We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Jolyon's at No. 10

Certificate of Excellence
10 Cathedral Road | Pontcanna, Cardiff CF11 9L J, Wales
Hotel amenities
Jolyon's at No. 10
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ranked #13 of 45 Cardiff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
macmrs Ipswich, United Kingdom
Rate this Hotel

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    116
    44
    27
    14
See reviews for
39
184
9
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (394)
  • Mar-May only
    (90)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (109)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (108)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (87)
All months
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My husband and I spent two nights at Jolyons, and loved it's uniqueness. Our room was small but very pretty, and the shower was one of the best I've experienced in any hotel. However it is let down by lack of attention to detail. There was no long hanging in the cupboard, and the lighting was hopeless for trying to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carl J, General Manager at Jolyon's at No. 10, responded to this review

Dear macmrs, Thank you for your feedback, I am glad to read you enjoyed your time with us. I have taken your comments on board regarding your room, where we can we will improve. I do hope to see you return soon, Kindest regards, Carl Davies General Manager More 

Aberdare, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We enjoyed our right's stay at Jolyons, Cathedral Road. The room was lovely with a nice bathroom. Our evening meal was very good and the choice at breakfast was excellent. Staff were friendly and helpful. Good location. .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carl J, General Manager at Jolyon's at No. 10, responded to this review

Dear ralphy1680, Thank you very much for your review, I am very happy to read you had a good stay with us. I have shred your comments with my team. We do hope to see you return soon, Kindest regards, Carl Davies General Manager More 

Thetford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This was a 40th Birthday weekend celebration in Cardiff. It was perfectly location for my friends house and the town. The Hotel was great, the staff really helpful and friendly and the cooked breakfast was just the ticket. Clean and tidy the room (Deluxe) was lovely with a very generous sized bed and a great bathroom with an amazing shower.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carl J, General Manager at Jolyon's at No. 10, responded to this review

Dear Clare J, Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am thrilled to read you found my team helpful and friendly and that you had a good experience with us. I do hope you choose to stay at Jolyons on your next trip to Cardiff. Kindest regards, Carl Davies General Manager More 

Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Sunday lunch with friends, booked table for four 12.30. Entered a very quirky looking bar area with not one table or chair matching, which I thought was great. Bar staff and waitress very obliging. Ordered the scampi starter and lamb main course. I've always said that the gravy can make or break a meal, we have eaten in a few... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Carl J, General Manager at Jolyon's at No. 10, responded to this review

Dear Digby1654, Thank you very much for your recent feedback regarding Sunday lunch, on the whole I am glad to read you enjoyed, rest assured I have shared your feedback with chef regarding his chicken strips. I do hope to see you return soon. Kindest regards, Carl Davies General Manager More 

Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed at Jolyons on Sunday 17th March 2015 (the day after the Wales v Ireland rugby international) and I have to say the hotel exceeded all my expectations. It has a number of themed rooms and I stayed in one of the suites (the name of which unfortunately now escapes me), which had an open plan separate small living room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carl J, General Manager at Jolyon's at No. 10, responded to this review

Dear Johnswan67, Thank you very much for your fantastic feedback and I am thrilled to read that you would recommend your to others. I have shared your comments with my team at Jolyon's No10. We do hope to see you return in the near future. Kindest regards, Carl Davies General Manager More 

Drogheda, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was our 2nd stay here. The location of Joylon's is excellent being just around the corner from the Castle and Westgate St. Great for a rugby weekend. That being said it would appear that they have absolutely no idea what they are trying to be. One minute it is a luxury B&B that serves some food and drink. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Carl J, General Manager at Jolyon's at No. 10, responded to this review

Dear Fourdogs_13, Thank you very much for your feed back regarding your time with us. I am sorry for any delays you had in receiving the required service. Like most hotels in Cardiff Jolyons at No10 Boutique Hotel is a full service hotel offering Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Afternoon Tea, and Dinner, as well as and Conference and Banqueting requirements and... More 

Swansea
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I took my Mum out for Sunday lunch for Mothers day. I had booked the meal three weeks prior and phoned to confirm the booking 2 hours before arriving. When we arrived at the restaurant I was told my two members of staff that we were not on the list but that they would make a table up for us,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carl J, General Manager at Jolyon's at No. 10, responded to this review

Dear melall, Thank you very much for your review of your time with us at Jolyon's No10. Please accept my sincere apologies for the service you have experienced this is not the norm. I have shared your comments with our restaurant manager who I know will certainly user your feed back to use as a training tool with the team.... More 

1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Don't be fooled by the title of your room, The Venetian Suite was poorly decorated with cheap miss matched furniture, nothing Venetian about it. The room was clean except for 2 used contact lenses left on the bedside table! No menu in the room for room service, when we called reception to ask no one answered! Eventually after several attempts... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Carl J, General Manager at Jolyon's at No. 10, responded to this review

Dear Rowan P, Thank you very much for your review regarding your recent stay with us at Jolyon's No10. I am very disappointed to read of the service your received during your stay and that your room service I agree was unacceptable. I cant unfortunately trace your details in our booking system, as Ideally I would welcome the opportunity to... More 

New Forest
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for two nights at the Jolyon at No 10 on our first ever trip to Cardiff. Approached the hotel from the back (as we had initially parked in Sophia Gardens) so first sight was the newer rear extension and very grey looking net curtains - oh dear we thought. However, on going into reception we were warmly greeted by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carl J, General Manager at Jolyon's at No. 10, responded to this review

Dear Justalocal9, Thank you very much for your feedback, Its great to read you had a change of opinion since entering our hotel. Rest assured we have taken your comments on board and now have brighter lighting in place. We do hope to see you return in the near future Kindest regards, Carl Davies General Manager More 

Cardff
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
488 helpful votes 488 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a voucher from a social media site. We had a two course Sunday lunch with a glass of wine. The choice and quality of the food was excellent and the staff friendly and helpful. We will definitely go there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carl J, General Manager at Jolyon's at No. 10, responded to this review

Dear AMGWales, Thank you very much for your review. I am thrilled to read of your feedback regarding your Sunday lunch. I have been informed this morning that you returned on this Sunday and I am glad you enjoyed. We do look forward to seeing you return again soon Kind regards, Carl Davies General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

76 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (44)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question