We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Jolyon's at No. 10

Certificate of Excellence
10 Cathedral Road | Pontcanna, Cardiff CF11 9L J, Wales
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Management photos
Jolyon\\
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

449 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    216
    133
    54
    28
    18
See reviews for
47
209
10
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (449)
  • Mar-May only
    (116)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (137)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (109)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (87)
All months
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

I booked to have somehwere pleasant to stay within walking distance of Rail Station (17 mins with roll along case) and SSE SWALEC (10 mins) for the cricket, this was due to the recent Rail Strike. On a budget I booked a DoubleCompact "away from the lift" but with a bath and hoped I would not get one on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Located in the heart of Cardiff with off street parking and attentive staff this hotel had high hopes. The room we were offered away from the noise of the street had a double bed. I would have thought King size is standard in quality standard rooms. It was ok but no better than a premier inn standard room. The bathroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Caerphilly
Level Contributor
66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I'd fancied staying at Jolyons in the Bay for some time and my husband booked this as a treat. It was perfectly nice but we both felt it lacked a little something. The room was mostly clean and tidy aside from the bathroom that looked like it had had some hard times with a piece broken off and there was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very closely situated to the City Centre, just a 5 minute walk with a relatively cheap car park behind in a council run car park (24 hours for £10.30) do not Park in the hotel car park...It's tight and a nightmare to get out of. The staff are a credit to the hotel, extremely helpful and very professional reception staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carl J, General Manager at Jolyon's at No. 10, responded to this review

Dear sarahrees222, Thank you very much for sharing your comments regarding your stay with us. My team are a credit to our hotel, I we still strive to achieve higher. I am thrilled to read you found the team extremely helpful and very professional. I do hope to see you return soon Kind regards, Carl Davies General Manager More 

Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely afternoon tea, table was set up and reserved for the 4 of us in the window The waiter, Rudi, was very pleasant and attentive We were offered a choice of White or rose prosecco as soon as we were seated. The food was brought out straight away and was moist and fresh The lady I reserved with checked about... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carl J, General Manager at Jolyon's at No. 10, responded to this review

Dear Yodieo93, Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your afternoon tea summer treat at our hotel. I am glad the you were well looked after by Rudi, I is thrilled to read of your comments, I am happy to see he was very attentive. I have shared your comments with my head chef regarding the cake and sandwiches. The... More 

Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My wife & me stayed at jolyons no10 for 3 nights.The hotel is really nice & staff fantastic nothing was too much trouble for them. The hotel is about 15mins walk through a lovely park to Cardiff Castle which is opposite shops bar & restaurants.I would like to say a big thank you to all the staff for making a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carl J, General Manager at Jolyon's at No. 10, responded to this review

Dear Bernard W, Thank you very much for sharing your experience of our hotel. I am thrill to read of such a lovely review. I am glad that you found the hotel wonderful and the staff fantastic. Its great to see you had a brilliant stay and I do hope you choose our hotel on your next trip to Cardiff.... More 

North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived to a warm welcome. The surprise was the creatively decorated room. Had an impressive bedroom with four poster style bed and modern bathroom. Lovely small touches e.g. Homemade shortbread in room. I would definitely return. It was ideal location for my purposes but some people may think it's slightly out of the main town centre - only takes 7... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carl J, General Manager at Jolyon's at No. 10, responded to this review

Dear Dol123, Thank you very much for your review I am please to see you experienced our usual warm welcome. I do agree that are location is ideal for all the surrounding facilities that Cardiff has to offer. I do hope to see you return in the near future With kind regards, Carl Davies General Manager More 

Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is the most interesting hotel that I have stayed at in Cardiff. Quirky decor ( the suite was very spacious and had a French chateau vibe!) and I liked the plunge pool and the blue night light in the bathroom very much, unlike some other reviewers. It was great to find sweets and home made shortbread biscuits provided with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Carl J, General Manager at Jolyon's at No. 10, responded to this review

Dear EirianCymraes, The you very mush for sharing your experience at our hotel. I am thrilled that you loved the Quirky décor, your Japanese Plunge Pool and the LED blue lighting in the bathroom. Its always a privilege to read that my team at No10 are very helpful and friendly. I am glad you found our location convenient for the... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2015

I recently visited the hotel for a three course meal and was very impressed! The most impressive course was the dessert, I had the “Snickers” option which had shortbread and home-made peanut ice cream with chocolate sauce. This was one of the best desserts I have ever had!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carl J, General Manager at Jolyon's at No. 10, responded to this review

Dear Patrick B, Thank you for sharing your experience of our hotel on Trip advisor. I am thrilled to read you found the hotel and excellent place, I am glad you enjoyed dessert. I do hope to see you return soon, With kind regards, Carl Davies General Manager More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

Stay here quite a bit on business as is just round the corner from the office. Staff are great and rooms are all different which makes a nice change (although I must have stayed in all of them by now). Overall hotel is perfectly serviceable for a couple of nights every now and again. Only criticisms are that in places... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carl J, General Manager at Jolyon's at No. 10, responded to this review

Dear Alex M, Thank you very much for your review. Indeed you are correct we have began replacing and changing different furnishings around the hotel. Look out for the full refurbishment of the reception, restaurant and bar in the coming weeks. Kindest regards, Carl Davies General Manger More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

80 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (48)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
1.7 mi away
Jolyon's Boutique Hotel
Jolyon's Boutique Hotel
#25 of 79 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 stars 250 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
0.6 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#5 of 79 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 stars 1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#16 of 79 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,950 reviews
1.8 mi away
The St. David's Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay