We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Jolyon's Boutique Hotel

Bute Crescent, Cardiff CF10 5AN, Wales
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jolyon's Boutique Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Jolyon's Boutique Hotel
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    55
    20
    20
    16
See reviews for
8
118
11
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (209)
  • Mar-May only
    (55)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (53)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (63)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (38)
All months
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We were travelling to Cardiff Bay to visit the Doctor Who Experience and wanted a hotel close-by. This was the nearest hotel and i'm so glad we decided to stay here. Lovely location and the view from our room was lovely. The room itself was clean and spacious and decorated well. It had a lovely big, modern bathroom. The staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pembroke
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The location in Cardiff Bay, beautiful room and friendliness of staff (Jonathan) make this hotel the best place to stay in Cardiff! The views the bay are stunning. A lovely boutique hotel. Will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It is very simple: a beautifully furnished b&b in a perfect spot! I'm not sure what people don't understand when you say check in after 3..I'm also not sure why would someone not understand an email lovely Jonathan sends the day before advising of the check-in times..we have actually arrived before 3pm qnd everything was perfect! Beautiful room with the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carl J, General Manager at Jolyon's Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear aggiesworld, Thank you very much for your review. I am glad you and your husband had a great stay. Jonathan is thrilled of your comments and I am glad you were well looked after. Kindest regards, Carl Davies General Manager More

Merthyr
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our fourth visit this year and wowee we didn't have to hang around outside!! On every other occasion they have had to send someone from the sister hotel on the other side of Cardiff. The first time we stayed there we had to wait in the pub next door. By the third time they had managed to operate... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carl J, General Manager at Jolyon's Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear philwill, Thank you very much for your feedback. Jonathan was thrilled to read of such kind comments, thank you. Our hotel is of limited service but still offering a high standard of service. Unfortunately the bar had closed, however rest assured we will be introducing a new concept in 2015. Kindest regards, Carl Davies General Manager More

london
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here for a few nights last month; it’s a nice hotel, in a nice location with nice staff. A little tired round the edges, but pleasant enough. Dripping tap was a nuisance but we got a bottle of wine for the inconvenience, only real gripe was the breakfast, neither of us enjoyed it, and it’s served in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Carl J, General Manager at Jolyon's Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear dieselbloke, Thank you very much for your review, we are currently upgrading our rooms at Jolyon's Boutique Hotel. It is very disappointing to read that you didn't enjoy breakfast, following your comments the tap has been fixed. We do hope to see you return in the near future Kindest regards, Carl Davies General Manager More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

Arrive at 4.20 pm to find hotel closed. Rang the bell and knocked the door. No answer. So much for the welcoming range of beers and food available! Phoned the number on the sign and was told they would call me back shortly. Stood in the rain. 15 minutes later I called them and they said they would get someone... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Carl J, General Manager at Jolyon's Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ThreeCrowns M, Thank you very much for your review regarding your time at Jolyons, It is with great regret to read that you made alternative accommodation arrangements. I am sorry to read that there was an issue upon arrival this certainly isn't the norm at Jolyon Boutique Hotel. Jolyons is now a limited service hotel offering Luxurious accommodation with... More

Swindon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

Booked Jolyon's as a single night stay in Cardiff. Booked through Booking.com. After reading some of the reviews I rang the Hotel to request Room 6 which was said to have an added veranda. We were easily moved. Unfortunately we missed our train , so arrived later then planned. When we did arrive we had to call the Hotel as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carl J, General Manager at Jolyon's Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear GazzaSwindon, Thank you for you review. Comments such as yours are always great to read and also utilised to improve where and when we can. I have shared your comments with Jonathan who is thrilled to read them. We do hope to see you visit in the near future. Kindest regards, Carl Davies General Manager More

North Wales
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
70 hotel reviews
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

Booked a one night stay and had room 1 with a four-poster bed. This hotel is only manned for period of times, e.g. breakfast and official check-in between 3 and 6. Pros: Very convenient location for all that Cardiff Bay has to offer; friendly and efficient check-in and out from welcome by Jonathan; lovely cooked breakfast by the cheff; nice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Carl J, General Manager at Jolyon's Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Welshman_on_2ur Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, I am very sorry to read that our hotel did not meet your expectations, however your comments have been use to ensure that we can improve where possible. Thank you for your comments, Kind regards, Carl Davies General Manager More

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

So, I booked for a nice stay prior to the Cardiff Half Marathon. My wife and I had a small double (Rm 403) which is decent enough. Good size bathroom and bed reasonable enough. The place has been done up nice and is an inviting environment, especially the bar. We enjoyed a couple of drinks early evening and was lovely.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carl J, General Manager at Jolyon's Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paul C, Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your time with us. Comments such as yours a valuable and used to ensure we continuously improve. We do hope this will not deter you from choosing to stay with us in the near future. Kindest regards, Carl Davies General Manager More

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
452 helpful votes 452 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

this is our 3rd stay here, and have never been disappointed ,we stay in the same room, number 2 with views of the bay, and a whirlpool bath, very warm and cosy room, staff cannot do enough for you. I must however say this visit was totally unexpected as I rang to confirm we were still booked in, as we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Carl J, General Manager at Jolyon's Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear piplyn, Thank you very much for your review regarding your stay with us. I am so pleased to read that Jonathan looked after you well we always strive to achieve the best in customer service and care. I have shared your comments with Jonathan who was thrilled to read them. Wishing you both all the best. Carl Davies General... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Jolyon's Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolyon's Boutique Hotel

Address: Bute Crescent, Cardiff CF10 5AN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Jolyon's Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolyons Boutique Cardiff
Hotel Jolyons Boutique
Jolyon's Boutique Hotel Cardiff, Wales

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay