We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Celtic Springs Guest House

4 New Buildings Cardiff Road, Newport NP10 8TN, Wales
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Celtic Springs Guest House
View Map
Add a photo
Add Photo Write a Review

26 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    14
    6
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
7
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (26)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (6)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

My partner and I stayed for a couple of nights a couple of years ago twice, the owners made us feel very welcome. The room was very nice very spacious and a nice big bed, also very quiet. In the morning we had a fantastic breakfast and the chef was very nice and down to earth and chatty which made... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
98 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

This is a makeshift renovation job with basic services. The accommodation is basic and the facilities are also basic. Close to the dual carriageway so loads of traffic and with views definitely not desirable. Overall an average experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Avignon, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

I stayed at the Celtic Springs for 4 days,First in the downstairs single room for £30.00 per night then 3 days in the double room number 4 for £40.00 per night less discount because I was alone.I found the downstairs room fairly noisy as it is in the front and near the main room.The room was clean and warm the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

I stayed at the Celtic Springs Guest House for three nights and it perfectly suited my needs. Accommodating hosts, clean room/en-suite and wi-fi faster than what I have at home. It is undergoing some works, which did not disturb me and it will merit a 5-star rating soon. Excellent value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

Had only planned originally to stay for a few days but actually stayed much longer and found everything really cosy, warm and comfortable. Lovely welcome and very helpful first class service provided in the room ensured that the place was kept spotlessly clean. Please note that the construction work being done outside on the roof didn't affect the comfort of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Windsor
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

The room was clean and warm. I was greeted by a very helpful polite young lady who explained everything I needed to know perfectly. I really just wanted a room for the night between meetings and this was perfectly adequate. Overall it represented excellent value for money and the wifi was greatly appreciated.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carmarthen
Level Contributor
90 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

On arrival the premises looked like a building site, grounds overgrown with weeds. Room was very basic, curtain rail hanging off, bedside table lamp shade melted ! Hire in bathroom cabinet, noisy road and could hear other guests snoring and moving. Booking website did not inform there was no breakfast. When we complained the owner rang to say the room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Celtic S, Manager at Celtic Springs Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review please allow me to respond. I am sorry we did not meet your expectations but we did all we could to address your concerns during your stay, but you had formed an opinion upon arrival and I could not alleviated your stance. Firstly on the 19th August after an enquiry... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Dreadful bedding not sure it wasn't used, we found a long hair in the bed (not from us) For attention to detail why put a cloakroom hand basin in a fair sized en suite? Due to inattention when booking did not realise it was room only, only very small confusing print on booking form, did not make it clear that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Celtic S, Manager at Celtic Springs Guest House, responded to this review

I am so sorry we did not meet your expectations please allow me to respond to your concerns. When a guest departs a room it is thoroughly cleaned INCLUDING a full change of the bedding, vacuuming and turning of the mattress. I would point out that our other reviews on trip advisor back up our claims of cleanliness and refute... More 

Stanthorpe, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We required a one night stay close to the main road and not in the middle of town so the location of Celtic Springs was ideal for us. Although beside a busy road the room was very quiet and peaceful. It was also beautifully presented and clean, with a lovely big bed. There was scaffolding on the outside due to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Celtic S, Manager at Celtic Springs Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your time in posting a review. Our workmen begin work at 11am until 4pm a time frame we felt would be suitable as check in is from 4pm and check out 11am. It is confusing to know you had been informed that the work was complete as this is not the case and nobody at Celtic Springs... More 

Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here a number of times over the summer 2013 as I was working in Cardiff. The guesthouse is in a good location in teens of accessibility to the motorway but there is very little to do within walking distance. There is a pub that does nice meals over the road The Dragonfly. The rooms are basic but clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1 photo of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff East
Premier Inn Cardiff East
#1 of 1 in Castleton
4.5 of 5 stars 65 reviews
3.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Newport
Ibis Budget Newport
#11 of 20 in Newport
3.5 of 5 stars 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
St. Mellons Hotel
St. Mellons Hotel
#39 of 79 in Cardiff
3.5 of 5 stars 361 reviews
8.7 mi away
The St. David's Hotel & Spa
4.7 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff North
Premier Inn Cardiff North
#13 of 79 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 stars 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay