We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN PLUS New House Country Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Thornhill Road, Cardiff CF83 1LY, Wales
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Best Western to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS New House Country Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN PLUS New House Country Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

343 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    208
    97
    18
    13
    7
See reviews for
55
113
13
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (343)
  • Mar-May only
    (100)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (65)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (93)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (85)
All months
Cardiff, United Kingdom
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I recently attended a wedding here and booked an overnight stay. The room was spacious and spotlessly clean. The bed was extremely comfortable and I had one of the best night's sleep I'd had in a long time. The view from my balcony took in the whole of Cardiff and the night view was spectacular. There was a good selection... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Caerphilly
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

How lucky was I to be invited along with friends for afternoon tea in this beautiful hotel. Food was served traditionally on tiered stands displaying scrumptious sandwiches and parties. We were so well cared for and spent a lovely time chatting,taking photographs and drinking tea. So civilised where a good time was shared by all. Afterwards we sat on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alix S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS New House Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to write such a a lovely review regarding your recent visit to us for afternoon tea. I do hope you will visit us again for another occasion. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Attended "Jazz Afternoon Tea" yesterday. The food was lovely and the staff couldn't have been more attentive. I highly recommend a visit to The New House Hotel. The views across Cardiff on a clear day are beautiful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alix S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS New House Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for leaving your comments regarding your recent visit for the Jazz Afternoon Tea. I am so glad you enjoyed your afternoon and I do hope we will see you again. More 

Caerphilly County, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel was clean, we were welcomed on arrival with a lovely glass of prosseco. The afternoon was spent listening to a jazz group, the music was very enjoyable. However the afternoon tea was very poor. Having paid £17.50 each, we were disappointed with the food which consisted of 2 rounds of bread (per person) each being cut into quarters... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Alix S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS New House Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for your comments. The price of £17.50 does include your entertainment of the Jazz band, a glass of Prosecco as well the afternoon tea which would normally be priced at £14.95 on our menu. The afternoon tea price does include a round of sandwiches per person, scone with cream & jam, macaroon, chocolate éclair, tartlet and... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel has an amazing view, but that's where things stops. It's just not value for money. There wasn't enough space for all the guests to eat breakfast meaning some ended up eating off their knees in the lounge - really not what you'd expect in a hotel costing this much. My partner left a wallet and his tablet in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Alix S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS New House Country Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay. Unfortunately, we do have a smallish restaurant and on busy mornings it can get a little busy, however this is why we take room numbers and once a table has been relayed the guests are called through. We do not suggest for guests to eat off... More 

wales
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed one night, in the evening at check in the receptionist was lovely very very helpful. Our room was ok, for the price we had paid for one night the room was a bit of a let down. It was very tired looking, especially the bathroom very worn...plus the bad had not been emptied and has used sanitary items... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Alix S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS New House Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel, we encourage feedback both the good and the not so good. I am sorry you did not feel the stay was worth the money. With regards to your bedroom it is very unusual for the housekeeping staff to miss emptying a... More 

Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015

The hotel is in a. Rey nice place with a great view down to Cardiff and the bay. The staff was very courteous, responsive and helpful. We were put in a lovely room on the first floor with a king bed. But what an awful bed! Springs sticking up, edges down to the frame, and totally impossible to sleep. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Alix S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS New House Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us. We do appreciate all comments both the good and the not so good, as it is only with these comments we can improve our service. I do apologise for the fact you had an uncomfortable nights sleep, and for this reason we... More 

Solihull, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015

I have stayed at this hotel on a number of occasions, the double rooms with sofa bed are great, overlooking the valley and Cardiff bay. The rooms are large and spacious, however they are a little dated. I have also stayed in the Charlotte room, which did not have a view but has to rate as one of the nicest... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alix S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS New House Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your most recent stay with us, I am so glad you continue to stay with us at The New House. Thank you for your constructive comments, it is only with these comments we can strive to improve our service. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

406 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (342)
Viewed
Amenities (29)
Viewed
Charlotte Room (55)
Viewed
Countess Room Bridal Suite (70)
Viewed
Large Standard Room (46)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (26)
Viewed
Standard Room (44)
Viewed
The Hotel (72)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay