We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ibis Cardiff Gate

Malthouse Ave | Cardiff Gate Business Park, Pontprennau, Cardiff CF23 8RA, Wales
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with ACCORHOTELS.COM to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Ibis Cardiff Gate
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

397 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    97
    170
    85
    20
    25
See reviews for
81
136
41
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (397)
  • Mar-May only
    (103)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (119)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (107)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (68)
All months
lincoln
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

If you're looking for a clean room and a comfy bed for the night this is your place. Great value, clean, friendly staff. Couldn't really ask for more for the money. Breakfast is a little expensive at £8.99 but there is a Toby Carvary a 5 min walk away which does a buffet style breakfast for half the price. Would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daniel M, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff Gate, responded to this review

Dear Karl A, Many thanks for your nice comments and compliments. I will share them with my team. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Best Wishes Daniel More 

Old Colwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel has been booked several times for the rugby trips by Silver Star Coach holidays! Although it's a bit out of the way of the city centre, The coach takes us to and from the city centre. This hotel has services close by and places to eat such as a carvery and also fast food chains such as Burger... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daniel M, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff Gate, responded to this review

Dear Jen1081, Thank you for your comments, I will share them with my team. I look forward to welcoming you back again. Best Regads Daniel More 

london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Well worth the money great value for money, nice friendly staff, clean rooms bed comfortable As a previous guest had mentioned regarding the breakfast the Toby carvery is half the cost but you have to add £2.00 for the tea and coffee but great value

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daniel M, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff Gate, responded to this review

Dear guest ''pussycat-66'', Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip hopefully! Kind regards, Daniel More 

Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Situated in the Cardiff gate services this hotel turned out to be a really quite good, Id booked a week in advance and got a good deal, the room was quiet, well kept and reasonably comfortable . the carpet in our room needs replacing with some old marks showing on the carpet. One trend that was missing was a boot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daniel M, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff Gate, responded to this review

Dear Thanet_Traveler, Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Ibis Cardiff Gate. I will pass your comments onto relevant departments. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Daniel More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent room, it did everythinf it needed to. The shower was great, our window faced the M4 but we barely heard anything at all. The only issue was our bathroom floor and sides seemed to be covered in a very fine silver dust. I guess a previous visitors makeup got everywhere. But other than our feet getting glittery we had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daniel M, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff Gate, responded to this review

Dear Rae H, Thank you for your comments. I am glad you enjoyed your recent stay at Ibis Cardiff Gate. I will pass your comments onto relevant department. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Best Wishes Daniel More 

Swindon
Level Contributor
46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here betwee working 12 hour shifts in Cardiff. Check in was quick and easy and if your parking a car in the car make sure you enter the Rev number on the iPad on the desk or you risk getting a fine. The room I had was well maintained and as requested overlooked the car park and services the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daniel M, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff Gate, responded to this review

Dear SwindonNigel, Thank you once again for your loyalty and your nice review about your recent stay at Ibis Cardiff Gate. I look forward to welcoming you back again. Best Wishes Daniel More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Don't come looking for concierge, a hairdryer or iron in your room, else you will be disappointed. This is a budget hotel. But it is a very clean & fresh within close walking distance to the city centre. Each room has its own shower and toilet and it's secure. The photos are accurate. Will stay here again if we come... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daniel M, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff Gate, responded to this review

Dear Narelle S. Thank you for your nice review. I am delighted that you had a pleasant stay. Hope to see you soon again. Best Wishes Daniel More 

kent
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just returned back home from Cardiff.We had two rooms both doubles. And paid £80 for both rooms where clean.flat screen tv.didn't have breakfast as there is a Toby carvery behind the shell garage.went to a place called mumbles next to swansea.was a nice night away.would definitely stay again next yime a vist south wales

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daniel M, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff Gate, responded to this review

Dear Nathan S, Thank you for your time to post a review about Ibis Cardiff Gate. It's always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Regards Daniel More 

Wirral
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here a few nights on business, as with most hotels the earlier you book the cheaper it is, price ranged from mid thirties to high fifties for room only. The hot breakfast for around eight pounds fifty was good value, however the Toby across the road does a superb breakfast for a penny under four pounds (beverages are extra)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daniel M, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff Gate, responded to this review

Dear Guest ''Havana_Blast'' Thank you for your nice review. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with my team. Hope to see you soon again. Best Wishes Daniel More 

London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Exactly what you would expect - clean room, comfortable bed, functional bathroom. The location works well, the facilities are what you need (and the nearby services can fill in any gaps). We weren't disturbed by noise, either inside the hotel or from outside - even though it appeared to be busy from the numbers of cars in the car park.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daniel M, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff Gate, responded to this review

Dear Guest ''NettleLondon'' Many thanks for your nice review about your recent stay. I am delighted you enjoyed Ibis Cardiff Gate and we look forward to welcoming you back again. Best Wishes Daniel More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

96 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (78)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
4.4 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff North
Premier Inn Cardiff North
#13 of 79 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 stars 617 reviews
4.7 mi away
Ibis Budget Cardiff Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#31 of 79 in Cardiff
3.5 of 5 stars 775 reviews
2.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North
4.7 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#10 of 79 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay