We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Travelodge Cardiff Central

St Mary's Street, Imperial Gate, Cardiff CF10 1FA, Wales
Hotel amenities
Travelodge Cardiff Central
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #36 of 80 Hotels in Cardiff
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Julie F Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

198 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    42
    62
    46
    24
    24
See reviews for
35
61
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (198)
  • Mar-May only
    (60)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (60)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (29)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (49)
All months
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed for one night. Room was fine, shower was the definite highlight with good temperature control and pressure. However could not sleep with noise from both inside and outside the hotel. Didn't even bother contacting the staff because they can't exactly turn the volume down in the nightclub next door, can they? Also noise from bottle bank behind the building... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

There was no hot water for one day. I asked for a refund a week ago and got no response. Unacceptable. What year is it? Windows dirty. Noise from outside at night, couldn't sleep. No breakfast facilities, only food box.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
TravelodgeUK, Niki from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Cardiff Central, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're sorry learn of the problems you have experienced. The hotel would like to look into your concerns further so they can resolve this matter for you. Therefore please can we kindly ask that you contact them directly on 0203 195 4562. Thank you again for your review. More 

Travelers are raving about these Cardiff hotels

South East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Easy to find with 2 carparks (not Travelodge) right behind the hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful. Only one side of the hotel was quiet due to the other over looking clubs and pubs, although it didn't stop us from sleeping. Would stay again as nice and close to everything

Was this review helpful? Yes
Merthyr Tydfil County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The outside looks great but inside is tired and worn out from the lift onwards. The lift button is held on with sellotape, the floors creak and move with every step. The room was average but then could only see some of it at night as only 1 of 4 light actually worked. Don't worry about security either as this... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here for 2 nights with my partner and his parents for the speedway GP. For this event, the Travelodge is in the perfect location. Close to the bars/restaurants & shops and for us it was particularly important that it was close to the Millennium stadium. The rooms were modern and stylish as well as being the perfect size. Myself... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed here for only one night, after my partners birthday, as it was close to the main train station and close to bars, restaurants and clubs in the city. It was clean, large and simple. Very close to supermarkets if you wanted to save money, however was a shame the room didn't have a fridge. However one of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
north of england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Clean comfortable and basic. Great location everything within walking distance. Next door to pub which served great full English for £2.99. Parking at NCP which is just behind hotel is quite expensive at £16 day. Would stay there again.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fishguard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Usual Travelodge style. I have stayed in this one on several occasions and will continue to do so as always very clean. Crisp white bedding and a clean bathroom. Rooms are basic but for what you pay they are outstanding. If you just want a clean bed for night that is comfortable and quiet give this hotel ago, you won't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here between the 3rd and the 5th July 2015 with my Mum, Dad & My Girlfriend. This hotel would certainly be a recommendation of mine. We stayed here for the Cardiff Speedway Grand Prix and this hotel is in the prime location for that. It is right in the city centre so you are always right in the middle... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TravelodgeUK, Niki from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Cardiff Central, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our Cardiff Central hotel. We’re pleased to learn that you were happy with the location of our hotel. We aim to situate our hotels in great locations so guests can take advantage of many places nearby to visit. We are really sorry to hear that the room temperature spoiled your stay with us. We strive to... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Overall everything is fine,this is what you expect for a budget hotel. The only bad thing is the hotel free wifi is only lasts for 30 mins. The staff was friendly and the check in and check out procedure is real fast.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Cardiff Centre
0.1 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#25 of 80 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 stars 556 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#24 of 80 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 stars 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#21 of 80 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 stars 726 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#32 of 80 in Cardiff
3.5 of 5 stars 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay
Back to top