We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Denvir's Hotel

14 - 16 English Street, Downpatrick BT30 6AB, Northern Ireland
Denvir's Hotel
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    18
    11
    7
    6
See reviews for
17
21
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (69)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (20)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

Went for lunch today as we were being treated by rep. I had soup and toasted sandwich, soup celery which was nice asked for cheese tomato no butter. Tomato looked like it was cut with a hatchet, cheese clumped together inside cold bread despite being told by waitress it wasn't ready must have set it out on the window sill... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear gizmofrosty Thank you for letting everyone know about your disappointment with your sandwich, I just wish you had let us know when you were in. We would have addressed the matter for you. If you look at our reviews going back to mid November 2013 when we took over you will see that they have almost exclusively been positive... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

Dined here for the first time in about a year. Was slightly disappointed that kids no longer dine free and the menu seemed to have slightly changed. Staff where very friendly and service was excellent. Portions where pretty poor compared to previous occasions and the food didn't seem as tasty. Still a lovely place but I wouldn't recommend it as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear mulhern 122 Thank you for the kind comments about our venue and staff, but I'm genuinely disappointed to hear that you weren't as impressed as before. I've spoken to Management and staff about your review and none of them can recall anyone being disappointed, but I assure you that' if we had been aware we would have done what... More 

UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

Stayed during business trip. Very friendly and efficient staff. Food was good quality restaurant level for fast food price. Beer well kept and at a very good price. The room was spacious and bed very comfortable. I am told that the hotel is being refurbished on an ongoing basis and this will no doubt make it even better as the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Cyber Tourist, We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I'm sure the staff will be well pleased with your kind comments; we'll make sure you see them. You are correct when you say that we're "doing the place up as we go along". We've been the proud owners now for just over a year and we... More 

Ardee, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

Stayed overnight. Warm friendly atmosphere. Very nice staff My room was clean spacious and warm. The food was good and all in all very wellcoming. I was meeting friends for dinner and there were several Christmas groups there. Despite the numbers staff managed well and service was swift Enjoyed my stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's Hotel, responded to this review

Hi rugbyref13, I'm delighted that you had a great night when you stayed with us, and thank you for the kind review. As you know the building dates from 1642 but I think, because it has so much character it really suits Christmas. Really glad you enjoyed the food and the service. I'll make sure the staff are made aware.... More 

Ardee, Ireland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

This is a small 6 bedroom hotel near the centre of town. We were in town for a wedding and stayed for one night in a double room for the very good rate of £70 including breakfast. The room was good sized with a comfortable double bed plus an additional single bed, ensuite bathroom, tv and tea/coffee facilities. We were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Eddie, Thank you very much for your very kind review. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we just wish it could have been longer. Maybe we'll see you again soon. In the meantime I will make sure the staff are made aware of your comments; I'm sure they will be delighted. Kind Regards Chris More 

Orillia, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

I must say I was a bit nervous after the reviews. However I enjoyed my week stay while I visited my Gran. I agree the rooms could do with a better clean, but all in all a comfortable stay. The food was great. Staff were very helpful and friendly. I just loved the atmosphere. I would definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Colleen047, We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and also delighted that you would stay again; we'll look forward to it. You were a bit worried about our reviews but I think the ones that worried you most were from before we took over. We took over one year ago this very day would you believe!! We... More 

Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

I stayed at Denvirs on a Friday night, whilst visiting from England. I have visited the hotel for meals and drinks many times over the years but this was the first time I had actually stayed. My room was adequate for a short stay,clean and warm, despite it being a very windy wet day. It was quite sparsely furnished, with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's Hotel, responded to this review

Hi FizzMO, Thank you very much for such a thorough review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We enjoyed having you and look forward to you visiting again. Just to cover a few things in your review: You are absolutely right, we are an old coaching inn, the oldest one in Ireland in fact, dating... More 

Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

A group of us stayed at Denvirs and we found the experience thoroughly enjoyable. The owner and staff were very helpful and could not do enough for us. The evening meals, lunches and breakfasts were all delicious, and the bar had live music every night during our stay. This is a place with real Irish hospitality, and we can't wait... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Jax5259, Thank you so much for this wonderful review. We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much, and it was a privilege for us to welcome you. I will make sure that all of our staff are made aware of your comments. We hope to see you again very soon, Kind Regards Chris More 

Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

Popped in for lunch with family. Food was beautiful and staff were friendly. Meal took a long time coming as there seemed to be only 2 staff working and they were stretched. We frequently Pop there when I visit and the food is consistently good

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's Hotel, responded to this review

Hi TeressC, Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review and thank you for your continued support. We are genuinely delighted that you enjoy Denvir's. I will make sure the staff, and in particular, the Chefs are made aware of your kind comments. Kind Regards Chris More 

sydney traveller
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
102 hotel reviews
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

one of Ireland's oldest inns in the picturesque town of Downpatrick (well worth the visit). Simple but very comfortable accommodation above the pub, which does have live music on Friday's when we were there, so be aware!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nathanwaks, Thank you for the comments, and we're glad you felt that both we and Downpatrick are worth a visit. Denvir's dates from 1642 and we think we sit well in what is a very historic town. Lot's to see and do within walking distance including a visit to St. Patrick's grave. We hope the music on Friday night... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question