We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Village Urban Resort Swansea

Langdon Road (Off Fabian Way) | SA1 Waterfront, Swansea SA1 8QY, Wales (Formerly De Vere Village Swansea)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Village Urban Resort Swansea
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Village Urban Resort Swansea
Add Your Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    178
    139
    46
    26
See reviews for
88
165
27
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (485)
  • Mar-May only
    (106)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (140)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (129)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (110)
All months
GLASGOW
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

I've stayed at this chain of hotels several times now but first time in Swansea. Room was a great size, clean and very comfortable and unlike other locations had much more room to both work and relax in the room. Room service was quick and very tasty. Bathroom was a good size although there was a constant fan noise. Staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Despite a good pool and decent enough location I was underwhelmed by the room, bed, TV and bathroom. With a bit if a refurb, tvs that get clear channels and more reception staff on weekends this could be a rating of 4 or 5. It is a pleasant enough walk through the old dock to cafes and the museum but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BROMSGROVE
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

From the minute we walked in the customer service stood out. Very busy checking people in but everything was explained & with a smile by Hannah. We went out in the evening & upon our return, asked at reception for more coffee & milk for our room. There was none immediately available but about 7 minutes later it was delivered... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Adam_M_Smith, General Manager at Village Urban Resort Swansea, responded to this review

Thanks for your fantastic 5 star review. It was a pleasure to read how you enjoyed the service by Hannah and the hotel team. Please be assured your comments will be passed on and celebrated. I look forward to welcoming you back very soon. More 

Builth Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and children stayed at the hotel on the night of the 7th March and had a very mixed experience. The welcome, the quality of the rooms, leisure facilities, the breakfast on Sunday morning were at the high end of the experience I expect from this type of hotel. Unfortunately all the above positives were severely let down by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adam_M_Smith, General Manager at Village Urban Resort Swansea, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. It was wonderful to read how you enjoyed the service of the hotel team, however disappointing to hear that you were not impressed by the quality of the food served at dinner. Your feedback is vital to us and I will ensure that it is used in order for us to... More 

Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had our table 15:00, and finally got seated at around 15:20. A 3 course set meal was the order of the day so we made our way to get a starter, these had obviously been out for the whole of the lunch period and appeared tired and pitiful. Still it's only £12.50 a head so what do you expect.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Adam_M_Smith, General Manager at Village Urban Resort Swansea, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor. Let me take this opportunity to apologise for the quality of the Sunday Lunch you were served. I was very disapointed to read your feedback and I can assure you I have already reviewed with the hotel Head Chef why our food was allowed to be presented to you, the customer... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My partner & I stayed at this hotel for two nights at the end of February 2015 for a chilled weekend. Rooms were nice, bathrooms especially. Upper Deck not worth it (see below!) Service from staff was good - particularly front of house reception, gym reception and The Verve restaurant staff. We ate from the standard menu at The Verve... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adam_M_Smith, General Manager at Village Urban Resort Swansea, responded to this review

Thankyou for posting your review on Trip Advisor. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the service from the hotel team, I will certainly ensure that your feedback is passed through to them. I am sorry that you found the quality of the food in the restaurant to be disappointing, I will certainly discuss your feedback with the hotel... More 

Swansea
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I often frequent the Starbucks cafe after a session in the gym or just to relax. The coffee is delicious, but the barristas are what make this Starbucks a truly special place. They always have a genuine smile ready and are incredibly helpful. Cannot say enough about how welcome they make you feel. Guaranteed to brighten your day!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adam_M_Smith, General Manager at Village Urban Resort Swansea, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. I was very proud to read your kind words about the hotel Starbucks team. They certainly are a credit to the hotel and I will personally ensure that your fantastic feedback is shared with them. Many thanks once again. More 

Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Staff very friendly at check in,room was clean but basic no complimentary toiletries, scratchy towels,no bottled water on hand,our room overlooked main road and a generater started up at 5.30am! At breakfast toaster did not work and drinks were expensive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adam_M_Smith, General Manager at Village Urban Resort Swansea, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. I was delighted to read that the team were friendly and welcomed you to the hotel on arrival. Many apologies that we did not meet your expectations with regards to complimentary tolietries, towels and bottled water. Complimentary toiletries and bottled water are all available in our Upper Deck rooms. Also iI would like to apologise... More 

Newent, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

From the moment we checked in to leave we felt appreciated as guests. Hanna on reception was extremely easy to get on with and very friendly, as were all the other staff we met. The food in the restaurant was of a good quality, although the drinks were a bit steep at £5.65 for a glass of wine. The room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adam_M_Smith, General Manager at Village Urban Resort Swansea, responded to this review

Many thanks for your 5 star review. It was great to hear about the excellent service you received from the hotel team and in particular Hannah, I will personally ensure that she receives your feedback. Thank you also for recommending us, it is certainly appreciated. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon. More 

chepstow
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015 via mobile

Pleasant enough stay on the way back from west wales. Funny smell in the room corridor and in the bathroom so not sure if there was an issue with the air con although the staff did try to resolve it. Meal in the bar was ok price wise but the drinks were expensive. Nice room and pool was great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adam_M_Smith, General Manager at Village Urban Resort Swansea, responded to this review

Thank you for completing a review of the hotel. It was great to hear that you had a good stay at the hotel and I will certainly investigate the smell you experienced in the corridor and bathroom. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

89 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (58)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question