We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street

The Friary off Queen Street, Cardiff CF10 2RG, Wales
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Management photos
Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

161 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    38
    53
    29
    22
    19
See reviews for
29
43
10
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (161)
  • Mar-May only
    (39)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (70)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (29)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (23)
All months
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Very Nice Hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful esp. when I asked where Sophia Gardens was. Was staying in back of hotel and did not hear any noise from outside. Room was ok but would be nice if it had more storage space if you were staying longer. Only a couple mins walk to the castle and a few seconds... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were a party of six, in three rooms and were told one of us had already booked in, when he hadn't, causing a flurry of confused and concerned phone calls. My room had no suitcase stand, no drawers and no shelf in the shower for shampoo, etc; although this was provided from a dispenser, I preferred to use my... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Cardiff hotels

Southampton
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the hotel twice in the last month. I was working in the area and couldn't find a hotel at a sensible price that served breakfast before 7 am. On both occasions as I needed to get a train I arrived for breakfast at about 650 each day - the staff were very understanding and happy for me... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Abertillery, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

stayed here with another 2 friends last night, the staff were lovely and helpful. the room was clean and tidy. our room was at the front of the building. the windows were double layered, which when you closed both parts were successful in blocking out the noise, but the room was then boiling and no air con to cool it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Treorchy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

can I just say the hotel is clean well maintained and the staff are very helpfull and friendly the only thing I can say on the down side is no air conditioning there was a fan in the room but it's like having a helicopter in your room when your trying to sleep

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for a work trip on Wednesday the 12th August . After a busy day and a lot of traveling I was exhausted . This hotel was clean and exactly what you would expect from this group, However it is almost surrounded by clubs and the Main Street below had people shouting and laughing until past 4am . I'm... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TravelodgeUK, Karen from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We’re sorry to learn that the external noise impacted your stay.All Travelodge Hotels include double or triple glazing to try and keep noise heard outside to a minimum. We also work with local communities to try and reduce the local noise that might impact our customers during the night. However,... More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I do not recommend this Travelodge at all. The temperature in the room was so hot it was unbearable and you could not have the window open because of the horrendous noise that went on every night until 4 am from a bar across the street called Live Lounge. We did not sleep at all during our stay.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
Llanelli, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you have a low budget and don't mind about a good night sleep or a nice breakfast then this is the place for you very poor quality of food I would recommend to spend a little more and go to a better hotel as this was the worst I have been in the only reason it got a 2... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TravelodgeUK, Amy from the Social Media team at Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The food provided in our Bar café is to the same high standard across all of our Travelodge hotels so we are sorry we did not deliver this to you on this occasion. We will make sure to pass on your comments to the hotel manager as what you described in your review is far... More 

Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The travelodge in Cardiff queens street was a great place to stay a fantastic location,we had a lovely quite room the facilities are basic but still very clean and tidy the only problem we had was the TV as it didn't have itv for the whole week as the screen went blank so I missed emmerdale and Corrie,the staff did... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having stayed in Travelodge's in both London and Edinburgh previously, I was fully prepared for there to be some issues with booking in one of the capital cities. With London it came down to the extortionate prices, with Edinburgh it came down to the distance from the city centre for some of the Travelodge chains. Cardiff Queen Street though offered... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#31 of 79 in Cardiff
3.5 of 5 stars 773 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre
0.5 mi away
Ibis Budget Cardiff Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#27 of 79 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 stars 570 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
0.2 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#24 of 79 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 stars 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay