We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 26 Belfast accommodations

Belfast International Youth Hostel

22-23 Donegall Road, Belfast BT12 5JN, Northern Ireland (Golden Mile)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Belfast International Youth Hostel to your Saves list
Belfast International Youth Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
HostelBookers.com Booking.com Hostelworld.com
and 1 more site!
53%
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Bárbara P Lyon, France
Write a Review

189 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    45
    53
    32
    17
See reviews for
12
43
42
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lyon, France
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I spent one night in this hostel, the showers were good comparing with another hostels, the rooms were clean but the bathroom was a mess by te morning, it seemed like a night club. The atmosphere is good, is kinda of expansive but what I've heard from other people traveling is that they would have paid more than stayed in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hostelling_Intl_NI, Public Relations Manager at Belfast International Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Barbara P Many thanks for taking the time to review our Belfast International Youth Hostel. As part of Hostelling International we do charge a little bit more than some of the smaller independent hostels, but as you have so rightly stated in your review, you can be guaranteed quality, cleanliness and comfort when you stay with us. Being one... More

Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

My daughter and I stayed in a twin room with shared bathroom. At first glance we were disappointed with our room which seemed tiny and had a double bunk rather than 2 singles on the floor; however the bunk was rock solid, no wobbling or creaking, and we found the beds very comfortable. Room was very warm (had to open... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Hostelling_Intl_NI, Public Relations Manager at Belfast International Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Janet O Many thanks for taking the time to review our Belfast International Youth Hostel. I am delighted to hear that the room was comfortable, if not a tad too warm - we sometimes overcompensate for the NI climate! I hope the new carpet and fresh paint smell wasn't too troublesome, unfortunately we have been so busy that there... More

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Good points: good location, free parking, good security, decent size room (private twin). Not so good points: stench as soon as you walk into lobby, kitchen an absolute health hazard ( be warned), fithly carpets in bedroom, stench of urine from toilet, toilet roll and faeces on toilet brush, wet room covered in slime, rotton wood and mold everywhere, very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hostelling_Intl_NI, Public Relations Manager at Belfast International Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Sugsy Thank you for taking the time to review our Belfast International Youth Hostel - we take all criticism and comments from guests (both positive and negative) on board and believe them to be essential to our going forward. With regards to our members kitchen, I can assure you that this is cleaned on a daily basis and as... More

Wicklow, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Great location, cheap, clean, friendly, warm and comfortable plus an adjoining café that serves a killer breakfast ...what more could you ask from a hostel? I had a great stay. Keep up the good work :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hostelling_Intl_NI, Public Relations Manager at Belfast International Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Cathyd1989! Firstly, thank you so much for taking the time to review our Belfast International Youth Hostel and secondly thank you for your glowing report! It means a lot to us at the hostel when we hear that our hard work hasn't gone unnoticed. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed one of Alan's "killer" breakfasts in the Causeway... More

Mersin, Turkey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

The location and the staff could not be any better !!! we got a private room and it was as clean as a five star hotel room...Free luggage room,amazingly helpful staff ( David).... we really enjoyed staying there,definitely the best place to stay in Belfast...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hostelling_Intl_NI, Public Relations Manager at Belfast International Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi runonerun! Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Belfast International Youth Hostel. We love to receive 5* reviews!!! I am delighted to hear that you found David to be helpful - he works very hard to ensure that our guests are happy and always tries to help them out when he can! It is also... More

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We love the room very much. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The location of the hostel is very close to the city centre and the best place to start the Causeway coach tour. The bathroom is very clean. The only problem is the bed makes some noise when you try to turn over. Good value for the money.... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hostelling_Intl_NI, Public Relations Manager at Belfast International Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Anna1_Winter! Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Belfast International Youth Hostel. I am delighted to read all of your positive comments about all aspects of the hostel - especially that you considered our staff to be friendly and helpful! It is unfortunate that you found the bed to be a bit noisy. I am... More

pattaya
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Belfast international youth hostel,is just a few minutes walk from Europa,bus and train station.Very cheap rate per night,rooms very warm with ch,beds comfortable,with sheets and duvet cover,lockers with key locks for your clothes and valuables,sink to wash and shave in room.Just outside room,find shower room,on left side,toilets on right.Lifts to bring you up and down.Breakfast served early,huge choice,to satisfy everybody.Its... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hostelling_Intl_NI, Public Relations Manager at Belfast International Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi skaterpattaya! Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Belfast International Youth Hostel. It is always a pleasure to welcome back someone we have had staying with us before! I am delighted to hear that you continue to consider us to be your first accommodation choice when you stay in Belfast and we very much look... More

Toulouse, France
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

wonderful place to stay in Belfast! nice ans friendly staff and very cool atmosphere! to be highly recommended!!! well situated not far from the train station and city center. good restaurants and pubs around the hostel.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Hostelling_Intl_NI, Public Relations Manager at Belfast International Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Silaine - Happy New Year! Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Belfast International Youth Hostel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you recommend us to others! I very much hope that we can welcome you back again in the future. Cathy More

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Been travelling the last 8 months in hostels, this has to be the WORST! Its amazing how much emphasis the people there make on your stay. Im not one to write a review, but would not recommend this place. Staff unhelpful and rude, especially security. They treated us like kids. Grow up. Put a smile on your face. Defiantly put... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hostelling_Intl_NI, Public Relations Manager at Belfast International Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hello Dan S I appreciate that although you do not normally write reviews you have taken the time to let us know about your experience at Belfast International Youth Hostel and I am really disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. Your encounter with our reception staff is unprecedented as guests usually comment on how friendly and... More

Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

With just one night being spent in Belfast, I just needed somewhere cheap and with a decent location, and the International Youth Hostel provided that perfectly. At only £10 a night I wasn't going in with huge expectations, but the staff were friendly and welcoming, the room was clean and pleasant, and the bed was perfectly comfortable with fresh linen.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Hostelling_Intl_NI, Public Relations Manager at Belfast International Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Benjamin_83_uk! Many thanks for taking the time to review our Belfast International Youth Hostel. I'm delighted to hear that all your needs were well catered for and that you found our city centre location convenient. We very much hope you decide to visit Belfast for a longer time next year and we would love to welcome you back to... More

Been to Belfast International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belfast International Youth Hostel

Also Known As:
Belfast International Youth Hotel
Belfast International Youth Hotel Belfast
Address: 22-23 Donegall Road, Belfast BT12 5JN, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 26 Specialty lodging in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This huge hostel is the biggest in Belfast and the only one affiliated with Hostelling International. It's a short walk from all a tourist heart desire's, from Queen's Quarter pubs and attractions to city centre shops and restaurants. A recent rennovation has heralded a slew of top class amenities including en-suite rooms, FREE WI-FI, left luggage, currency exchange and laundry facilities. The Causeway and internet cafes serve up good value grub and Mini Coach tours (based at the hostel) offer daily tours to the Giant's Causeway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Belfast International Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belfast International Youth Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.