We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Travelodge Cardiff Central

St Mary's Street, Imperial Gate, Cardiff CF10 1FA, Wales
Hotel amenities
Travelodge Cardiff Central
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #38 of 80 Hotels in Cardiff
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Floggett Cambridge, United Kingdom
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    50
    38
    19
    20
See reviews for
25
51
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (160)
  • Mar-May only
    (58)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (24)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (29)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (49)
All months
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Clean, cheap room nice and close to everything, e.g.: restaurants, pubs, shops, station etc. We didn't have any problem with noise unlike other guests as this end of the city is pretty quiet and in the process of redevelopment, so not many of the bars around the hotel are actually open. The one negative, however, is the customer service. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Several of the Wrexham Sing With Us Choir stayed overnight here. I shared with two others on the second floor overlooking the street. The room was clean, basic but no phone so I had to go down to reception in the morning in my dressing gown to request more loo roll, tea and milk. There were two singles and one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gloucester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had to book a night here as the Premier Inn we had been staying at could not accommodate us for an extra night. I will not use Travelodge again as sadly it compares very unfavourably with Premier Inn.Everything felt so second class. The carpets, although vacuumed, very badly in need of a proper clean. The staff were nothing like... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Cardiff hotels

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We booked 3 rooms for a hen night for 5 of us. It was very well located for that purpose and the staff were friendly and happy to help especially when there was a mix up with the company we had booked through. It was clean, modern and had all the facilities we needed. For our use, it was perfect.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

we stayed here for a work placement, it is very central a few minutes walk from the train station. it's very nice inside,friendly staff, rooms are very clean and fresh and bright, we stayed for 2 days and the hotel is next door to a walkabout bar, this isn't a place for a good night's sleep unless you have earplugs(... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pontypool
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great for having a room with a disabled toilet (in the best town for wheelchair access), tho the bath is inaccessible for most. Bad news is the room is above a late night club. A bit of bass I can handle but being able to name every tune, with the DJ screaming over the top is unacceptable. Mambo Number 5... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Staying at the Cardiff Central travelodge was brilliant. Everything you could need and more! Right in the middle of all the bars and shops. The rooms were clean (everywhere) and the staff were really friendly and helpful. A top stay. Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked a night in this Travelodge to save us from driving home after a gig at the arena. We used the NCP Car Park behind, and had our ticket validated in Reception which gave us 20% off (£15.40 for overnight parking) The room was fine - see photos - standard refurb Travelodge. But the stay wasn't great. We got... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Havant, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was the worst travelodge we have stayed in. The base beat vibrated the bed and whole room all weekend as the adjacent nightclubs stay open till 6am. It was full of hen/stag guests at the weekend who come and go all night. If you have children don't stay at this one. It also needs a deep clean/redecoration.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Firstly, this branch of Travelodge DOES NOT have a car park on site. If you require one, you're better off going to the branch in Cardiff Bay (which I wished I booked into but never mind). The car park to this particular one is served by NCP at the rear of the car park. Prices are not cheap but if... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Cardiff Central, responded to this review

We appreciate the time you have taken to review our hotel. We’re truly sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your time with us. This hotel is located in a central area and, whilst we are aware that our central hotels may experience higher levels of noise, we’re really sorry that you were disturbed by the level of noise... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay