We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stormont Hotel

3.5 of 5 587 Upper Newtownards Rd, Belfast BT4 3LP, Northern Ireland
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stormont Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Stormont Hotel
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    164
    66
    32
    20
See reviews for
59
134
43
141
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (508)
  • Mar-May only
    (123)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (132)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (164)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (89)
All months
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
136 hotel reviews
411 helpful votes 411 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Part of a group of around 100 taking Christmas Dinner in a conference room at the Stormont. Starter of what looked like pureed vegetable soup and tasted way over salted. Mains of turkey and ham which was good but served with six undercooked sprouts and half a carrot. Over seasoned stuffing, one small scoop of mash potato and two marble... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
16 hotel reviews
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely modern hotel, bistro restaurant wonderful, the best meal we have had in a hotel so far on our trip. The bar staff were friendly and efficient, nice fireplace in lobby, checkin very efficient, receptionist made our restaurant reservation for us. We had a king size bed, the room was small but comfortable, the bathroom was great, with great amenities,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
glasgow
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent one night with my wife at the stormont hotel.quite a trek from city centre.cost £12 for taxi so only visit here if you have transport or a heavy wallet.that said it is a nice hotel.very clean and modern.we were upgraded to an executive room for free which was big enough for 2 , mostly clean although the carpets were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
JonathanTopping, General Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TommyGlasgow, Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. I'm really pleased you enjoyed your time with us and while you're quite correct we are out of the city centre, we are located directly across from Stormont Estate, which provides peaceful and tranquil walks and the odd sighting of a MLA. Public transport links to the city centre... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were at the hotel this weekend for Xmas dinner. Staff were brilliant (as usual) food was lovely too. Sadly the entertainment was the worst I have ever seen or heard. The person singing Elvis was just ok, out of time with his karaoke backing track a bit, no real crowd interaction. He was the best of a terrible bunch.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
JonathanTopping, General Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Harrydunn77, Thank you for your comments. I'm really pleased you enjoyed the food and service in Stormont Hotel - we're justifiably proud of the quality that we provide! Please accept my apologies if you felt the entertainment was not up to our usual high standards. I was present at the event on Friday evening and again on Saturday evening... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a great night food was excellent service was great staff were very efficent entertainment top class only one problem didn'get a duck. but i will definetly be back to try la scala for a meal .looking forward to next christmas party night.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JonathanTopping, General Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Helan a, Thank you so much for your great review! I'm really pleased you had great night with celebrating Christmas. All the tables have ducks on them for Christmas party nights, so if you don't get one make sure to ask the staff who will be delighted to make sure you don't go home disappointed. They're special reindeer ducks... More 

Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Free parking, fabulous rooms with everything you need for a comfy nights sleep. Nice fire roaring in foyer area which we snuggled up to for a nightcap before retiring whilst listening to the entertainment provided by two ladies singing. Didn't have breakfast but all else was fabulous will stay again, there's no negatives about this fantastic hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JonathanTopping, General Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sal750, Thank you so much for the fabulous review! I'm delighted you enjoyed our real fire in the lobby - that table is definitely the most popular spot when people come in from the cold! I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm regards, Jonathan Topping More 

Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a lovely relaxing stay at the Stormont. The rooms are excellent with lovely large beds to chill out in. Bathroom was shower only, but lovely and clean and good water pressure. The only negative was the evening meal, I had the Salmon that had received a choice award but was very bland and not as described on the menu.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JonathanTopping, General Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lindsay C, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay, but surprised that the food was not what you expected. The quality of our food is usually not notch as we use only the best local suppliers and create dishes which are full of fantastic flavours. I hope you... More 

Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here on 29th November for the night. We stayed in room 132 and the stay was fantastic!! The room was a nice the bed was perfect and comfy!! We arrived and the Lady on reception was friendly, polite and very helpful!! Check in wasnt till 3pm but we passed some time in the hotel bar!! Once again staff very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JonathanTopping, General Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Teresamckean, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. I'm really delighted you enjoyed your time with us and I particularly enjoyed your photographs! I hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Belfast and I hope I can welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Jonathan Topping More 

Moville, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

my 3 daughters and grand daughter stayed at this hotel on above dates and must say it was a very disappointing experience. we usually stay at the sister hotel the Europa which is always amazing. we found this hotel freezing cold no mater where we were. we kept our coats on in the bedroom the first night and when we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JonathanTopping, General Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Joan C, Thank you for your review. Unfortunately during your stay the hotel experienced a maintenance issue with one of our boilers, which was quickly rectified, allowing the hotel to return to it's normal cosy warmth. Please accept my apologies if you were cold. I was surprised and disappointed that you did not enjoy dinner as La Scala is... More 

Fairhaven, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the Stormont for one night on a recent tour. There were three in our party and, one of us got the dreaded cot. In this instance, the cot turned out to be OK. The problem with this Hotel was the smell. The rooms, and it seemed to be most of them, smelled awful. The smell came from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JonathanTopping, General Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jackduck, Thank you for your comments on your recent stay in Stormont Hotel. Please accept my apologies for any untoward smell you experienced during your stay. Since reading your comments i have investigated what, if anything, could be causing. Unfortunately neither myself, nor any other member of my housekeeping team, were able to identify any unpleasant smell in any... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Stormont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stormont Hotel

Address: 587 Upper Newtownards Rd, Belfast BT4 3LP, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stormont Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Stormont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stormont Hotel Belfast
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Belfast
#19 Business Hotel in Belfast
#21 Romantic Hotel in Belfast

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay