We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Castle Street, Cardiff CF10 1XD, Wales
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

881 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I have stayed at the HI Cardiff for the past 18 months and use as a base for when I am in South Wales on business which is typically every 3-4 weeks. The hotel is centrally located with the main shopping mall about a 10 min walk with all the bars and restaurants the same. Reception and bar staff are... More 

Helpful?
Thank slipstream2007
GuestRelationsHICDFC, Hotel Staff at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to write your recent review. We are pleased to see that you enjoy your time at our hotel and we truly appreciate your loyalty. We value all feedback so it is rewarding to receive such great feedback. Please feel free to contact me direct at any point should you have any queries regarding upcoming... More 

2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Location is great, you got Cardiff castle across the road which is beautiful of course. The view from our room was on looking the river which was nice,I'm afraid the room wasn't all that pleasant for a 3* hotel. And the customer service was terrible firstly I had to phone reception because we needed an extra duvet and pillow for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carli-Anne R
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had the works Christmas party meal here. Went for the £20 daytime option. Food was fine, was very filling. the unexpected was the afternoon disco working out so well. Staff were lovely and I would return again.

Helpful?
Thank littlejingles
GuestRelationsHICDFC, Hotel Staff at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review

Many thanks for your recent feedback. I am delighted to hear you had a great Christmas party at our Hotel. We value ourselves on providing a great guest experience, so its rewarding to see you had such a fun time. We hope we can welcome you back again soon. Kind regards Lisa Hull lisa.hull@hicardiffcitycentre.co.uk More 

Rowlands Castle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel is in a great location just a 5 minute walk from the city centre. It has a good size car park that's reasonably priced. The hotel is clean and comfortable and exactly what you expect from a holiday inn. Stayed here a couple of times and have never been disappointed. Will return.

Helpful?
Thank nicola f
GuestRelationsHICDFC, Hotel Staff at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to write this review. We value all feedback as it helps us to improve on our services. I would like to thank you for your continued loyalty to our hotel and I hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards Lisa Hull Lisa.hull@hicardiffcitycentre.co.uk More 

Carmarthenshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed overnight for the first time having previously attended for day conferences only. The room was spacious and clean with a super king sized bed. The main complaint that I have was that the room was far too hot with no means of lowering the temperature. The window could only open around an inch so no ventilation via the window... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Br0nwen
GuestRelationsHICDFC, Hotel Staff at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to write this review. I am pleased to hear you had a great stay with us but disappointed that the inconvenience was caused due to the heating. We value all feedback as it helps us to improve all guest services, I will pass this information on to ensure this doesn't happen again. Please feel... More 

Rugby
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was staying locally for business and decided on the Holiday Inn City Centre because of it's location and because I am a gold member of the Priority Club. Check in was speedy and friendly. The room was standard Holiday Inn, clean and functional. My room was at the front of the hotel, but I did not notice any noise... More 

Helpful?
Thank Istate75
GuestRelationsHICDFC, Hotel Staff at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review

Many thanks for your recent feedback. We value all feedback to improve our future guest services and I am pleased to hear you had a great stay with us. We hope we can welcome you back again soon. Kind regards Lisa Hull lisa.hull@hicardiffcitycentre.co.uk More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Both our rooms were smart, clean & well equipped. Dinner was good but took ages to be served. The breakfast was excellent, esp the pancake machine! All staff were helpful, friendly & attentive. Extra mention for reception girls who helped us with directions.

Helpful?
Thank John W
GuestRelationsHICDFC, Hotel Staff at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review

Many thanks for you recent review. We value all feedback and all comments raised will be noted to improve our future guest services. I am pleased to hear you had a great stay with us and I hope we can welcome you back again soon. Kind regards Lisa Hull lisa.hull@hicardiffcitycentre.co.uk More 

Gloucester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited for a short w/e break and chose this for its location to the bar's and restaurants we enjoy.Our room on 4th floor was quiet and overlooked Arms Park at rear of Millennium alongside the river.The check in was quick and efficient and having a 2pm check in and 12noon check out was great. We had a fab time... More 

Helpful?
Thank bigt55
GuestRelationsHICDFC, Hotel Staff at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind feedback. I am pleased to see you had a great stay with us and also within the Welsh Capital. We value all feedback as it helps us to improve our services so thank you for taking the time to complete this. We hope we can welcome you back again soon. Kind regards Lisa Hull lisa.hull@hicardiffcitycentre.co.uk More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is in a great spot, particularly if you are in town for rugby or cricket, and right opposite the castle and a short walk from the centre. We had a great view of the castle and Bute Park. However, it needs to realise it's 2015. Expensive wifi and very dated. The room itself was big but the bathroom... More 

Helpful?
Thank LondonAmg
GuestRelationsHICDFC, Hotel Staff at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear your stay wasn't as good as it should have been due to various factors. We aim to provide a great guest experience and I am disappointed to hear that this wasn't the case during your stay. Please could you contact me on below details so we could discuss this further. Kind regards Lisa Hull... More 

Wales
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've stayed here a few times and it's a typical Holiday Inn hotel....no real surprises.The rooms are pretty good and check in at reception is ok. What I really like is the location and the free parking adjacent to the hotel.

Helpful?
1 Thank Bonio
GuestRelationsHICDFC, Hotel Staff at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review

Many thanks for your recent feedback. We value ourselves on a great guest experience and I am delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. I hope we can welcome you back again soon. Kind regards Lisa Hull lisa.hull@hicardiffcitycentre.co.uk More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

183 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (130)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
View from room (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (51)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 stars 1,461 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#15 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 stars 2,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#19 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,005 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#40 of 76 in Cardiff
3.5 of 5 stars 1,009 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay