We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ivanhoe Inn and Hotel

556 Saintfield Road | Carryduff, Belfast BT8 8EU, Northern Ireland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Ivanhoe Inn and Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

138 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    52
    41
    20
    12
    13
See reviews for
42
30
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (138)
  • Mar-May only
    (37)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (47)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (27)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (27)
All months
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Had a wonderful weekend stay at the Ivanhoe. The staff were so helpful and polite. The rooms were very comfortable, clean and spacious with laundry services available.The breakfast included in our stay was excellent. As it was my birthday we had a family meal in the bistro which was second to none. The staff were very attentive and the food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Downpatrick, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I attended a wedding in the Ivanhoe on Saturday 29th. What a brilliant team you have got working for you! Brendan and Paula were very professional at their job !!! Everyone form the kitchen,reception, Bar staff really worked as "TEAM". We did have a hick-up but was spotted by Brendan a dealt with very officiant,even before I got 2 say... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dubai, U.A.E.
Level Contributor
112 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

This was my first time to stay at the Ivanhoe & it certainly will NOT be my last. My initial greeting by the receptionist was an indication of the excellence that was to come. The manager, Brendan was extremely knowledgeable & helpful in guiding me around the local attractions. The food was excellent & enhanced by the very pleasant Andrea... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Stockport
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Where do I start? Well done Ivanhoe Management and Staff. I have just recently stayed at your hotel to attend a wedding celebration after previously being in Belfast for a funeral for my cousin which was very sudden and unexpected - a week before his brother got married. The effort, professionalism, kindness, support that the staff gave was well and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Hotel staff were very unwelcoming and took an extra £60 out of bank account without informing us, personally was a terrible stay wouldn't recommend it to anyone! The room was also still dirty the double bed had dirty linen on them and bath room and dirt and muck all over the floor, the cleaning staff should be more trained in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IvanhoeCarryduff, Manager at Ivanhoe Inn and Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your time here in The Ivanhoe. There seems to be a misunderstanding in relation to the £60 charge. You had originally booked the room for two people sharing but in fact there were three people. Our prices are based on occupancy and we informed you... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Haven't been in the Ivanhoe since it has been renovated..decor is gorgeous and food and service is excellent. Our waitress couldn't have helped us more (I think her name is Shannon). I couldn't criticise anything from our food here tonight and will definitely be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Newbury
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were married in Belfast in 1967 and were visiting with family and friends as part of our 50th celebrations. This was one of our first meals during the visit and it really set the atmosphere well. I will not labour save to say the service could not be improved upon, for e.g I do not eat deserts but I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had one overnight in the fantastic suite- double aspect and a lot of luxury. The suite was so comfortable and very attractively presented. Clean and temperature of room perfect. Breakfast in the newly renovated dining area was cooked to order and excellent quality- not the usual hotel self-service. Really impressed with the friendly staff, fantastic breakfast and excellent suite.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2015

If you are passing the Ivanhoe or live close - when you drop in you will find lovely service and a great variety on the menu - of all meats & fish & good vegetairian options. Wide selection of starters, main courses & desserts with daily specials. The food was delicious & fresh - we ordered onion rings & they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2015 via mobile

I really like this place, have enjoyed lunch and dinner there recently. My one pet hate thought is where they charge extra for Mayo/ketchup!!! I think when you have a meal these should be a part of it!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belfast
Golden Mile
Etap Hotel Belfast
Etap Hotel Belfast
#27 of 44 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 stars 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Ibis Belfast City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay