We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 20 Newport hotels

Holiday Inn Newport

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Coldra Gwent, Newport NP18 2YG, Wales
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Newport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Newport
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
50%
Ranked #9 of 20 hotels in Newport
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
thebradleys17 London, United Kingdom
Write a Review

192 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    56
    46
    36
    21
See reviews for
25
38
17
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed for one night last minute decision. When we arrived staff were so helpful. We had two little ones with us and Sam was so helpful and couldn't do enough to make the kids stay better! Bar service was great, we needed extra duvet for kids was Brought straight away. It was like staying with family as staff especially Sam... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dermot K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post an online review following your one night stay I was delighted to learn that my colleagues, especially Sam S, delivered amazing hospitality to you and your family. Once again thank you for your feedback and custom and I look forward to your return. More

Wirral, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We booked this on a great little Dinner, Bed and Breakfast rate. Could not fault it for the money. Staff were all very friendly in all areas. The included dinner was a buffet style which had enough options to create a 3 course meal, I made up a lovely prawn salad starter, and there was options for the usual meat,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dermot K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post an online review following your stay with us on a dinner, bed & breakfast package I was delighted to learn that my colleagues were able to make your day so memorable and you found the whole experience great value for money. Once again thank you for your feedback and custom... More

Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

The hotel in general is old, tired and in need of some major work! On business but I was left underwhelmed by the poor excuse of a bedroom that I was assigned. Shabby, tired, grubby looking furnishings...in fact the whole room including fixtures and fittings needs gutting to bring it into the 21st Century!!! Wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone...go... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dermot K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review in regard to your recent stay. First and foremost please accept my apologies that you did not fully enjoy your time with us. We will use your comments to revisit the room you were allocated and make improvements so that others will not be disappointed as you were. Thank you... More

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Thank you to all the staff at the hotel for helping organise and run our wedding. Everything was as planned, the food was excellent and service from all staff amazing. We would highly recommend the venue for a wedding for anyone considering it. Lots of friends and family stayed overnight and were also impressed by the hotel. Thank you Gavin... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dermot K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newport, responded to this review

Dear Gavin and Tracy, Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post an online review following your wedding ceremony. I was delighted to learn that my colleagues were able to make your day so memorable, not only for yourselves but also for those who were here to celebrate with you. Once again thank you for your feedback and... More

Reading
Top Contributor
282 reviews 282 reviews
71 hotel reviews
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed here for one night. It is two minutes off junction 24 of M4 and very easy to find. It has a good sized car par, but not a pretty hotel, but clean, efficient and friendly staff. It has a small fitness room. Breakfast was good and quite spacious.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dermot K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post an online review following your recent stay. I was pleased to learn that you found my colleagues delivered a friendly and efficient service and our breakfast offering was to your liking. Once again thank you for your feedback and custom. More

Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A wonderful Carvery Lunch great selection and amazing staff especially the restaurant Manager Very good value for money.Lovely presents for any Mothers present and really friendly and attentive service by all staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dermot K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post an online review following your recent visit. I was delighted to learn that you found my colleagues especially Craig, our Food & Beverage Manager, and everything else made your mother’s day memorable. Once again thank you for your feedback and custom and look forward to your next visit. More

Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staff are great, hotel is tired and the food was just about OK. The staff are polite and helpful which is the main positive, although the pool was a bonus, small but relaxing. The whole hotel is in need of refurbishment and updating, more light would be a bonus, so you can see to read your paper / book. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dermot K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review in regard to your time at the hotel. I was pleased to note that some of my colleagues provide great hospitality and you enjoyed the use of our mini swimming pool. Although of no consolation to you we continue to refresh our bedroom product and should then be starting on... More

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went there for a food hygiene course we had buffet lunch which was absolutely terrible. Dried chips, lettuce and tomato sandwiches plus cucumber and lettuce as well we did have some ham which were nice. It was clean and tidy and staff were nice. Wouldn't ever go there for food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dermot K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review in regard to your recent experience First and foremost please accept my apologies that you did not fully enjoy your lunch. We will use your comments to review how we can improve the quality of our offering. Thank you once again for your comments More

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

That's as good as it gets, hotel in need of a refurbishment, room was ok, just ok, but for £75 you pay for what you get. Food poor but the draught beers are very nice that's the only positive I'm afraid. Book up the hill £££ little more but worth it .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dermot K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review in regard to your recent visit. First and foremost please accept my sincere apologies that you did not totally enjoy your stay. We will use your comments to review on where we can improve our guest experience. Once again thank you for your comments. More

Staines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Stayed three nights to be in Wales for Cardiff v Fulham match. The match was the worst part...lost 3-1. The Holiday Inn was as comfortable as always and everyone helpful, cheerful and friendly especially Receptionist Mona who was not a bit like her name. The breakfast was the usual buffet and rather tired if you eat late. The smoking room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dermot K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post an online review following your recent stay whilst staying to attend the Cardiff v Fulham game I was delighted to learn that you found my colleagues, especially Mobeen, delightful and they made up for the disappointment of the football result. Once again thank you for your feedback and custom and... More

Been to Holiday Inn Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Newport

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Newport Hotel Newport
Holiday Inn Newport Hotel
Holiday Inn Newport Wales
Address: The Coldra Gwent, Newport NP18 2YG, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Newport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Newport 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome is just the beginning at the Holiday Inn Newport. Whether you are travelling for business or leisure the Holiday Inn Newport hotel will make your trip a success. Offering 119 well appointed ensuite bedrooms all with air conditioning, High Speed Wireless Internet connection, satellite channels and In-house movies.The hotel is situated just off junction 24 of the M4 with free ample car parking. The thriving cities of Bristol & Cardiff are within a 30 minute drive and it s only a short journey to the Wye Valley or the Brecon Beacons. Take a round of Golf at the Celtic Manor Resort home of the Ryder Cup in 2010, situated opposite the hotel.The Millennium Stadium hosts a variety of events and is only a 10 minute train journey from Newport. We offer an extensive range of Conference facilities with our largest suite accommodating up to 500 delegates. Click on the meetings tab for further details.Harpers bar is a place for work & relaxation with wireless access and an extensive bar & lounge menu. Harpers restaurant provides a tempting choice of cuisine prepared to the highest culinary standard by our international kitchen team. Take advantage of our resident only leisure facilities with heated indoor pool.With our experience and commitment to our guests, we are the ideal choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Newport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.