We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ivanhoe Inn and Hotel

556 Saintfield Road | Carryduff, Belfast BT8 8EU, Northern Ireland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Ivanhoe Inn and Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

173 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Hubby and I decided to eat in the Ivanhoe closeby on Saturday night. The service was excellent, very friendly staff. We were advised what the specials were and we both decided on fish. The Asian marinated mackerel ordered by my husband was delicious. I had the smoked mackerel which was excellent. The portions plus some veg and onion rings were... More 

Helpful?
Thank ToandMo
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

No complaints about room etc but sadly witnessed some very unprofessional behaviour from a female chef and mature waiting staff making catty remarks about other diners, unaware they were being overheard. Such a disappointment considering the lovely breakfast staff serving that morning who could not be more helpful

Helpful?
3 Thank Graham O
IvanhoeCarryduff, Manager at Ivanhoe Inn and Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We would like to investigate this matter so we can solve this problem. Please can you contact us by email ivanhoecarryduff@gmail.com or by telephone 028 9081 2240. More 

Travelers are raving about these Belfast hotels

Crossgar, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Being originally from Carryduff, the Ivanhoe could always be relied upon for excellant food and a great atmosphere. As I had to be in the area last Sunday it seemed like an ideal time to call in for the first time since the refit. The menu is pretty limited, the food was nice but small portions at expensive prices. There... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

i went for lunch with my husband and i am on a no carb diet i asked could i have the sunday roast without potatoes the staff were very helpful ,the meal was beautiful and guilt free.The Ivanhoe has a lovely atmosphere and i would go back again.

Helpful?
Thank Maggie61B
Millbrook100, Manager at Ivanhoe Inn and Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you for taking the time to forward your very kind review. We are delighted that your dietary requirements were taken care of, that you were able to enjoy lunch and as you say guilt free. We hope that we occasion to welcome you and your husband back to Ivanhoe very soon. More 

Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Ivanhoe is an old standby for Belfast , it's been here for ages. I took my mum last week, it was an absolutely awful day with rain and wind. Our booking was for 1:00 so getting into the warmth of the place was nice. Very gratifying to see I so busy for a mid day, mid week lunch. The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank blackmountainboy
Millbrook100, Manager at Ivanhoe Inn and Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest we greatly appreciate you taking the time to forward your review. As you say Ivanhoe has been around forever nevertheless we hope that you enjoyed our newly refurbished establishement. We take from your review that you enjoyed most of your lunch but not the actual battered cod. We do assure you that our food would not be left... More 

Enniskillen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed in Jan 2016 with our 2 year old son. I was woken at 10.30pm by music from the function and could not get back to sleep until 12.45pm when the music stopped. I called reception at 11.15pm to ask how long the music would continue. The lady said she would ask if it could be... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank jonesej37
Millbrook100, Manager at Ivanhoe Inn and Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you for forwarding your review. We do indeed have a record of your complaint and issues regarding your stay. We do offer you our sincere apologises that the music from our function suites disturbed your stay. We assure you that we most certainly would not ' Not believe you' , But it was our understanding that you... More 

Ko Phi Phi Don, Thailand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a lovely Christmas lunch with my Mum and sisters and had a lovely time. Manager was really helpful as they mixed up our booking and we had a wheelchair so last minute change worked out well. Brought us a nice Christmas drink to say sorry for the mixup. Food and staff were lovely and stayed on in the lobby... More 

Helpful?
Thank caroline l
Millbrook100, Manager at Ivanhoe Inn and Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you first of all for taking the time and trouble to forward your very kind comments. We do offer our sincere apologies for the mix up but glad we were able to sort quickly for you. Again our thanks for your kind review and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Ivanhoe. More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I visited here on a Sunday for a late lunch. The menu was very limited. Unfortunately our server didn't inform of us of the specials, and we couldn't see the special's board where we were seated and so were unaware of these. It was only after we ordered and another couple were seated near that we heard their server tell... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank A5H85
Millbrook100, Manager at Ivanhoe Inn and Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you so much for taking the time to forward your review. We are very sorry for whatever reason you were not informed about the daily specials. We have however put a system in place that this information will not be missed by our guests again. We thank you for drawing this to our attention. We do hope... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Hubby and I went for a meal one Sunday. They sat us down and then forgot about us so we had no drink and no menu to look at. The manager seemed to note the disgust on my face and came over to ask if everything was alright. To be fair when he realised what had happened he did give... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Paula M
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went with my parter and my mother as we were taking my mother out for a meal on a Sunday and was told I was not aloud in the premises because I had a football jersey on (Celtic Fc) but yet they advertise that they are showing both sky and bt sport football matches on this day there was a... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Ross M
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belfast
Golden Mile
Etap Hotel Belfast
Etap Hotel Belfast
#30 of 44 in Belfast
3.5 of 5 stars 815 reviews
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ramada Plaza, Belfast
#17 of 44 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 stars 1,111 reviews
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay