We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   108 St Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1DX, Wales (Formerly Millennium Lodge) (City Centre)
Hotel amenities
ML Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added ML Lodge to your Saves list
Ranked #52 of 81 Hotels in Cardiff
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    11
    22
    11
    25
See reviews for
8
14
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (75)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (21)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (21)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (22)
All months
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Its a great cosy little budget hotel. It is clearly marked on the door that there is no lift so one cannot say one was not warned. The staff are very helpful and friendly which is an absolute plus. Clean, decent budget accommodation. Would stay there again

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pembrokeshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Gud size room clean n staff where very helpfull and polite. We will most certainly use this lodge again, its ideal for a place to crash the only thing wrong was there wernt enough tea n coffee n breakfast was lush x

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon6567, Manager at ML Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Katie for your superb comments. It is great to read that you have enjoyed yourself. Hopefully as you say we will see you again in the future and if so please contact reception regarding extra tea and coffee as they have plentiful supplies at the desk. More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel staff nice, only one key per room which considering there were 3 adults this was annoying. There were loads of steps, and by loads I mean loads and we stayed high. The room was really big and had lots of storage but it was dirty, cobwebs on ceiling, toothpaste and shower gel on walls and the light cord was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon6567, Manager at ML Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am very sorry that there were some cleanliness issues at the time you stayed. I shall speak with everyone concerned to ensure an improvement is made. Hopefully with this in mind you will consider staying with us in the future. More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

I think it's fair to say that when booking budget accommodations, you should have budget expectations. In this way, ML delivers what it promises. It is an inexpensive lodging that provides adequate housing for your stay. Some of the other reviews seem to be forgetting that. You can't compare this facility to the Four Seasons, or any other corporate chain... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon6567, Manager at ML Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am happy to read that in general you have enjoyed your stay. I agree the stairs are steep and I welcome you mentioning this so that guests are fully aware. I am so sorry about some of the uncaring people we had staying the same weekend as you. We... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014 via mobile

I was so appointed !!! Went there by 1:00 am midnight and the receptionist was telling me that I have room from Next day early morning. So I asked where would I go at midnight !!! He wasn't helpful at all. So I had to call different hotels and was on the street for few hours and finally at 4:30... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon6567, Manager at ML Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am very sorry that you had a problem with your booking. However I can confirm that you did book the wrong date. Check in for the date booked would have been from 2.00 pm and not from 1.00 am. 1.00am would have needed the booking date to be the night before. I apologise if... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014

Central city centre location perfect for exploring the city. Room was clean if a little basic. The hotel is paired with The Sandtingham opposite and the breakfast there was excellent. The staff were very friendly. For a one night stopover this is perfect for location and attitude of staff made me feel very welcome.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon6567, Manager at ML Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. It is great to read that you have enjoyed your stay. We are not the same owners as the Sandringham but we do have an arrangement with them for reception and breakfast. I will pass on your lovely comments to them. I hope to welcome you again in the future. Kind regards, Chris More 

Llanelli, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

Receptionist was lovely, very pleasnat and helpful. Rooms were clean and tidy, very central. Stairs were steep, and carpets a bit tatty (tho our room #4 was ok), curtains were a bit light were only problems. Front rooms are a bit noisy, but good view from them. Would go there again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon6567, Manager at ML Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. It is great to read that you have enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Chris More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

Very dirty and unkempt, our room and corridor stank of stale cigarettes. Holes in carpets, paint coming off the walls, the most filthy and worst place I've ever stayed in, including hostels. Felt dirty leaving the place. Unfortunately, the "lodge" uses the hotel across the road for reception services, so no manager or representative to speak with or complain to.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon6567, Manager at ML Lodge, responded to this review

I am very sorry that you have not enjoyed your stay. I agree that there is some rips in a couple of places on one set of stairs. This is caused by heels dragging on the carpet. We are looking at an alternative solution. There are no holes in the bedroom carpets though. We are currently repainting rooms. I did... More 

Rhodes, Greece
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

The room was very clean and comfortable. The service provided was very good. The rooms are up narrow,steep stairs but they are very clear about this on booking. The accomodation is very convenient for Central station, Millenium stadium, city centre shopping and local night life. The castle and Bute park are just at the end of the road.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon6567, Manager at ML Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you both so much for your lovely review. It was really nice to meet you. I am very happy to read that you have enjoyed your visit. Hopefully we shall welcome you again sometime in the future. Kind regards, Chris More 

Dromore, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2014

ok this is budget accommodation ,however a clean and fresh environment isn't much to ask for and I'm afraid HL lodge fell short of this .I was traveling alone or I would have had to relocate as my wife would not have taken her coat off .

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon6567, Manager at ML Lodge, responded to this review

Hello I am very disappointed to read that you have not enjoyed your stay. I will pass on your comments to the cleaning firm that we use to ensure an improvement is made. Chris More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to ML Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ML Lodge

Address: 108 St Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1DX, Wales (Formerly Millennium Lodge)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff > City Centre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — ML Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and EasyToBook so you can book your ML Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Hotel Cardiff
ML Lodge Cardiff, Wales

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (41)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay