We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 20 Newport hotels

Holiday Inn Newport

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Coldra Gwent, Newport NP18 2YG, Wales
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Holiday Inn Newport
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Newport to your Saves list
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Newport
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Nicola b Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    69
    65
    45
    29
See reviews for
33
53
20
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (258)
  • Mar-May only
    (72)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (72)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (78)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (36)
All months
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We travelled from devon on a friday wanting to have a quite wkend in newport didnt know the area so booked in here greeted with warm welcome checked in and went to rm standard double bedrm was clean and warm with basics that were needed staff friendly and helpful grounds nice and piecefull relaxing ground floor no promblems with rm,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dermot K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent weekend stay at the hotel. I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed the hospitality and food provided by my colleagues and you were able to totally relax with us. Once again thank you for your feedback and custom. More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Wallpaper peeling on decor that looks like a time warp from the eighties (and a naff point in the eighties at that!) Breakfast buffet was well stocked with over cooked deep fried foods and stale continental breakfast foods.. Had to hunt down our own cutlery and staff no where to be seen to get tea or coffee.... Gave them the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dermot K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review in regard to your recent stay. First and foremost please accept my sincere apologies we did not meet your expectations. The issues you highlight, in particular to the issues you encountered in our restaurant, we shall endeavour to improve so that others are not inconvenienced as you were. Once again... More

Kent, England
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Celtic Manor was fully booked so I decided to stay here instead but it is not quite up to the same standards! It is very close (easy walking distance) to Celtic Manor but that is about as far as the comparisons can go. Hotel was looking very tired. Staff were excellent, all very friendly and attentive but room was tacky,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dermot K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review in regard to your recent stay at the hotel. Whilst I was delighted to learn the hospitality provided by my colleagues was excellent and the food of good quality and value, I was disappointed to learn that your room did not match your expectations. Although of no consolation to you... More

UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel overnight and must say it was probably the worst run hotel I have been to for some time. Not knowing the area we (eight of us) decided to have our evening meal in the hotels restaurant, which was fairly empty. The menu was not extensive with about ten choices for a main course. After beginning... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dermot K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review in regard to your recent stay. First and foremost please accept my sincere apologies we did not meet your expectations of a Holiday Inn, especially in relation to your meal experience. The issues you highlight we shall endeavour to improve so that others are not inconvenienced as you were. Once... More

Saffron Walden, UK
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
12 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Another of the older generation Holiday Inn hotels in large, mature grounds. The hotel is a typical 70s building, and although everything worked, is in need of modernisation. The room was quiet, and the bed very good, and, luckily, we were well away from the noisy wedding party, so our night was undisturbed. Arriving at the hotel, like so many... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dermot K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review in regard to your recent stay at the hotel. I was pleased to learn that your room was to your liking and that you had a good night’s sleep. In regard to some of the other issues you mention where we could do better, we shall take those on board... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed only one night and the hotel was fine for what I needed. Staff v friendly (makes such a difference ). Wendy at breakfast was great! Scrambled egg was dry and the beans a bit overdone. Marconi dinner was adequate but could have been tastier.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dermot K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post an online review following your one night stay at the hotel. I was delighted to learn that you enjoy the hospitality my colleagues, in particular Wendy, who pride themselves on making guests feel at home. Once again thank you for your feedback and custom. More

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014 via mobile

I don't mind a dated hotel as long as it's clean and priced accordingly. My room is nice and spacious. The bathroom is in desperate need of a good scrub and some bleaching. The shower curtain looks old. There were some hairs left all over my bathroom reminding me that I'm not the only guest to have used the shower.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dermot K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review in regard to your recent stay at the hotel. On appositive note I was pleased to learn that your room was nice and spacious. Please accept my apologies that the cleanliness did not live up to either your expectations or our normal standards. This is a matter I will address... More

Runcorn, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

We stayed last Friday, the hotel was very busy and although our room was on the ground floor overlooking the car park there was little noise, so a good night's sleep. The dinner buffet was well presented with a good choice, especially for vegetarians and breakfast was fine. Without exception the staff (including the duty manager) went out of their... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dermot K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post an online review following your stay at the hotel. I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed the hospitality my colleagues provided, you had a good night’s sleep and both dinner and breakfast were to your liking. Once again thank you for your feedback and custom. More

Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

As an IHG Platinum member staying many nights in IHG branded properties, this is without doubt the worst condition and worst managed HI I have ever stayed in. The condition of the rooms from threadbare carpets to decrepit bathrooms is ridiculous. Security is non existent and the girls on reception haven't a clue. As Celtic Manor is across the road,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dermot K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey in regard to your recent stay. First and foremost please accept my sincere apologies that you did not enjoy your stay especially as you are an IHG platinum Rewards member. Although of no consolation to you we are currently completing the upgrade of the remainder of our bedrooms and... More

Victoria
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

Stayed one night in a large room. Entire place looks a little tired although very spacious. Internet was dropping in and out however reception were working on it upon arrival. Wouldn't want to stay long term. Staff in the restaurant were nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dermot K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review in regard to your recent stay at the hotel. I was pleased to learn you enjoyed your spacious room and found my colleagues in the restaurant nice. Although of no consolation to you we have now restored our wifi service. Once again thank you for your custom and feedback More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Newport

Address: The Coldra Gwent, Newport NP18 2YG, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Newport 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Newport Hotel Newport
Holiday Inn Newport Wales

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay