We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lagan Backpackers

121 Fitzroy ave, Belfast BT71HU, Northern Ireland
Hotel amenities
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Lagan Backpackers
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

318 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Great Broughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed in Belfast for a few days at this hostel. Best Hostel yet! Amazing attitude from the staff! I knew I wanted to see the Giants Causeway but knew little about Belfast itself so when I checked in the lady got a map for me and we spent a few minutes showing me places to go, whats worth seeing, good... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tyler W
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

I have stayed in a lot of hostels in many different countries. Lagan backpackers is up there with the best of them (though for me cost, atmosphere and location are always more important than luxury). If your looking for luxury then you're probably gonna need to find somewhere else, however if your looking for a relatively clean, very friendly budget... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shaun r
Drumlithie, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked this hostel as the price was right and included breakfast, the hostel was in a good location from everything with friendly staff happy to help you, the breakfast was great with a good selection of breakfast items, and the hostel felt very secure and facilities were very clean. The room was cosy and clean.

Helpful?
Thank Sarah Jane W
Dungannon, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for the first time,after reading reviews and deciding to give it a shot.Staff were friendly during my whole stay and helpful.the actual room itself was ok and the bed was fine.was hoping to get a good nights sleep but unfortunately this wasn't the case.the rooms are so close together you can hear every step and every whisper.the fact... More 

Helpful?
Thank annie774
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2015 via mobile

I stayed here for one night . Booked on the internet paid deposit and was told to pay rest cash arrived. Got there and pay the girl at reception the rest of my balance. Stayed on night and was enough noise was unreal never even used the shower as so bad . Came home checking though my banking and seen... More 

Helpful?
Thank micknee
laganbackpackers, Owner at Lagan Backpackers, responded to this review

It is so frustrating that you leave a review 10 weeks after you were in the hostel !!!!; I spoke to the management and accept that your complaints are unfair and unreasonable. More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2015

The hostel is just around the corner from Belfast University and the park, it's 5 minutes walk to the city centre, city hall etc Our private room was small but clean and bright. Free Wifi, free breakfast, helpful staff.

Helpful?
Thank bmcc123
Brixton
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2015

Not a terrible hostel, especially for the price, but it has a few issues. The staff I encountered didn't really seem to know what they were doing and were all just guests who were working for accommodation. Showers were often cold, most of the place stank of petrol (??). The beds were super uncomfortable and the heating was on for... More 

Helpful?
Thank jesterific
laganbackpackers, Owner at Lagan Backpackers, responded to this review

hi' sorry you were disappointed,,strange review,,i have looked back on our reviews and cant see similar negative comments....never mind.. ps, the petrol smell was paint !!! pps the heat goes on at 5pm until the next morning More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2015 via mobile

This was a bit of a change for us as we alwayssss stay in hotels when we come to Belfast. We really enjoyed our stay! lovely staff, well located in a quirky area of Belfast, with lots of eateries around and plenty to do. Bed was ridiculously comfy, nice big fluffy pillows and a cosy duvet :)! Breakfast is included... More 

Helpful?
Thank ZoeyHannah
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2015 via mobile

Lagan backpackers was a decent hostel. I met some great people there, it's a very social setting and most of the staff are really friendly. There was 1 staff who always seemed to be confused when we asked him questions and had to ask twice. They have a decent price for their laundry service. The beds were surprisingly more comfortable... More 

Helpful?
Thank Julia P
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2015

Stayed 2 nights here. First night was just for a place to stay. Felt like a tight space in the 8 bed room. Friendly staff that are on site 24 hrs a day. Free homemade breakfast. Moved to a 6 bed room the 2nd night. This felt a lot roomier and I was a little more comfortable. One staff member... More 

Helpful?
Thank a g
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Etap Hotel Belfast
Etap Hotel Belfast
#30 of 44 in Belfast
3.5 of 5 stars 817 reviews
Tara Lodge
#1 of 44 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 stars 1,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Golden Mile
Benedicts Hotel
Benedicts Hotel
#3 of 44 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 stars 1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay