We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Castle Street, Cardiff CF10 1XD, Wales
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    303
    166
    40
    24
See reviews for
105
204
44
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (704)
  • Mar-May only
    (197)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (182)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (157)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (168)
All months
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed here on business this month, after a horrific five hours delay from Paddington. The staff were extremely helpful, and the barman offered me a drink on the house after my ordeal. Breakfast was excellent too. However, my room faced the main road and was very loud. As it was a Friday night I was woken several times during... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The bed was comfy, sheets were clean & polite recepton staff- these are about the only pro's of staying here! Shame about the rest.. Its true what people say about the bathroom, tiny, had a cracked sink & flooded the place when I had a shower! No free wifi & awful breakfast- do not pay £9.50 for it!! I also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, all feed back regarding the hotel is most useful. I was pleased to note that the team made a positive impression, and that the cleanliness was to your expectations. I shall of course be looking into all the matters you have highlighted. Kind regards Richard Platts General Manager More 

Gloucester
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were give tickets to a local music event and decided to make a night of it and stay over. Late room booking but couldn't have wished for better. We checked in earlier as our room was ready. We had a disabled room and it was spacious and the bathroom was huge. All very clean. Our room overlooked the car... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us on your recent trip to the capital of Wales. I am pleased to note you had a nice stay and everything was as you had expected, particularly the team who were helpful and friendly, and how clean the hotel was. I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you... More 

Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very basic hotel. Not much more to say to be honest. Definitely in need of a makeover. I stayed here with the Mrs as she had a conference. We asked about another night and was told would be another £150. No chance. Currently staying in another hotel that's £60 cheaper and to be fair is much much nicer, bigger and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your recent stay. I am sorry that you felt the value was not to your expectations, I do of course value all feedback relating to the hotel. Kind regards Richard Platts General Manager More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Comfy, compact room with everything you'd need as a solo traveller. Also had breakfast and dinner, both of which were delicious. However, I think the wifi charge of around £20 a day is extortionate in 2015! Would, however, return as I much prefer this chain to other budget chains.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing us to stay with for your recent visit to Cardiff. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and particularly the meals in the restaurant. The WiFi is available at no charge to IHG Rewards Members which is free to join and has many other benefits. I do hope we can welcome you back to the... More 

Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I was very impressed with the cleanliness of our hotel room, the bathroom was spotless no black or mouldy mastic in this bathroom, the only downside was that it was rather tiny but did have everything you would need, but saying this I would still recommend this hotel and certainly would stay here again. The staff were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review

I am glad we made such a good impression on your first visit to Cardiff. I do hope you enjoyed all the local attractions in the city and that you are left wanting more ready for a second visit.... I shall circulate your review to the team who by the sound of things have all contributed to your stay in... More 

Holyhead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Only a three day stay hear with my wife and family ,check in was very fast the welcome good .the room we had on the second floor was very comfortable but over looking a car park we could not operate the shower we had to get a member of the staff to switch it on for us ,so I had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am glad to note that overall you had a nice stay with us on your recent trip to Cardiff with your family. I am sorry that there was an issues with your shower on the first morning, however it sounds like the team were able to rectify this for you. Breakfast is always popular... More 

Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just spent the weekend in Cardiff. Booked into the Holiday Inn. Great location. Overlooking the River Taff, Cardiff Castle, Cardiff Arms Park & the Millennium Stadium. About 10 mins walk from city centre. Breakfast was only £10 extra for 2 per night and was good value. Parking £10 per day. Faults - Standard rooms small and so is bathroom. Cheap... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us, and I am pleased to note that you would stay again with us, I appreciate your comments and observations, all feedback is most useful to assist us in making changes to benefit our guests. Kind regards Richard Platts General Manager More 

Nottinghamshire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for three nights on a Travel Editions package. We were impressed with the standard, quantity and quality of the food which, on package trips, can often be basic. All the staff were very pleasant and helpful. Just a wor d of caution. being near the centre the bar seems to be a bit of a magnet for hen parties... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your recent short break with us. It sounds like you had a lovely time with us, I do hope you found the rest of Cardiff equally enjoyable. I have noted your point on the WiFi, we do as a brand standard offer this free to all IHG Rewards guests, this is a free to... More 

Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Holiday Inn is ideally situated in the City Centre It is a well run hotel .the staff are very friendly nothing is too much trouble for them. The restaurant is well organised and efficiently run The quality of the breakfast is first class with considerable choice The waitress JAQUIE was pleasant and so energetic she identified your needs and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Cardiff, I am so pleased you had a great experience with us. Thank you for mentioning the exceptional service by Jaquie, I shall ensure she is recognised for her efforts. I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards Richard Platts General... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

131 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (98)
Viewed
View from room (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (46)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay