We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Denvir's Hotel

14 - 16 English Street, Downpatrick BT30 6AB, Northern Ireland
Denvir's Hotel
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    29
    20
    11
    7
    6
See reviews for
17
23
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (73)
  • Mar-May only
    (19)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (22)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
N.Ireland
Level Contributor
133 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had been going here regularly for a mid week meal up till 2 years ago then things started to slip. It was very hit and miss whether you got a good meal or not. Recently having read the latest reviews on tripadvisor we decided to try again. We've been back twice now and both times got a lovely meal... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here on the first night of our visit. We weren't sure what to expect as we had really struggled looking for accommodation at a reasonable price for our 3 night stay. We planned to move around quite a bit and as we had never been to Northern Ireland we had no idea of value for money. This place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Caroline, We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in Denvir's and delighted that you chose this area to begin your visit to Northern Ireland. It's an area not promoted enough we believe and one which is very historic because of the links with St. Patrick, including his grave, and the local countryside and coast in general. We hope you... More 

Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015

Good atmosphere, decent grub and definitely affordable with an ample menu. A pleasant surprise and not what one was expecting to find situated in a side street in Downpatrick. Will visit again soon. Top marks.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Robert for your very kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and hopefully we will see you again soon. We are currently working on our new menu, we like to change with the season, so hopefully you will enjoy it as well. Kind Regards Chris More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

I stayed very recently at Denvir's Hotel and I can say I was satisfied with the hotel. The hotel is a nice guesthouse that dates back to the 1600's and it's still in great shape! You would never know you were in a place that old, aside from some of the wide wood floors and the beams you can see... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your full and kind review of Denvir's. I'm really glad that you were happy with your stay and that you really liked Downpatrick. There are a lot of interesting things to see which are quite near to us if you're interested in heritage. Hopefully we'll see you again soon, Chris More 

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

Went for lunch today as we were being treated by rep. I had soup and toasted sandwich, soup celery which was nice asked for cheese tomato no butter. Tomato looked like it was cut with a hatchet, cheese clumped together inside cold bread despite being told by waitress it wasn't ready must have set it out on the window sill... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear gizmofrosty Thank you for letting everyone know about your disappointment with your sandwich, I just wish you had let us know when you were in. We would have addressed the matter for you. If you look at our reviews going back to mid November 2013 when we took over you will see that they have almost exclusively been positive... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

Dined here for the first time in about a year. Was slightly disappointed that kids no longer dine free and the menu seemed to have slightly changed. Staff where very friendly and service was excellent. Portions where pretty poor compared to previous occasions and the food didn't seem as tasty. Still a lovely place but I wouldn't recommend it as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear mulhern 122 Thank you for the kind comments about our venue and staff, but I'm genuinely disappointed to hear that you weren't as impressed as before. I've spoken to Management and staff about your review and none of them can recall anyone being disappointed, but I assure you that' if we had been aware we would have done what... More 

UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

Stayed during business trip. Very friendly and efficient staff. Food was good quality restaurant level for fast food price. Beer well kept and at a very good price. The room was spacious and bed very comfortable. I am told that the hotel is being refurbished on an ongoing basis and this will no doubt make it even better as the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Cyber Tourist, We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I'm sure the staff will be well pleased with your kind comments; we'll make sure you see them. You are correct when you say that we're "doing the place up as we go along". We've been the proud owners now for just over a year and we... More 

Ardee, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

Stayed overnight. Warm friendly atmosphere. Very nice staff My room was clean spacious and warm. The food was good and all in all very wellcoming. I was meeting friends for dinner and there were several Christmas groups there. Despite the numbers staff managed well and service was swift Enjoyed my stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's Hotel, responded to this review

Hi rugbyref13, I'm delighted that you had a great night when you stayed with us, and thank you for the kind review. As you know the building dates from 1642 but I think, because it has so much character it really suits Christmas. Really glad you enjoyed the food and the service. I'll make sure the staff are made aware.... More 

Ardee, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

This is a small 6 bedroom hotel near the centre of town. We were in town for a wedding and stayed for one night in a double room for the very good rate of £70 including breakfast. The room was good sized with a comfortable double bed plus an additional single bed, ensuite bathroom, tv and tea/coffee facilities. We were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Eddie, Thank you very much for your very kind review. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we just wish it could have been longer. Maybe we'll see you again soon. In the meantime I will make sure the staff are made aware of your comments; I'm sure they will be delighted. Kind Regards Chris More 

Orillia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

I must say I was a bit nervous after the reviews. However I enjoyed my week stay while I visited my Gran. I agree the rooms could do with a better clean, but all in all a comfortable stay. The food was great. Staff were very helpful and friendly. I just loved the atmosphere. I would definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Colleen047, We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and also delighted that you would stay again; we'll look forward to it. You were a bit worried about our reviews but I think the ones that worried you most were from before we took over. We took over one year ago this very day would you believe!! We... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Downpatrick
10.6 mi away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#3 of 16 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 stars 115 reviews
7.2 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#4 of 16 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 stars 77 reviews
7.7 mi away
Portaferry Hotel
Portaferry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portaferry
4.0 of 5 stars 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Strangford Arms Hotel
Strangford Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newtownards
3.5 of 5 stars 129 reviews
22.6 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#2 of 3 in Holywood
4.5 of 5 stars 1,207 reviews
0.5 mi away
Number Nine Bed and Breakfast
Number Nine Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 10 in Downpatrick
5.0 of 5 stars 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities