We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road

76 Cathedral Road, Cardiff CF11 9LN, Wales
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    10
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
10
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (46)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (16)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
western australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

This year I stayed in apartment 13 which is a two bedroom 2 bathroom apartment. Once again, I couldn't fault it. It was quiet, clean and had everything you could wish for. We stayed 10 nights, so the washing machine/drier was very handy and being able to do a bit of cooking is also welcome. This visit I hired a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JennieGM, General Manager at SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road, responded to this review

Thank you Sara for your lovely comments. I am so pleased you and your mum had a lovely stay in the apartments, and a lovely holiday in Cardiff. I look forward to welcoming you both back to Saco again next year. Kind Regards to you both. Lez More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

These are very nice and very spacious (especially for the UK) apartments in an excellent part of town, close to the city center. They are tastefully decorated and cozy. The heaters work well and allow for good climate control. My only complaint is that the level of weekly servicing is quite poor. The maids don't replace the soap or toilet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JennieGM, General Manager at SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. I was disappointed to read your comments that upon arrival the cleanliness was not up to the standard we normally provide and it is a shame this was not brought to my attention as I believe I could have worked with you to resolve your issues for... More 

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We stayed in the SACO apartments this weekend whilst visiting family. The apartments were excellent. Very clean and had everything we needed. Welcome lack was a nice touch with coffee, tea, hot chocolate, sugar, milk and two bottles of water. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JennieGM, General Manager at SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Apartments, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back soon. More 

Caernarfon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed in one of these apartments for a 2 night weekend break. Having read other reviews I had requested to be located towards the back of the building to avoid road noise. Our ground floor apartment was located down the side alley and not through the main building but it felt secure and it was well lit and even... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JennieGM, General Manager at SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay, I was sorry to read you had a couple of issues, however was pleased to read that Lezley sorted them out quickly and effectively for you. We look forward to welcoming you back to SACO in the near future. More 

Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Great location, close to Pontcanna, the park, and the city centre. The apartments are well looked after - ours was impeccably clean and tastefully decorated. However, the heating didn't seem to work particularly well and those big, high ceilinged and bay windowed Victorian rooms don't do a good job of retaining what little output those storage heaters generated. When it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JennieGM, General Manager at SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of SACO Cardiff, I was sorry to read you had some issues with the heating whilst staying with us, we can provide additional heaters should guests request them. I am sorry you experienced some noise disturbance due to the road, we do have apartments at the back of the building and would always endeavour to... More 

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I came here with my boyfriend, another couple and a friend (5 of us).. Firstly we was a group of 8 in total, but 2 hours before our arrival we received an email saying that there was a problem and that they couldn't confirm our stay? Therefore 3 of our friend had to book into a hotel (didn't even get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

After booking this apartment and paying an inflated price we arrived in Cardiff after a very long drive. We were supposed to check in any time after 4pm but we didnt arrive until 7pm. As soon as we walked into the property it was clear that the place had not been cleaned after the previous guests had left - it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
JennieGM, General Manager at SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of SACO Cardiff, I am disappointed to read your review, I appreciate there were some issues checking in and unfortunately the Apartment had been missed with Housekeeping. As soon as you reported it, Lezley the Apartments Manager came to clean the Apartment with a cleaner from the cleaning company and both cleaned it to... More 

Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

this is my third stay in SACO Cardiff - my apartments keep getting better & very touched by the personal service in what could be quite a soulless experience. Spotlessly clean - even a written apology to me from the caretaker regarding a stain in the carpet which I struggled to find. Everything is very spacious, fresh, modern & uncluttered.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JennieGM, General Manager at SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with SACO Cardiff and hope to welcome you back to SACO in the near future. More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Lovely apartment on the beautiful Cathedral road in the heart of Cardiff. We stayed here in April and it met our needs though with a few enhancements this place has the potential to be excellent. It is minimal in terms of admin people/reception, though the apartment and premises is clean and tidy with everything you would expect in a modern... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JennieGM, General Manager at SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for your stay in SACO Cardiff, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, I appreciate some of the front facing bedrooms do get some traffic noise, however we do try and respond to guest requests wherever possible and if someone requests a quieter apartment, we will endeavour to... More 

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We travel abroad quite frequently and prefer to stay in self catering apartments as it gives us the independence to eat out or in whatever we choose. Never before have we experienced such wonderful self catering accommodation, it was spotlessly clean (including the cream carpets) had absolutely all utensils required, plenty of cupboard space, a dishwasher and washing machine all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road

Address: 76 Cathedral Road, Cardiff CF11 9LN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saco Hotel Cardiff
SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road Wales

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay