We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 34 Newport B&Bs / inns

Celtic Springs Guest House

4 New Buildings Cardiff Road, Newport NP10 8TN, Wales
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Celtic Springs Guest House to your Saves list
Celtic Springs Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
80%
Ranked #19 of 34 Newport B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
LesleyGrant2014 Stanthorpe, Australia
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    5
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
6
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carmarthen
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
38 hotel reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

On arrival the premises looked like a building site, grounds overgrown with weeds. Room was very basic, curtain rail hanging off, bedside table lamp shade melted ! Hire in bathroom cabinet, noisy road and could hear other guests snoring and moving. Booking website did not inform there was no breakfast. When we complained the owner rang to say the room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Celtic S, Manager at Celtic Springs Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review please allow me to respond. I am sorry we did not meet your expectations but we did all we could to address your concerns during your stay, but you had formed an opinion upon arrival and I could not alleviated your stance. Firstly on the 19th August after an enquiry... More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Dreadful bedding not sure it wasn't used, we found a long hair in the bed (not from us) For attention to detail why put a cloakroom hand basin in a fair sized en suite? Due to inattention when booking did not realise it was room only, only very small confusing print on booking form, did not make it clear that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Celtic S, Manager at Celtic Springs Guest House, responded to this review

I am so sorry we did not meet your expectations please allow me to respond to your concerns. When a guest departs a room it is thoroughly cleaned INCLUDING a full change of the bedding, vacuuming and turning of the mattress. I would point out that our other reviews on trip advisor back up our claims of cleanliness and refute... More

Stanthorpe, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We required a one night stay close to the main road and not in the middle of town so the location of Celtic Springs was ideal for us. Although beside a busy road the room was very quiet and peaceful. It was also beautifully presented and clean, with a lovely big bed. There was scaffolding on the outside due to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Celtic S, Manager at Celtic Springs Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your time in posting a review. Our workmen begin work at 11am until 4pm a time frame we felt would be suitable as check in is from 4pm and check out 11am. It is confusing to know you had been informed that the work was complete as this is not the case and nobody at Celtic Springs... More

Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I stayed here a number of times over the summer 2013 as I was working in Cardiff. The guesthouse is in a good location in teens of accessibility to the motorway but there is very little to do within walking distance. There is a pub that does nice meals over the road The Dragonfly. The rooms are basic but clean... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My Husband and I stayed for last two weeks of August 2013. We enjoyed our stay very much. For us it was an excellent location. Our room was a good size and being positioned at the back was quiet. We appreciated having a microwave in our room, also free wi-fi and parking. Excellent full breakfast. We were made to feel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

our 1 night stay here was pretty fair. room was a decent size with a much appreciated large standing fan, mini fridge, and microwave. bed was fairly comfortable and large also plenty of fresh clean towels as we requested. free wifi but poor as is nearly always the case. as mentioned in another review, the taxi drivers do find it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Celtic S, General Manager at Celtic Springs Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review I am sorry you found our FREE Wi-Fi to be poor you are the first ever to find it such, and we cater for business customers who have a critical need for internet access and always compliment us on the speed of service. Perhaps you need to look at your equipment ?. I note you... More

Pune, India
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I would have rated it a four, if it was close to the city center. However the hotel was clean and calm. The best thing for people on business tour is the fast internet. It also has ASDA close-by. The hotel, for its size, had a microwave and mini refrigerator, I could survive because of that. The taxi guys have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Celtic S, Manager at Celtic Springs Guest House, responded to this review

We are sorry that our location wasn't ideal for you but your employers had made the reservation for you. Being a Guest House we do not profess to offer the extra services that a hotel provides but more of a home from home environment. We are glad you had a pleasant stay besides. Thank you for your review. More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised at the Celtic Springs Guest house, the rooms were lovely and clean, free parking and free wifi. The breakfast in the morning was scrummy. I will be using this place again when I am working in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Celtic S, Manager at Celtic Springs Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad everything was to your satisfaction and look forward to hosting you again. More

USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Our one night stay was quiet and pleasant. Very clean. New looking towels as well. Private off street parking a real plus as was the wifi. Bed was not the most comfortable. No breakfast available with our rate. While the room was nicely done the grounds are not at all inviting and wouldn't entice someone to stay. Trash is everywhere... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Celtic S, Manager at Celtic Springs Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry you did not find our beds pleasing to you. We neither use a firm or soft mattress but in between so as to appeal to the majority. However you would have noticed our double beds are super king size and of a generous six foot wide and six foot four long. Something... More

Sheffield
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Spent one night here 6th April and would be more than happy to use this friendly B&B again. Very comfortable, quiet room and superb breakfast cooked to time requested. We originally planned to visit the area 2 weeks earlier, but due to severe snow, we were unable to travel and the owners of Celtic Springs re-arranged the dates for us... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Celtic S, Manager at Celtic Springs Guest House, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to be of service. We hope to see you again and thank you for your kind review. More

Been to Celtic Springs Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Springs Guest House

Address: 4 New Buildings Cardiff Road, Newport NP10 8TN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Newport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guest house situated on the main A48 between Newport - Cardiff all rooms en-suite free parking, free internet. Super king size Beds in double rooms great transport links Newport Center 10 mins by Car Cardiff 20 mins. Walking distance to Celtic Springs, Imperial Park, Cleppa Park, Tredegar House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Celtic Springs Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celtic Springs Guest House Newport, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Celtic Springs Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.