We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 82 Cardiff hotels

ML Lodge

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   108 St Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1DX, Wales (Formerly Millennium Lodge) (City Centre)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added ML Lodge to your Saves list
ML Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
24%
Ranked #54 of 82 hotels in Cardiff
  • Overview
  • Reviews (57)
  • Photos (51)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (13)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    7
    14
    8
    23
See reviews for
6
8
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Our room was a double room with on suite. The room and bed were clean windows could have done with a clean but as we were at the back it was not a problem. The bed is well used but comfortable. ( I slept very well). Bathroom was clean and spacious. Tea and coffee in the room are known brands.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon6567, General Manager at ML Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am really happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay. I hope to welcome you again in the future. More

Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I really liked my time at this hotel. I stayed overnight in a single room which had its own bathroom and I thought that the price really matched the value. It definitely was not a five star hotel as the bed and pillows were a bit uncomfortable and the bathroom could do with some renovating. However it was very affordable... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon6567, Manager at ML Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Bianca for your lovely and very balanced review. I am really pleased that you have enjoyed your time with us and your stay in Cardiff. It was lovely meeting you and I will let everyone concerned know your comments. Hopefully as you say we will welcome you again in the future. More

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The wonder of this hotel is its position. It is a perfect place to stay if you are exploring Cardiff. But motor race made prices in this place like in Hilton. But again, wonderful location for all sorts of walks, night life right behind the window. A room was big and kept clean.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon6567, Manager at ML Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am glad that you have enjoyed your visit to Cardiff and hope that we will be able to welcome you again in the future. More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We were in room 8.A lot of stairs!!The room was clean,everything was working.There was a free entrance to Jazz Cafe which we enjoyed!!Very good location,Friendly staff.By the way,it was 98 steps up to our room so were left the room in the morning and return in the evening.Nobody offered us discount for parking so after we paid 10 quid for... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon6567, Manager at ML Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us and in Cardiff. We do as you say have many steep flights of stairs. I do not wish to hide this fact as although it could put some people off, it is very important for guests to know. Thank you for taking... More

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We were in room 9! Had a lot of stairs to climb, but having said that we need the exercise! The room was clean, everything worked though we didn't try the television and can assume that it did. Couldn't hear any noise up there in the stars, but get this, there was a special jazz night in the club next... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon6567, Manager at ML Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We honestly do try our best and we do care what people think about us. I am so pleased that you have enjoyed yourselves and I thank you for taking the time to write this review. Hopefully we will welcome you again soon. More

Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

Ml lodge Cardiff = real rip- off A shame. Really. We spent our second night in Cardiff at the "ML lodge" which turned out to be this overpriced disgusting dump place! Let me explain: the location is ok (ie in the city center of Cardiff) but it is right above a low cost kfc-like thingy so you'd better like days... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SimonSandringham, Manager at ML Lodge, responded to this review

I am very sorry that you have not enjoyed your stay. Our price did compare well with other city centre located accommodation providers on the night you stayed. Cardiff is more expensive on a Saturday than it is on other nights. Our prices are lower on weekdays. I do not agree with all your comments but I fully respect your... More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Stayed at ML lodge twice now. Both for birthday celebrations and I have no complaints what so ever. Service was quick, friendly bloke @ front desk who was welcoming. Rooms we're clean and tidy and beds were surprisingly comfy! No noises from any other guests and not far a walk from anything. You walk out the door and BAM everything... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SimonSandringham, Manager at ML Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your excellent review of us. I am really pleased that you have enjoyed your stay Hopefully on your advice others will see that we are a superb base to explore Cardiff as long as they can handle the stairs. Thank you for making us your first choice accommodation in Cardiff. Hopefully we will welcome you... More

Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Booked it for a last minute business trip to Cardiff. The room is very clean and comfortable and in a great location but it is basically a motel. A room to book to sleep in nothing more. If you are in Cardiff for a night out then it's perfect as it is in the city center but for business or... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SimonSandringham, Owner at ML Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your very balanced and fair review. I am very happy that you have enjoyed your stay. I am sorry that no one has given you the Wi-Fi password as we offer a good reliable service free of charge in all rooms. Hopefully we will welcome you again in the future. More

Llangefni, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Me and my brother went for a night out in Cardiff on a Friday, and this hotel was perfect for us. Reasonably priced twin bed room, and the location was excellent, right in the middle of the Cardiff nightlife. Room was clean, no complaints from either of us. Just a basic, decent, affordable hotel to crash in after a night... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SimonSandringham, Manager at ML Lodge, responded to this review

Wow thank you Sir for such a lovely review. I realise we have some bad reviews on this site but we are trying our best to be an affordable base and offer great value for money in the middle of Cardiff. We offer free Wi-Fi, tea and coffee making facilities, luggage storage and extra bedding. Lots of things that the... More

Tywyn, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Certainly no "frills" and could do with a good makeover, but it was clean, We were aware of this and a lot more by reading previous reviews. This was the only family room available in the centre of Cardiff on a Rugby International weekend !! ( and this was booked 3 months ahead !!) It was clean and had all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
owner123, Manager at ML Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your very fair and balanced review. I am delighted to read that you have noticed the many many extras that we offer that the chain budget accommodation does not. We do have steep stairs so we are not suitable for all but we do not try or want to hide this as it is correct... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage ML Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to ML Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ML Lodge

Address: 108 St Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1DX, Wales (Formerly Millennium Lodge)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff > City Centre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — ML Lodge 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotel.de and TripOnline SA so you can book your ML Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Hotel Cardiff
ML Lodge Cardiff, Wales

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Cardiff with
any amenities

Amenities

Restaurant
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
9

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from ML Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer