We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

ML Lodge

108 St Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1DX, Wales (Formerly Millennium Lodge)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
ML Lodge
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

92 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    7
    17
    26
    14
    28
See reviews for
9
16
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (92)
  • Mar-May only
    (19)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (29)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (22)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (22)
All months
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is without doubt the worst hotel I've ever stayed at! And seeing as I stay in hotels on average 3 times a week for business over the past 6 years that's a big statement! Firstly, check in is across the road in another hotel and was an absolute nightmare. Must have £20 extra cash to receive a room key!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon6567, Manager at ML Lodge, responded to this review

I am very sorry that you have not enjoyed your stay. Obviously I do not agree with a lot of what you have written. We are well occupied. I appreciate the ML Lodge is not for you. I am also disappointed that you did not feel that you could check out feeling the way you did about the place. We... More 

Level Contributor
133 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here for 2 nights & was shocked at how filthy dirty it was & how someone can actually believe that selling rooms so bad is acceptable!! Yes, the location is fab, yes it is 'budget ' but just because its budget it does not mean that rooms should be filth!!! We were in room 9, at the very top... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon6567, Manager at ML Lodge, responded to this review

I am very sorry that you have not enjoyed your stay. I agree that rooms should be clean and I apologise that the carpet was not hoovered. I have spoken to the Housekeepers about this to ensure it does not happen again. The towels and linen are externally provided and the company supply a local five star hotel so they... More 

Travelers are raving about these Cardiff hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Pros - cheap, central location, easy check in Cons - smells like the chicken shop downstairs, very noisy generator next to room I had a very short stay at the ML Lodge as I needed to attend a nearby wedding. Check-in takes place across the road at the Sandringham Hotel. Note that you'll need to leave a deposit (either cash... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon6567, Manager at ML Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting the ML Lodge. I am glad that you believe us to be an acceptable form of accommodation. There is a water pump close to the room that you stayed in. It should not be ridiculously loud so I will get it serviced on your advice. I hope you will consider staying again. Kind regards, Chris More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

Booked a one night stay, paid £80.....only worth about £40 really, put in room 8 on the top floor, 100 steps to our room and 80 steps to our friends in room 6. Very narrow stairs old and dated with threadbare carpets, don't mind paying £80 a night but only if it's worth it, this one definitely isn't had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon6567, Manager at ML Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us recently. I am sorry that you did not find us to be value for money. I agree we do have many steep stairs and because of this the back part of some stairs have become threadbare due to them being scraped by heels. We are not sure what we can do about this within... More 

rochdale
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015

Stayed at ML Lodge for 4 nights whilst in Cardiff to watch first 3 days of Ashes Test Match. Location of hotel is ideal. Couldn`t be more central and easy walking distance to sports venues, castle, bars & restaurants. Also close to railway station and main bus interchange. Stayed in a single room which was quite spacious with large en-suite... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon6567, Manager at ML Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Richard for your review and for staying with us recently. I am very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back. Kind regards, Chris More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

Everything looks quite worn and old, but clean enough and works all right. Location is perfect though, being very close to the coach station, shopping malls and Cardiff Castle. Check-ins and Check-outs, plus breakfast is at Sandringham Hotel across the street. The stairs were a pain though as the stairwells were narrow and had tight corners. Lugging my suitcase up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon6567, Manager at ML Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for very fair and balanced review. I am glad that you have generally enjoyed your stay and hope that you will choose us if staying in Cardiff again. Kind regards, Chris More 

hants
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2015

vary good for the price in that this is in the city centre of Cardiff , rooms are up to date, clan and tidy but there are of stairs but with no lift to use but i you warned when making the booking with this place

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon6567, Manager at ML Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Adam for your excellent review. I am very happy that you have enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Chris More 

Somerset
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2015

Very tired budget hotel with its only redeeming factor being its central location and 2 minute walk to Millennium Stadium. It is worth no more than £30 per night and on concert days - simply due to its amazing location - no more than £60! The hotel is over 5 floors, above a fried chicken shop and my room (no.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Simon6567, Manager at ML Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review I am sorry that you have not enjoyed your stay. I was already aware of your comments and we have taken them on board in good faith. Rooms are currently in the process of getting painted. The Sandringham Hotel has different owners to us but we pay to use their reception to include dealing with... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

This lodge is pretty basic. The location is great, and for groups it has spacious rooms with an en suite bathroom. I travelled with 4 other girls, we were travelling for a night out. I was dreading this Lodge when we all decided to book, but it was the cheapest we could find and didn't want to spend over £40... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Simon6567, Manager at ML Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Paige for your review. I am glad you have enjoyed most parts of your stay. There is different room types on each level so this is why your rooms will have been apart. I agree the walls do need painting and we are in the process of doing this. We have a lot of positive reviews as well... More 

Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2015

My room was fine. Clean, tidy with plenty of room. Good shower. The only real drawback was two steep flight of stairs. Had to give a £20 deposit for the key at the Sandringham. Check in easy. The motel is actually better than it looks from the outside. Outside is only one small doorway. I wanted a cheap and cheerful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon6567, General Manager at ML Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Edwyn for your review I am very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay and I hope that we shall welcome you again soon. Kind regards, Simon More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

59 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (45)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.0 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#24 of 79 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 stars 630 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#22 of 79 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 stars 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Cardiff Centre
0.2 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#29 of 79 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 stars 573 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay