We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Denvir's Hotel

14 - 16 English Street, Downpatrick BT30 6AB, Northern Ireland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Downpatrick
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Denvir\\
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

76 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    30
    21
    11
    8
    6
See reviews for
18
24
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (76)
  • Mar-May only
    (19)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (25)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our room was gigantic, compared to hostels around Northern Ireland & Scotland that we had been staying in. Luxury bathroom with tube/shower. Staff let us in before checkin & called a taxi for us. Live music and a restaurant connected with lots of good eats & drinks. Highly recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
Smags50, Owner at Denvir's Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Kelly, I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to give us such a nice review. Hopefully we will see you again some time, Chris More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here on a Saturday night. We were given room 1 which was very large and comfortable. It had both a bath and a shower which was great. We had a light bite to eat in the bar which was lovely and very filling. I found the staff very helpful and eager to please especially shannon. The entertainment was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Smags50, Owner at Denvir's Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Kerry, Thank you for your very positive review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and I'll make sure that both Shannon and Conor are made aware of them. Hopefully we'll see you again soon, Chris More 

Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

.....so says the website. The only differences being that at my home: My bedroom isn't above a noisy pub front door that bangs closed annoyingly as patrons come and go A band of mediocre musicians doesn't start up at 10pm thinking they're acting out The Commitments just as I'm trying to get to sleep after a long day driving My... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's Hotel, responded to this review

Sean, I'm really sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. I know you were very upset that the wifi wasn't working and I'm sure this tarnished your opinion of us overall. We too were upset as we have recently just invested in having it upgraded. Next day it was working again but I contacted our supplier anyway who ran... More 

N.Ireland
Level Contributor
137 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had been going here regularly for a mid week meal up till 2 years ago then things started to slip. It was very hit and miss whether you got a good meal or not. Recently having read the latest reviews on tripadvisor we decided to try again. We've been back twice now and both times got a lovely meal... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I'm delighted that you are enjoying Denvir's again. Myself and my cousin took over Denvir's in November 2013 and we've been working hard to improve the place since then. We've managed to build a good team around us and, both of us being local, we're very conscious of... More 

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here on the first night of our visit. We weren't sure what to expect as we had really struggled looking for accommodation at a reasonable price for our 3 night stay. We planned to move around quite a bit and as we had never been to Northern Ireland we had no idea of value for money. This place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Caroline, We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in Denvir's and delighted that you chose this area to begin your visit to Northern Ireland. It's an area not promoted enough we believe and one which is very historic because of the links with St. Patrick, including his grave, and the local countryside and coast in general. We hope you... More 

Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015

Good atmosphere, decent grub and definitely affordable with an ample menu. A pleasant surprise and not what one was expecting to find situated in a side street in Downpatrick. Will visit again soon. Top marks.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Robert for your very kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and hopefully we will see you again soon. We are currently working on our new menu, we like to change with the season, so hopefully you will enjoy it as well. Kind Regards Chris More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

I stayed very recently at Denvir's Hotel and I can say I was satisfied with the hotel. The hotel is a nice guesthouse that dates back to the 1600's and it's still in great shape! You would never know you were in a place that old, aside from some of the wide wood floors and the beams you can see... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your full and kind review of Denvir's. I'm really glad that you were happy with your stay and that you really liked Downpatrick. There are a lot of interesting things to see which are quite near to us if you're interested in heritage. Hopefully we'll see you again soon, Chris More 

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

Went for lunch today as we were being treated by rep. I had soup and toasted sandwich, soup celery which was nice asked for cheese tomato no butter. Tomato looked like it was cut with a hatchet, cheese clumped together inside cold bread despite being told by waitress it wasn't ready must have set it out on the window sill... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear gizmofrosty Thank you for letting everyone know about your disappointment with your sandwich, I just wish you had let us know when you were in. We would have addressed the matter for you. If you look at our reviews going back to mid November 2013 when we took over you will see that they have almost exclusively been positive... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

Dined here for the first time in about a year. Was slightly disappointed that kids no longer dine free and the menu seemed to have slightly changed. Staff where very friendly and service was excellent. Portions where pretty poor compared to previous occasions and the food didn't seem as tasty. Still a lovely place but I wouldn't recommend it as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear mulhern 122 Thank you for the kind comments about our venue and staff, but I'm genuinely disappointed to hear that you weren't as impressed as before. I've spoken to Management and staff about your review and none of them can recall anyone being disappointed, but I assure you that' if we had been aware we would have done what... More 

UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

Stayed during business trip. Very friendly and efficient staff. Food was good quality restaurant level for fast food price. Beer well kept and at a very good price. The room was spacious and bed very comfortable. I am told that the hotel is being refurbished on an ongoing basis and this will no doubt make it even better as the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Cyber Tourist, We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I'm sure the staff will be well pleased with your kind comments; we'll make sure you see them. You are correct when you say that we're "doing the place up as we go along". We've been the proud owners now for just over a year and we... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Downpatrick
10.6 mi away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#3 of 16 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 stars 116 reviews
10.5 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#4 of 16 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 stars 82 reviews
7.7 mi away
Portaferry Hotel
Portaferry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portaferry
4.0 of 5 stars 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Strangford Arms Hotel
Strangford Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newtownards
3.5 of 5 stars 132 reviews
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Number Nine Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 10 in Downpatrick
5.0 of 5 stars 48 reviews
2.6 mi away
Inch School B&B
Inch School B&B
#6 of 10 in Downpatrick
5.0 of 5 stars 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities