We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Castle Street, Cardiff CF10 1XD, Wales
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    289
    159
    39
    23
See reviews for
99
195
43
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (674)
  • Mar-May only
    (167)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (182)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (157)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (168)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

I was very impressed how easy and quick it is getting from the Central train station to the hotel. Dont be tempted with a taxi, as it is a very pleasent walk. Rooms are small, but beds are well comfortable and you have everything you need. I was really impressed with the quality of breakfast - just the right amount... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

The short break ( 3days ) at the Holiday Inn was very good - the staff were very welcoming and the rooms ( our party occupied 3 ) were lovely and spotless - the highlight was the superb breakfast - so much choice and excellent quality . Well done and thank you .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Everything about this hotel is absolutely fine, but nothing is amazing, which is what you should expect at an Holiday Inn! The breakfast was nice, but veggie sausages weren't on offer, which a more expensive place might do. The room was clean and tidy. The bed was great and the bathroom stocked with essentials. The only negative (and the reason... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
75 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed here many times before as an ihg member The hotel is in a good location in the centre The rooms have been updated although not to a high standard The wifi was so slow although it's free if you want it faster you have to pay The air con system didn't work so the room was too hot and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here on business for one night. The hotel is ok and exactly what you would expect from a budget hotel. Beds are comfortable, bathroom clean although a little small, nice views of park/castle and within easy reach of train station. There was a good selection of breakfast available however it was mostly cold which was disappointing.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Our first visit to Cardiff and the holiday inn. Very pleasant rooms, spotlessly clean, and with a beautiful view over Bute park. We were on the front of the hotel and yes there is a main road between the hotel and the park, but this didn't bother or disturb me in the slightest, this is a city centre hotel, what... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review

What a lovely review, thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay and I am very pleased you had such a super time. It is nice to see that all the facilities were to your expectations ,but most importantly that Loreta made such a fantastic lasting impression on you. I do hope we have the pleasure... More 

Llangollen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

There's nothing actually wrong with this hotel. It's in a good location, everything worked, it's just in teh details that you see penny pinching. So lot's of hot water, and the tea is okay. You can get fried eggs for breakfast, and a good fruit salad. The decor looks plastic, even if it isn't. They charge a fortune for internet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, and was pleased to note that on the whole you had an enjoyable stay. I appreciate your observations which are most useful. As a small point we do stock Brains Bitter which whilst a keg product is most certainly local, we are in the process of looking to add some more local lines to celebrate... More 

Hoylake, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had to visit our grand-daughter in Cardiff and needed an overnight stop. We received a very friendly and informed welcome, the room was excellent and very clean as were the public areas. The bar service was good although there appeared to be a shortage of bar-staff. We were disappointed with the 'hot' breakfast which was in fact almost cold... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for choosing us for your visit to Cardiff. I was pleased to note that on the whole you had a good stay, however it appears our usually high standards at breakfast we not apparent when you visited the restaurant, and I am most sorry for this. I do hope we have the pleasure of... More 

England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I spent 30 -45 mins explaining to the staff on checking in that I'd had already paid. And I'd received an email my reservation had been cancelled, but still knowing that I had already paid once I trusted the staff in checking me in and reserve balance on my card, until I obtained bank statement. It wasn't until 11 o'clock... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review

I am sorry that you experienced some issues during your recent stay, which I believe have now been resolved & explained through direct contact with ourselves. Thank you for your time to complete this review as all feedback is important to us. Kind regards Richard Platts General Manager More 

Bridgend, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed at the Holiday Inn before and always enjoyed a pleasant stay. This weekend we were celebrating our Anniversary. We were greeted by chocolates and a card in our room which was a lovely thought. The room was clean and comfortable; with a lovely view of the Castle. Only downfall was the roadworks at 8 a.m. Sunday morning!!!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review

I am glad that you had a lovely anniversary stay with us and the team went the extra mile to make it special. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future. kind regards Richard Platts General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

130 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (97)
Viewed
View from room (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (46)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (12)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question