We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 81 Cardiff hotels

ML Lodge

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   108 St Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1DX, Wales (Formerly Millennium Lodge) (City Centre)
Hotel amenities
ML Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added ML Lodge to your Saves list
Ranked #52 of 81 Hotels in Cardiff
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    21
    9
    23
See reviews for
7
12
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (66)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (21)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lots of steep stairs so if youve got any problems with walikg up steep stairs this is not the place for you. Good location and central to shops and pubs but thats all I would say was good about this hotel. It needs a complete revamp with a complete refurbishment as carpet was stained and dirty, my son found a... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon6567, Manager at ML Lodge, responded to this review

I am very sorry that you have not enjoyed your stay. We are currently changing the carpets in rooms and will look at painting the wall. We put any money made back into the business so we honestly do our best for the prices we charge. Kind regards, Chris More

Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This guest house is in a very good central location. However it is let down by a room that could have been a lot cleaner. Also, it should have been made clear that breakfast was in a separate guest house across the street.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon6567, Manager at ML Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments. I am very sorry to learn that the room could have been cleaner. I will take this up with the staff members concerned. We do not actually serve breakfast but we do use the services of a hotel across the road. This is detailed on all websites so I am sorry that you... More

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

Twin room, one bed is small, the other bed is slightly bigger, big window to view the street, very comfortable and actually located in the city centre and very near the Cardiff Central Station, fair price. but without elevator.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon6567, Manager at ML Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you both so much for your review and for staying with us. I am glad that you have enjoyed yourselves. Hopefully we will welcome you again in the future. Kind regards, Chris More

Zipf, Austria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

Very good located in the middle of the city, close to central railway and bus station, near the castle and the Millennium Stadium. We had to climb steep stairs (79 steps!) to reach our room. The view into a dark backyard wasn’t nice, but the room was ok and towels were changed daily. Breakfast in Sandringham Hotel opposite ML Lodge... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon6567, Manager at ML Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. It was a pleasure to welcome you. I agree that we do have steep stairs but unfortunately no lift. This should be noted by fellow readers as I do not wish to hide this and annoy people in anyway. The Sandringham Hotel is not owned by us but we do use their facilities... More

Neath Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

I thought their was too many stairs and no lift and we were on the top floor. We were in the attic and I couldn't get the window to open which I felt could of been a fire hazard. The room was small but clean and the hotel was nice and quiet.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon6567, Owner at ML Lodge, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your review. I am pleased that you have generally enjoyed your stay. We do have a lot of stairs as you say. We can offer rooms on lower floors if requested. I promise that the window does open by pushing it upwards as it is a sky light. I hope you will consider staying again... More

Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

The hotel is very nice located in the main Street. Keys should be picked up in the building of another hotel opposite to the rooms. Room was quite big, but not new and clean (carpet and mattress were dirty). It was quite cold in the room. If you stay for 1 night, you may manage it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon6567, Manager at ML Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are currently changing our beds so an improvement will be made. We do have a heater in the room as well as a spare duvet. Extra heaters can also be requested. I hope you may consider staying with us again. Kind regards, Chris More

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

The location of the hotel is perfect! Right close to the central station and the cisty center. The building though is an old building, my room was very small and the matress was terrible. the lady in the reception asked a deposit of 50 pounds just for the keys and then another 20 pounds to lend an adaptor. in total... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon6567, Manager at ML Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am very sorry that you found the room small. I am currently replacing mattresses in rooms so this should solve the problems with the beds. There must have been some confusion with the payment. £50 was the room charge. £20 is a room key deposit that we ask for and we also ask for... More

uk
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

I have stayed here two times after nights out in Cardiff. Pros- It is no frills but it's reasonably priced, clean and and us three girls found it safe. It's right in the city Centre so you don't have to trek far to any where.Cons- Because of this on a weekend Friday/Saturday night it can be a bit noisy outside... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon6567, Manager at ML Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review and for supporting us when staying in Cardiff Hopefully we will welcome you again soon. Kind regards More

Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

Our room was a double room with on suite. The room and bed were clean windows could have done with a clean but as we were at the back it was not a problem. The bed is well used but comfortable. ( I slept very well). Bathroom was clean and spacious. Tea and coffee in the room are known brands.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon6567, General Manager at ML Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am really happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay. I hope to welcome you again in the future. More

Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

I really liked my time at this hotel. I stayed overnight in a single room which had its own bathroom and I thought that the price really matched the value. It definitely was not a five star hotel as the bed and pillows were a bit uncomfortable and the bathroom could do with some renovating. However it was very affordable... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon6567, Manager at ML Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Bianca for your lovely and very balanced review. I am really pleased that you have enjoyed your time with us and your stay in Cardiff. It was lovely meeting you and I will let everyone concerned know your comments. Hopefully as you say we will welcome you again in the future. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to ML Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ML Lodge

Address: 108 St Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1DX, Wales (Formerly Millennium Lodge)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff > City Centre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — ML Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your ML Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Hotel Cardiff
ML Lodge Cardiff, Wales

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay