Slieve Donard Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, we really appreciate it. We are sorry you did not fully enjoy your stay. We do apologise for the issues you faced during your stay at our hotel. I would be grateful if you contacted me with more details such as your name, room number and... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We recently booked a double room for a one night stay, whilst comfy and clean, the room was in urgent need of redecoration, not what I expected at all on my first stay at this 4 star resort. Bedside cabinets and dressing table very old and worn and we didn't even have a headboard on the bed which I felt... More 

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen_Meldrum_GM, General Manager at Slieve Donard Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, we really appreciate it. We are sorry you did not fully enjoy your stay. We do apologise for the issues you faced with your bedroom during your stay. I would be grateful if you contacted me with more details such as your name, room number and... More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I Booked into the oak Restaurant to celebrate our anniversary. On arrival we had a drink in the bar and notified the restaurant manager that we had a table booked,he brought us menus and told us to come in as soon as we where ready. Seated in the conservatory our order was taken and starter was quickly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen_Meldrum_GM, General Manager at Slieve Donard Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you from all the staff and management here at the Slieve Donard Resort & Spa for leaving such a great review. I would also like to thank you for choosing our Hotel to spend this wonderful occasion. It is great to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, we work so hard to ensure that... More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Percy French(25)
  • Oak Restaurant(18)
  • Pool area(8)
  • Steam room(5)
  • Night stay(5)
  • Mourne mountains(3)
  • Dining room(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

931 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (432)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (134)
Viewed
Room/suite (93)
Viewed
View from room (29)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (112)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (459)
Viewed
Amenities (84)
Viewed
Classic Double Room (34)
Viewed
Classic Double Room with Interior View (35)
Viewed
Executive Double Room (44)
Viewed
Resort Double Room (32)
Viewed
Resort Suite (37)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (55)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (36)
Viewed
The Hotel (102)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle
3.3 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#4 of 16 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 stars 77 reviews
1.3 mi away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#3 of 16 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 stars 115 reviews
18.7 mi away
Canal Court Hotel
Canal Court Hotel
#1 of 10 in Newry
4.5 of 5 stars 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mourne Country Hotel
Mourne Country Hotel
#3 of 10 in Newry
3.0 of 5 stars 57 reviews
20.6 mi away
Premier Inn Lisburn
Premier Inn Lisburn
#1 of 2 in Lisburn
4.5 of 5 stars 411 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay