We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 32 Newport B&Bs / inns

Celtic Springs Guest House

4 New Buildings Cardiff Road, Newport NP10 8TN, Wales
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Celtic Springs Guest House to your Saves list
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
88%
Ranked #13 of 32 Newport B&B and Inns
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013
Write a Review

17 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
5
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I stayed here a number of times over the summer 2013 as I was working in Cardiff. The guesthouse is in a good location in teens of accessibility to the motorway but there is very little to do within walking distance. There is a pub that does nice meals over the road The Dragonfly. The rooms are basic but clean... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My Husband and I stayed for last two weeks of August 2013. We enjoyed our stay very much. For us it was an excellent location. Our room was a good size and being positioned at the back was quiet. We appreciated having a microwave in our room, also free wi-fi and parking. Excellent full breakfast. We were made to feel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

our 1 night stay here was pretty fair. room was a decent size with a much appreciated large standing fan, mini fridge, and microwave. bed was fairly comfortable and large also plenty of fresh clean towels as we requested. free wifi but poor as is nearly always the case. as mentioned in another review, the taxi drivers do find it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Celtic S, General Manager at Celtic Springs Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review I am sorry you found our FREE Wi-Fi to be poor you are the first ever to find it such, and we cater for business customers who have a critical need for internet access and always compliment us on the speed of service. Perhaps you need to look at your equipment ?. I note you... More

Pune, India
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I would have rated it a four, if it was close to the city center. However the hotel was clean and calm. The best thing for people on business tour is the fast internet. It also has ASDA close-by. The hotel, for its size, had a microwave and mini refrigerator, I could survive because of that. The taxi guys have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Celtic S, Manager at Celtic Springs Guest House, responded to this review

We are sorry that our location wasn't ideal for you but your employers had made the reservation for you. Being a Guest House we do not profess to offer the extra services that a hotel provides but more of a home from home environment. We are glad you had a pleasant stay besides. Thank you for your review. More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised at the Celtic Springs Guest house, the rooms were lovely and clean, free parking and free wifi. The breakfast in the morning was scrummy. I will be using this place again when I am working in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Celtic S, Manager at Celtic Springs Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad everything was to your satisfaction and look forward to hosting you again. More

USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Our one night stay was quiet and pleasant. Very clean. New looking towels as well. Private off street parking a real plus as was the wifi. Bed was not the most comfortable. No breakfast available with our rate. While the room was nicely done the grounds are not at all inviting and wouldn't entice someone to stay. Trash is everywhere... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Celtic S, Manager at Celtic Springs Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry you did not find our beds pleasing to you. We neither use a firm or soft mattress but in between so as to appeal to the majority. However you would have noticed our double beds are super king size and of a generous six foot wide and six foot four long. Something... More

Sheffield
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Spent one night here 6th April and would be more than happy to use this friendly B&B again. Very comfortable, quiet room and superb breakfast cooked to time requested. We originally planned to visit the area 2 weeks earlier, but due to severe snow, we were unable to travel and the owners of Celtic Springs re-arranged the dates for us... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Celtic S, Manager at Celtic Springs Guest House, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to be of service. We hope to see you again and thank you for your kind review. More

Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The comfort there is untold and its so quiet and tranquil it is a very friendly place and they make sure the guests are comfy. Don't be put off by the dual carriage way outside, surprisingly, there is no noise to be heard. I will definitely go back when I visit my family again. Sean and Rebecca are true, honest... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Celtic S, Manager at Celtic Springs Guest House, responded to this review

We are most pleased that you both had such an enjoyable stay. We look forward to seeing you again you are welcome back anytime. Thank you. More

Cannes, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I spent a lovely few days here at the beginning of December. The room I stayed in was very comfortable and I loved that there was a little fridge and a great tv! Breakfast was delicious and everyone was very friendly. I was travelling alone and they went the extra mile to make me feel welcome. If I do return... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Celtic S, Manager at Celtic Springs Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We hope we can be of service to you again. More

Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

A pleasant stay at Celtic Spring Guest house. Comfortable bed and a good breakfast to set you up for the day. On a good bus route to Cardiff city centre. Takes about 30 minutes. Looking forward returning in the near future.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Celtic S, Manager at Celtic Springs Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again. More

Been to Celtic Springs Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Springs Guest House

Also Known As:
Celtic Springs Guest House Newport, Wales
Address: 4 New Buildings Cardiff Road, Newport NP10 8TN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Newport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guest house situated on the main A48 between Newport - Cardiff all rooms en-suite free parking, free internet. Super king size Beds in double rooms great transport links Newport Center 10 mins by Car Cardiff 20 mins. Walking distance to Celtic Springs, Imperial Park, Cleppa Park, Tredegar House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Celtic Springs Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Celtic Springs Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.