We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bunk House

93 - 94 St Mary St, Cardiff CF10 1DX, Wales
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bunk House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Bunk House
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    25
    24
    11
    23
See reviews for
Families
0
3
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (97)
  • Mar-May only
    (27)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (30)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (24)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
Blackwood, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed at the Bunkhouse on 24th Jan 15, I am a lady in my 40's and was staying on my own. I arrived mid-afternoon to find a bar with a lovely atmosphere. The gentleman on the desk was very helpful as I had not brought my I.D (which was essential to booking in) but he explained it was not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Armidale, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Cardiff was in the good books for me as soon as I arrived. It only took a moment for the locals to notice that I was lost before one very friendly man came straight up to me assisting me with directions to the 'Bunk House', and offering to assist me with my 20kg backpack, (my awful sense of direction hides... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bunkhousecardiff, Manager at Bunk House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback and review. What a wonderful statement title! It is such a pleasure to hear that you have had a good experience during your stay here at Bunkhouse. From loving the decor and soaking up the atmosphere in the bar, to receiving lovely service from our staff, as well as our fellow Cardiffians being... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

While it is located close to the city centre it is also located in a very shady part of town where I felt very unsafe. The twin private room was so small you could barely open the door without hitting the bed frame. Not to mention there was dirt and dust everywhere and I'm Not sure they even wash the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bunkhousecardiff, Manager at Bunk House, responded to this review

Thankfully this review is not connected to our establishment. I am sorry to hear you have had such a bad experience staying in Cardiff, but this review does not match up to the service that we provide here at Bunkhouse. We are situated on one of the main high streets of Cardiff, which is in no way shady, very easy... More 

Chudleigh, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place isn't aimed at my age group, and I sort of new that when I booked it. For city centre accommodation, the room is cheap. There must be 30 beds in it, and some are triple bunks. All these people have to share 2 showers (door broken on one) 2 basins (cold tap broken on one) and 2 bogs... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bunkhousecardiff, Manager at Bunk House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you didn't fully enjoy your stay here at Bunkhouse. It is a more of a backpackers hostel, and we do tend to attract the younger crowd. The all male dorm is the cheapest dorm to stay in which does have 25 beds and is ensuite,... More 

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014 via mobile

Terrible. Well it's a little ridiculous to disallow Santa costumes at christmas time. I was only wearing a Santa hat. There are lots of Christmas decorations inside. Policy of entry states 'No Fancy dress, or anything that is annoying'. If this is the hostel policy i do not recommend this place to anyone in a reasonable state of mind. Terrible.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Bunkhousecardiff, Manager at Bunk House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback of our Bar. As we are situated on the main high street of Cardiff, in particular known for it's night life, it attracts numerous stag and hen type groups. As most know, they are out to have a good time, laugh out loud and drink in excess. Of course, this is perfectly acceptable,... More 

Toormina, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

Overall the place is good. Clean, comfortable and the bar downstairs is a great area to socialise and drink. Locations is also very central. Only reason it's not 4 stars are the bathrooms are a little bit falling apart. Clean, but small, doors of hinges etc. but overall a nice backpackers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bunkhousecardiff, Manager at Bunk House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review and your feedback. I am very happy that you enjoyed your experience whilst staying here with us at Bunkhouse. Thanks to feeback from our guests, we have been made aware of a few functionality issues at present but we are working hard to get them sorted as quickly as possible. More 

Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014

I've been here a fair few times but never to stay, I live in Cardiff but I will go here regularly to the public area downstairs. I love this place. I've been here with my family for a quiet drink, with my best friends for a catch-up over coffee and with my girlfriend just to chill out. For me, it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bunkhousecardiff, Manager at Bunk House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review and feedback. It is always a pleasure to see that we cater for all different kinds of customers and keep you all happy. We aim to please and do regularly change our drinks menu to keep you on your toes and mix up your experience every time. And yes!!- Our Nutella Hot Chocolate... More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Bunkhouse for three nights, absolutely loved the downstairs bar area and it's vibe, one of my favourite places I've been. The room (6 bed dorm) was basic but the bed was comfortable enough and it wasn't cold in the room. Staff were so lovely, especially Jess and Jason. Nothing was too much of a hassle, and they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bunkhousecardiff, Manager at Bunk House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review and feedback. It is always a pleasure to know that our guests have had a great experience and that we have provided a good service. If you ever are in Cardiff again and find yourself in need of accommodation, it would be great to have you stay with us again! Many thanks again! More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

I was in Cardiff just for a day, didn't sleep there, but I was with a pretty heavy backpack and needed to leave it somewhere while I was visting the city. It was sunday morning, the library was closed, the coach station didn't have lockers, and hotels wouldn't accept to keep the bag there, even if I payed. But then... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bunkhousecardiff, Manager at Bunk House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and your feedback. It is greatly appreciated given that you didn't stay with us, but used our services. I'm very happy that we could provide this service for you when you were in need, so that your back had a rest and that it was safe with us until you were ready to travel again.... More 

Bologna, Emilia-Romagna, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

I was travelling with a friend and our stay there was the best. We just stayed one night and we really enjoyed it. The big guy in the evening was awsome, always smiling and very helpful. Location could not be better, the price was good (the cheapest we found in the centre) and the breakfast was more than enough to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bunkhousecardiff, Manager at Bunk House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review and feedback. It is wonderful to hear that you had a great experience here, with accommodation, staff, location and service, especially as you work in the same industry. We pride ourselves on having competitive rates for a good service. It is a city centre hostel with basic facilities, basic breakfast of toast and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Bunk House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunk House

Address: 93 - 94 St Mary St, Cardiff CF10 1DX, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff > City Centre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Bunk House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bunk House Cardiff, Wales

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay