We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Jolyon's at No. 10

Certificate of Excellence
10 Cathedral Road | Pontcanna, Cardiff CF11 9L J, Wales
Hotel amenities
Jolyon's at No. 10
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #15 of 44 Cardiff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Patrick B Cardiff, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

441 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    214
    129
    52
    28
    18
See reviews for
46
206
9
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (441)
  • Mar-May only
    (116)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (130)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (108)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (87)
All months
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I recently visited the hotel for a three course meal and was very impressed! The most impressive course was the dessert, I had the “Snickers” option which had shortbread and home-made peanut ice cream with chocolate sauce. This was one of the best desserts I have ever had!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stay here quite a bit on business as is just round the corner from the office. Staff are great and rooms are all different which makes a nice change (although I must have stayed in all of them by now). Overall hotel is perfectly serviceable for a couple of nights every now and again. Only criticisms are that in places... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carl J, General Manager at Jolyon's at No. 10, responded to this review

Dear Alex M, Thank you very much for your review. Indeed you are correct we have began replacing and changing different furnishings around the hotel. Look out for the full refurbishment of the reception, restaurant and bar in the coming weeks. Kindest regards, Carl Davies General Manger More 

Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have stayed here several times over the years, rooms are starting to get a little tired and rooms can be very hot in summer as no air conditioning however the staff are great and cannot do enough for you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carl J, General Manager at Jolyon's at No. 10, responded to this review

Dear 66tink2, Thank you very much for your review, we are currently upgrading in areas of the hotel which require the most attention. I am glad to read that my team are looking after you well. Look out for the refurbishment of the Reception, Restaurant and Bar in the coming weeks. kindest regards, Carl Davies General Manager More 

Pau, France
Level Contributor
120 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great Staff. We had pre-booked a car parking space with them as we were staying 3 days. There is further public parking just behind the hotel in Sophia Gardens ( metered). Twin Room was a deluxe Negatives - Single beds were the narrowest ( 75cm?) I have seen which was ridiculous as the room could have taken at least 2... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carl J, General Manager at Jolyon's at No. 10, responded to this review

Dear asterix_et_oblelix, Thank you very much for your review. We are currently upgrading the brightness of lighting in the bathrooms and further more we have invested in a air conditioning unit to trail based on guest feed back. I am thrilled to read that you have found the staff and breakfast excellent and I'm happy to see you enjoyed our... More 

Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Being our first ever visit to Cardiff and wanting to be close to the castle and high street I searched trip advisor and Joylons seemed like the right choice. We were not wrong the room was lovely it was a big two roomed suite. The only odd thing was the "plunge pool" in the bath room which was in fact... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Carl J, General Manager at Jolyon's at No. 10, responded to this review

Dear Phil H, Thank you very much for your review, I am sorry to read you didn't enjoy the Japanese plunge pool and the relaxing soft blue lighting in the bathroom. Do contact the hotel direct upon your next booking to see if we have an available room that best fits. We do hope to see you return in the... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you are looking for the best, this is it! The staff are exceptional, the ambience magical and the rooms beautiful. Looking forward to their usual fab breakfast tmro. The two lovely staff at our check in could not have been more welcoming. We are already talking autumn dates.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carl J, General Manager at Jolyon's at No. 10, responded to this review

Dear Sharon I am thrill to read you recommend our hotel, and I'm glad to read you will return in the Autumn. I do look forward to welcoming you back soon, Kindest regards, Carl Davies General Manager More 

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked a 2 night stay at this lovely boutique hotel and couldn't be more pleased. Great staff, friendly and attentive in every way. Lovely spacious suite with plunge bath, and in a cracking location, was perfect. Food is seriously good - give this place a call, you will not be disappointed! Thanks to the team there, I will be back

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carl J, General Manager at Jolyon's at No. 10, responded to this review

Dear Peter L, Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us at Jolyons No10, I am thrilled to read that you found us faultless and you would recommend us. I do hope to see your return soon, Kindest regards, Carl Davies General Manager More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2015

I've developed a bit of a thing about afternoon tea over recent months so have tried a number of them in and around Cardiff and must admit that this was one of the worst! It started well with a nice welcome from the guy behind the bar and a wide selection of teas but went down hill once the food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carl J, General Manager at Jolyon's at No. 10, responded to this review

Dear Salimali1, Thank you very much for your recent review regarding your Afternoon tea. I am very disappointed to read that it was poor. Rest assured based on guest feedback, we have reviewed that standards and the offering of afternoon tea, I do hope you would come along again to see the change ! With kind regards, Carl Davies General... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2015

I've been to Jolyons at No. 10 quite a few times over the last four years on business, it's convenient as it's so close to the Cardiff office. Its had its ups and downs over that time. Sometimes the food has been verging on poor and sometimes very good; they refreshed the menu and changed the chef in 2014 (may... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Carl J, General Manager at Jolyon's at No. 10, responded to this review

Dear Graham F, Thank you for your recent review. As a valued long term guess I would welcome the opportunity to discuss issues faced during your stay and to see how or what we can do to put them right. There have been a number of changes at the hotel and still a number due to happen. Do contact me... More 

Wallington, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

My partner and I stayed ay Jolyons No 10 this weekend. We stayed in one of the suites, the bed was very comfortable, the breakfast freshly cooked and hot and the hotel in a very good location however the bathroom situation was ridiculous and quite frankly dangerous. The bathroom is tiny, in the loft void of the property and no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carl J, General Manager at Jolyon's at No. 10, responded to this review

Dear 329anita, Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry to read you found our hotel misrepresented. All of our rooms are provided with bath mats of the towelling sort. Kind regards, Carl Davies General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

78 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (46)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
1.7 mi away
Jolyon's Boutique Hotel
Jolyon's Boutique Hotel
#25 of 80 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 stars 242 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
0.6 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#5 of 80 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 stars 1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre
1.0 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#10 of 80 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,456 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#22 of 80 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 stars 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay