We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre

3.0 of 5 Castle Street, Cardiff CF10 1XD, Wales
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    268
    152
    37
    22
See reviews for
92
187
41
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (638)
  • Mar-May only
    (150)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (182)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (157)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (149)
All months
Renfrewshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Checked in for one night D/BB, for race and received a discount through British Athletics. No one told us that meant inferior menu or wouldn't have bothered with dinner. Food was absolutely awful. And if that is any relation to the rest of their menu then don't eat in this hotel. Room was clean but overly hot and temp couldn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wales
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Easy checkin but our name spelt wrong and therefor problems with the complementary Wifi for our loyalty card membership, I did tell the receptionist at the time of checkin the name was wrong, but alas, she didn't care. The water was off when we arrived which was no problem, but the knock on effect seems to be noise in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review

I am really sorry that levels of service were not what they should have been for your recent stay. The matters reference the water were out of our control somewhat as Welsh Water closed off the local area on Sunday for some necessary mains work. We have looked into your comments and my colleague I believe has already responded to... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Quiet,relaxing,a good get away place,the burgers are good,staff friendly,very quiet good relaxing place for a weekend will definitely stay for some quiet time to get away,tesco very near from hotel and Mac Donald's rite across

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for choosing us to stay with. I am glad that you were able to have a nice relaxing time with us and that the team looked after you well. I do hope that we see you again soon Kind regards Richard Platts General Manager More 

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
54 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First stopover here after trying several other hotels in the city centre. Plus points are: Very efficient checkin and checkout Fast lifts Good food in the bar. Staff were friendly and helpful Exec rooms well furnished and equipped. The Bluetooth speakers a nice addition Plentiful breakfast Negatives Bathrooms a bit cramped Wifi, whilst free, limited to 2 devices Breakfast expensive... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, and also for giving us a try after staying in a few of our competitors. I am really glad that you found many things to your liking, and also for the balanced feed back that we shall take on board. I do hope that next time you are staying in Cardiff we have opportunity to... More 

weston super mare
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Holiday Inn's I think are generally quite nice. You know what you are getting and can guarantee a good nights sleep. We did stay here on a Saturday before xmas so we knew it would be party central in Cardiff but the noise from the road was so terrible that neither of us slept at all! In addition I feel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review

I am sorry that the background noise from the city roads disturbed your nights sleep with us. The rooms do all have modern sealed units double glazing, however I fully appreciate and empathise that everyone has different tolerances to noise and clearly this was not acceptable to yourselves. We do provide earplugs and this is advertised in all our rooms,... More 

Groningen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
315 reviews 315 reviews
138 hotel reviews
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed there for 3 nights when attending an international rugby match (Wales v SA) in the Millennium Stadium. The location of the hotel is perfect: right in the centre of town opposite the castle and next door to the Millenium Stadium. I was happy with our room, which looked over the stadium. The atmosphere in the bar was very lively... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, it was nice to meet you at the time of your stay and iron out a few issues that you had experienced. I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards Richard Platts General Manager More 

Padstow, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the hotel to take advantage of the xmas sales in Cardiff city centre. It is only a ten minute walk away, which was excellent. The room was clean, the bed very comfy and the bedding perfect. Nothing was too much trouble, for example we ran out of tea making bits quickly and were supplied with extras readily.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review, and it certainly sounds like you made the most from our breakfast choices, pancakes have been a hit I must say with many people. I am glad you found the facilities to your liking, and had an enjoyable time snapping a few bargains in the sales. The heating on a separate note is set... More 

Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here just before Christmas with the kids to go and watch Cinderella in the theater. Nice hotel, great location and lovely staff who were great with the children. Unfortunately they gave us a room on the floor above a noisy Christmas party that went on between 9.30pm and 1.30am It was so noisy that the bathroom vibrated. There was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, and I am sorry that the allocation of your room caused issues during your stay. I am glad that we as a team were able to resolve this , and I do hope it will not deter you from choosing us again in the future. Please do contact me directly if I can be of... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a great room overlooking the castle & were made to feel really welcome by all of the staff encountered with the exception of the miserable guy running the bar on Sunday morning. My only slight reservation is that from 6am we were repeatedly woken by doors opening and closing. That being said I would happily stay again but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, and I was pleased to note that you would stay with us again, however it sounds like we have a couple of areas to address. It would be most helpful if you would drop me your details by email so I can track the exact date of your stay and assist in where we may... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

On arrival ( around 1.30pm) we were told rooms were not yet ready as check in time is 2pm. No problem there as it was stated in details so went to sit in cafe for a drink. However, at 2pm, we were told they were still not ready. No apologies, girl on reception was rude and unhelpful. She told us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I have looked in to your comments - as you can imagine I was most surprised and concerned that we have had such an unusual lapse in our normally high standards. There are several circumstances that I can't link with our business levels on that weekend, which were quite low as is normal just after... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre

Address: Castle Street, Cardiff CF10 1XD, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre Wales
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Cardiff

129 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (96)
Viewed
Room/suite (46)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (12)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay