We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Campanile Hotel Cardiff

Caxton Place | Pentwyn, Cardiff CF23 8HA, Wales
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Campanile Hotel Cardiff
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Campanile Hotel Cardiff
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    63
    52
    16
    33
See reviews for
34
46
19
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (184)
  • Mar-May only
    (51)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (56)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (31)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (46)
All months
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I picked this hotel because i had stayed in their doncaster hotel this was just as good typical budget hotel all the basics nothing flash breakfast was excellent very reasonably priced i would stay at a campenile hotel again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Selby, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This was a short notice stay and booked late, we were looking for something cheap, and this was cheap for the price we paid. The room was clean and did what we needed, the bed was comfy. We ate there and the food was good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed in a ground floor room. Room was adequate and basic, however bed was comfy and bedding was clean. Bathroom was clean and spacious. Found staff to be very helpful and friendly. Hotel is situated off a very steep hill so parking the car was fun! Recommend a space around the back as the ground is flatter. Hotel is located... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was warm and clean, bed comfy but pillows not, bathroom a bit tired. Not bad on the whole but I thought it wasn't over £60 worth, and that didn't include breakfast...wouldn't book again for that price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
44 hotel reviews
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here for a Rugby International weekend. Rooms were spacious, well furnished and bright. Hotel is a little out of center of Cardiff (about £12 taxi fare) and in what appears to be an industrial/business estate.

Was this review helpful? Yes
corsham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in room 5. Lovely clean couldn't fault it. However it's by entrance steps to these rooms which are detached from.hotel reception. There are signs everywhere asking occupants to be quiet after 11pm or face 150£ fine. Drunks returned Friday night in the early hours, not quiet. Then Sunday morning at 6am in the adjacent room the biggest agreement... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMCardiff, Directeur général at Campanile Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review

Dear MT Brider, Thank for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your stay here at the Campanile Hotel in Cardiff. I am sorry that you stay was not as you expected due to other guests causing a disturbance. As you mentioned our Night Porter came to deal with the issue as soon as you called Reception. We have... More 

Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

The room was clean, but the bed was not comfortable and the shower was rubbish. You can get better value at other hotels locally. The standard room rates are not cheap nor do they represent good value.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMCardiff, Directeur général at Campanile Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review

Dear f_jones_MON, Thank for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your stay here at the Campanile Hotel in Cardiff. I am sorry to read that you feel our power showers and the comfort of the bed were not what you expected. More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

Needed a cheap place to stay near family, this was perfect. It was a smallish double bedroom and en-suite with bath but it had everything I needed for two nights and was very clean. Mattress was lumpy but on speaking to the reception it was changed immediately. A basic, slightly dated and tired hotel but excellent value for money for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMCardiff, Directeur général at Campanile Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review

Dear Celia M, Thank you for taking the time to leave your positive comments regarding your stay here at the Campanile Hotel in Cardiff. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will stay with us in the future. More 

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

We stayed mid week and was looking for a simple reasonably priced place to stay. Checked in 2140 and out 0700 with no problems at all. Was hoping for food and was slightly disappointed the kitchen had just shut but fair enough. Couldn't get WiFi in room but very nice little place just outside the city.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMCardiff, Directeur général at Campanile Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review

Dear Sarah R, Thank you for taking the time to leave your positive comments regarding you stay here at the Campanile Hotel in Cardiff. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. WiFi is provided in all parts of the hotel, so should you stay again and have a problem with the WiFi, please do not hesitate to... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

The location was on an industrial estate & looked nothing like the photos advertised on Booking.Com. When we checked into the reception/diner/bar it smelt of wet dog so we decided not to pay extra for the breakfasts in the morning! The room was OK - very basic but the bed was comfortable and the room cleanish. I like peace &... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question