We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Novotel Cardiff Centre

#11 of 80 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Schooner Way | Atlantic Wharf, Cardiff CF10 4RT, Wales
Special Offer
NOVOTEL SPRING OFFER
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Write a Review

1,394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    569
    582
    177
    47
    19
See reviews for
346
532
73
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1394)
  • Mar-May only
    (378)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (356)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (342)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (318)
All months
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We held an event this weekend at the Novotel on Schooner Way in Cardiff City Centre. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone considering holding an event there. The food was exceptional and varied with a mixture of healthy salads through to delicious cakes. The conference staff both before and at the event were accommodating and very helpful. Excellent... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your delightful review. We were thrilled to read you comments and hope that we will be your first choice of venue for your next event. I will take please in sharing your feedback with all the Team. Kind regards Chris Jones More 

Nokomis, Florida
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Novotel on Schooner Way in Cardiff City Center, is a well located modern hotel with pool and exercise rooms, multi story. Well kept. Not enough help at desk on several occasions. For unknown reason Novotel Wifi does not work with my Android phone. This Novotel also has the funny shower door which only comes out about 1/3 of the way,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that overall, you enjoyed your stay with us and particularly the food and location. I also note your additional comment regarding information provided by the Front Desk. I have looked into your point about WiFi on Android phones and whilst we have not encountered any problems with connectivity on other Android devices,... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Me and my partner stayed at the Novotel hotel on the weekend of 9th May-10th May. Was easy to find, and was in a great location, easy access to city center but without the noise of the busy center. We stayed in 216 which was an executive room, it really was a lovely room, with our own coffee machine, tea... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the great feedback. We are delighted to understand that you had a great stay with us and enjoyed the extra amenities of the executive room the and pancake machine! I will take pleasure in sharing your feedback with the relevant departments. I hope that I may have an opportunity to welcome you back next time.... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked this hotel through Expedia on a no cancellation deal. I intended to stay in this hotel for one night, on the 7th May. When I arrived at the hotel, I noticed that my booking was in fact for the 7th January 2016!? The hotel kindly stated that they could change the booking as long as Expedia agreed to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. It certainly sounds like you had a challenging time! I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit overall and that the level of service exceeded your expectations in resolving the issue with your booking via a 3rd party. With complimentary parking offered for your troubles. I hope that we... More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We (two adults, kids aged 8 and 7) stayed here for the early May bank holiday weekend (three nights) which was more expensive than usual. We had been put in an "executive" room but the sofa bed wasn't big enough for two children so the hotel kindly put us in two adjoining rooms - a perfect solution. Our children love... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments regarding your stay over the bank holiday! We were delighted to read that you felt "well looked after" and that you chose us once again for your stay. I will take great pleasure in sharing your feedback with all relevant departments who will be so pleased with your feedback. I hope that... More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Absolutely loved staying here and can't wait to go back, amazing staff really clean and brilliant size rooms! Yummy breakfast too! Perfect location for city Centre and can walk to Cardiff bay too. Highly recommend.

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your great comments! We were delighted to understand that you had an enjoyable stay with us. I will take pleasure in sharing your review with the relevant departments. We hope to welcome you back next time. More 

chelmsford
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our first impression on arrival was the location was disappointing, being a wharf address I was expecting it to be waterside, but the wharf is actually across the road. It's a very industrial area, but only a 10 min walk to edge of town centre. Reception area was small but nice touches, a little games corner with Xbox, and books... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, but we were disappointed to understand that you did not have a positive experience with us. We receive many positive comments regarding the location of the Hotel and the proximity to the Bay and Central shopping areas. I am sorry that this may not have suited your intentions during your visit. We regularly upgrade and... More 

S Wales
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I understand that hotels have to have a refurbishment programme to ensure that their hotel lives up to its reputation - but what I cannot understand is why they cannot do it floor by floor or wing by wing and shut these off to the paying guests. We had to negotiate corridors in the process of being renovated> It was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback. I am sorry that your overall experience was affected by the refurbishment taking place last month. Whilst we did make arrangements for a staggered floor-by-floor approach to the improvements to corridors, we attempted to limit the impact to guests with contractors. It is disappointing that this left you with a poor impression of... More 

Croissy-sur-Seine, France
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
41 hotel reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was a relief to arrive at a nice, French-owned Accor-group hotel after a long drive from Paris that day. The welcome was excellent, the architecture airy, and the parking arrangements perfect. The building has two sides to it - a beautiful old brick building and a pretty ugly modern side (speaking of the exterior). We were nestled in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review

Thank yo for your review and feedback. I am pleased that you and your family chose to stay with us and that the highlights for you included; the breakfast/layout, the building character and the parking arrangements. I hope that should you return to Cardiff again, that you will make the Novotel Cardiff your 'home from home'. Kind regards Chris Jones More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

217 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (181)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (42)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (63)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (36)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities