We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Denvir's Hotel

14 - 16 English Street, Downpatrick BT30 6AB, Northern Ireland
Denvir's Hotel
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    28
    19
    11
    7
    6
See reviews for
17
21
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (71)
  • Mar-May only
    (19)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (20)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015

Good atmosphere, decent grub and definitely affordable with an ample menu. A pleasant surprise and not what one was expecting to find situated in a side street in Downpatrick. Will visit again soon. Top marks.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Robert for your very kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and hopefully we will see you again soon. We are currently working on our new menu, we like to change with the season, so hopefully you will enjoy it as well. Kind Regards Chris More 

Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

I stayed very recently at Denvir's Hotel and I can say I was satisfied with the hotel. The hotel is a nice guesthouse that dates back to the 1600's and it's still in great shape! You would never know you were in a place that old, aside from some of the wide wood floors and the beams you can see... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your full and kind review of Denvir's. I'm really glad that you were happy with your stay and that you really liked Downpatrick. There are a lot of interesting things to see which are quite near to us if you're interested in heritage. Hopefully we'll see you again soon, Chris More 

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

Went for lunch today as we were being treated by rep. I had soup and toasted sandwich, soup celery which was nice asked for cheese tomato no butter. Tomato looked like it was cut with a hatchet, cheese clumped together inside cold bread despite being told by waitress it wasn't ready must have set it out on the window sill... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear gizmofrosty Thank you for letting everyone know about your disappointment with your sandwich, I just wish you had let us know when you were in. We would have addressed the matter for you. If you look at our reviews going back to mid November 2013 when we took over you will see that they have almost exclusively been positive... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

Dined here for the first time in about a year. Was slightly disappointed that kids no longer dine free and the menu seemed to have slightly changed. Staff where very friendly and service was excellent. Portions where pretty poor compared to previous occasions and the food didn't seem as tasty. Still a lovely place but I wouldn't recommend it as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear mulhern 122 Thank you for the kind comments about our venue and staff, but I'm genuinely disappointed to hear that you weren't as impressed as before. I've spoken to Management and staff about your review and none of them can recall anyone being disappointed, but I assure you that' if we had been aware we would have done what... More 

UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

Stayed during business trip. Very friendly and efficient staff. Food was good quality restaurant level for fast food price. Beer well kept and at a very good price. The room was spacious and bed very comfortable. I am told that the hotel is being refurbished on an ongoing basis and this will no doubt make it even better as the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Cyber Tourist, We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I'm sure the staff will be well pleased with your kind comments; we'll make sure you see them. You are correct when you say that we're "doing the place up as we go along". We've been the proud owners now for just over a year and we... More 

Ardee, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

Stayed overnight. Warm friendly atmosphere. Very nice staff My room was clean spacious and warm. The food was good and all in all very wellcoming. I was meeting friends for dinner and there were several Christmas groups there. Despite the numbers staff managed well and service was swift Enjoyed my stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's Hotel, responded to this review

Hi rugbyref13, I'm delighted that you had a great night when you stayed with us, and thank you for the kind review. As you know the building dates from 1642 but I think, because it has so much character it really suits Christmas. Really glad you enjoyed the food and the service. I'll make sure the staff are made aware.... More 

Ardee, Ireland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

This is a small 6 bedroom hotel near the centre of town. We were in town for a wedding and stayed for one night in a double room for the very good rate of £70 including breakfast. The room was good sized with a comfortable double bed plus an additional single bed, ensuite bathroom, tv and tea/coffee facilities. We were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Eddie, Thank you very much for your very kind review. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we just wish it could have been longer. Maybe we'll see you again soon. In the meantime I will make sure the staff are made aware of your comments; I'm sure they will be delighted. Kind Regards Chris More 

Orillia, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

I must say I was a bit nervous after the reviews. However I enjoyed my week stay while I visited my Gran. I agree the rooms could do with a better clean, but all in all a comfortable stay. The food was great. Staff were very helpful and friendly. I just loved the atmosphere. I would definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Colleen047, We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and also delighted that you would stay again; we'll look forward to it. You were a bit worried about our reviews but I think the ones that worried you most were from before we took over. We took over one year ago this very day would you believe!! We... More 

Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

I stayed at Denvirs on a Friday night, whilst visiting from England. I have visited the hotel for meals and drinks many times over the years but this was the first time I had actually stayed. My room was adequate for a short stay,clean and warm, despite it being a very windy wet day. It was quite sparsely furnished, with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's Hotel, responded to this review

Hi FizzMO, Thank you very much for such a thorough review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We enjoyed having you and look forward to you visiting again. Just to cover a few things in your review: You are absolutely right, we are an old coaching inn, the oldest one in Ireland in fact, dating... More 

Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

A group of us stayed at Denvirs and we found the experience thoroughly enjoyable. The owner and staff were very helpful and could not do enough for us. The evening meals, lunches and breakfasts were all delicious, and the bar had live music every night during our stay. This is a place with real Irish hospitality, and we can't wait... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Jax5259, Thank you so much for this wonderful review. We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much, and it was a privilege for us to welcome you. I will make sure that all of our staff are made aware of your comments. We hope to see you again very soon, Kind Regards Chris More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities