We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 82 Cardiff hotels

Churchills Hotel

3 Llandaff Place | Cardiff Road, Cardiff CF5 2AE, Wales (Llandaff)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Churchills Hotel to your Saves list
Churchills Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
54%
Ranked #41 of 82 hotels in Cardiff
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
dme1971 Ipswich, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (149)
  • Photos (42)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (39)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    58
    36
    21
    13
See reviews for
26
45
19
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed at Churchills Hotel for 3/4 nights per week for over 3 months. What to say? I feel quite lucky to have found this little haven, away from the anonymous corporate hotels in the city centre but close enough to walk in. Churchills is a hotel with character, from the main building to the cottages and suites along the... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Craig S, Public Relations Manager at Churchills Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words, it was an absolute pleasure hosting you for the last few months and we all hope to see you back here very soon. I will ensure that ALL the staff see the incredible feedback you have left for us. More

Blackwood
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked this place for my boyfriend's birthday because it was less than a mile from where we were going out that night. We stayed in the Mews Suite rather than the main hotel because the prices were very similar, but it meant we were away from the main hotel corridors and having to put up with people walking past... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Craig S, Public Relations Manager at Churchills Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for review. More

Chippenham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our 3rd stay at the Churchills and as we previously enjoyed it so much we decided to stay for the weekend following our wedding! We really loved the food in the bar and the steak and mixed grill were just perfect. We got kindly upgraded to one of the mews apartment as staff must have been told that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Craig S, Public Relations Manager at Churchills Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice comments and understanding regarding the fire alarm, it was a pleasure having you both stay with us. More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff we dealt with were pleasant and more than helpful, but sadly the hotel is let down by its overall standard. Our room was on the top floor and looked out over the kitchen extractor fan area, this led to us having all the cooking smells coming directly into the room, we had no option but to shut the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Craig S, Public Relations Manager at Churchills Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you your recent review, although it was not a great stay we do appreciate all feedback. We do need to look at the issues that you have raised. I can only apologize for you being kept up by the fire alarm, it is something we do not get issues with normally and we had not issues with it since... More

Solihull, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Churchill’s is in a good location. Easily accessible, with ample parking and yet a very pleasant 20 minute walk through Sofia Gardens to the castle and the centre Bar had closed at 11 and there were no residents bar facilities. Really friendly and helpful staff, Stayed in the mews cottages, really suited us, would have benefitted with a fridge and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Craig S, Public Relations Manager at Churchills Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, I have passed them onto the relevant people. Hope to see you again soon. More

Swansea
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Very disappointed in our two night stay at the Hotel. we were on a reunion weekend and when we returned to hotel on our first night at 11.15 we were told bar had closed at 11 and there were no residents bar facilities. In bed by 11.30! I am amazed that a hotel near Cardiff City Centre doesn't have a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Craig S, Public Relations Manager at Churchills Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, your comments will be passed to our head office. More

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Churchills is in a good location. Easily accessible, with ample parking and yet a very pleasant 20 minute walk through Sofia Gardens to the castle and the centre. Pontcanna with its small local shops and many cafes and restaurants is only five minutes away. So whenever I am in Cardiff I stay in Churchills. Last year I criticised, quite strongly,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Craig S, Public Relations Manager at Churchills Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are glad that you did not suffer the same issues as the last time you were here, we hope to see you again soon. More

Llanelli, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

excellent old fashioned hotel, just outside city centre{£6 taxi fare) really friendly and helpful staff, reminded me a bit of Fawlty Towers where Jason seemed to be doing everything,tending bar and reception, taking orders and delivering food, clearing up ect. Stayed in the mews cottages, really suited us, would have benefitted with a fridge and bath mat, though really good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Craig S, Public Relations Manager at Churchills Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. More

Prague
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

On receiving a very friendly welcome we had high hopes for our two night stay. However, our room in the annexe did not live up to expectations. The room was large but it was very dark and dismal. My husband struggled to shave as the bathroom had no shaving light above the mirror and no natural light as it was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Craig S, Public Relations Manager at Churchills Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, your comments will be passed to our head office. More

Banstead
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

My partner and I stayed here for three days whilst attending a 50th Wedding Anniversary which was at the same venue. Our suite was spacious and comfortable and could have slept three as there was a single bed as well as the double. There was ample free parking. The bar area was cosy and friendly and the food was excellent.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Craig S, Public Relations Manager at Churchills Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us, it was a pleasure host you all for the 50th Wedding Anniversary party, we hope to see you again. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Churchills Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Churchills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Churchills Hotel

Address: 3 Llandaff Place | Cardiff Road, Cardiff CF5 2AE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff > Llandaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and HotelsClick so you can book your Churchills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churchills Hotel Cardiff, Wales

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Cardiff with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Number of rooms
35

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Churchills Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer