We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Victoria Hotel

161 Corporation Road, Newport NP19 0BJ, Wales
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Victoria Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

36 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2015 via mobile

Stopped in this dump of a place for business with a colleague... Checked in found myself amazed of how this place is still open to the public!!! I then Checked out within the same hour of arriving to find out we couldn't get any of our money back, bearing in mind we had booked for 4 nights?? Staff very rude... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sachel001
VictoriaHotelNewport, Guest Relations Manager at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review

We were expecting you to leave this review after you threatened to leave it. Unfortunately you have not stated the facts and events that occurred during your stay. Firstly you came in to check in and wanted to look at the room, you looked at the single rooms which you booked for a cheap price of £30 per night. You... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2015

Given the bad reviews, I almost didn't stay here, but it wasn't nearly as bad as people seem to be making out. I had no issues with the water, the staff were all friendly, present and courteous, and although the rooms weren't to a luxury standard, they were clean and warm. The main thing I would like to point out... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Harvey C
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2015

Rooms were pretty cheap, staff was nice enough. Not the Hilton, but the price you could do a lot worse. Pretty close to the train station, and there are a lot of takeaways in the area(one runs out of the restaurant floor) so its a good choice for convenience.

Helpful?
5 Thank Morgan S
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2015

Stayed here with my son to attend quarter finals of Rugby World Cup in nearby Cardiff. At £90 for room only for the two of us, it was probably no more of a rip off than other local services during the World Cup (e.g. taxis). The room was clean if slightly underfurnished and the bed was very comfortable but we... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Chouskikou
VictoriaHotelNewport, Guest Relations Manager at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and apologies for the delay in acknowledging this. We are aware that some rooms need a little TLC and we are definitely renovating the hotel and making improvements slowly, one room at a time. This hotel is now under new management therefore we will be improving the overall experience of... More 

Travelers are raving about these Newport hotels

Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2015

The room had a kettle but the only socket to plug it in was on the floor by the bed. The bed had giant sharp screws pointing out the bottom of it which ripped my jacket.The cups were all dirty and the area had a few junkies wandering around. But we survived so can't complain.

Helpful?
Thank Kate T
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2015

To be honest, for the price you pay (£100 for four of us) it was absolutely fine. Make no bones about it, it certainly isn't the Ritz, and it is VERY basic, but we used it as a place to crash while visiting Cardiff for the Ireland France RWC game, and it served its purpose fine. Located about a ten... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Mike_J_Grant
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2015

This hotel was the only hotel left to book in Newport due to contractors and rugby supporters booking the city out. When I originally booked, Victoria hotel took half of my payment (£70, half of £140 for three days) over the phone via the long card number. They then proceeded to call me back telling me that the room was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Chicharro123
Sutton Coldfield
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2015 via mobile

We booked overnight for Wales/Fiji rugby and were charged £100 per room also £5 for breakfast. (I believe £35 would be expensive although the beds were clean) We were given twin room 9 up a steep narrow staircase on first floor. Shabby room, window open to disguise smell. Plenty of storage space which we didn't need. Coffee/teas available from a... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank matureadventurer
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2015 via mobile

First off, I really don't understand why so many people have reviewed this place so poorly. Okay, so it's not the Hilton, granted, but it is more than sufficient for what you pay (£45 in our case). In my opinion, some people expect way too much. Myself and my partner stayed here overnight to watch the Newport V Crawley Town... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank MirainMoonkin
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2015 via mobile

Came to visit Cardiff, but due to Rugby Cup going on and no vacancies weve decided to stay in this hotel in Newport. We've stayed there for two nights with our 4 month old twins. Even though we booked for 4 people, just got a tiny double en - suite. Hotel wasn't able to provide anything for the little ones... More 

Helpful?
Thank kam c
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Newport
Ibis Budget Newport
#11 of 20 in Newport
3.5 of 5 stars 416 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gateway Hotel
Gateway Hotel
#13 of 20 in Newport
3.0 of 5 stars 43 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Newport
Holiday Inn Newport
#9 of 20 in Newport
3.5 of 5 stars 379 reviews
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Newport Wales (M4, J24) Hotel
1.0 mi away
The Knoll Guesthouse
The Knoll Guesthouse
#18 of 37 in Newport
4.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay