We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Angel Hotel

3.0 of 5 Castle Street, Cardiff CF10 1SZ, Wales
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Angel Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Angel Hotel
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    229
    155
    93
    65
See reviews for
90
275
30
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (696)
  • Mar-May only
    (141)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (209)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (204)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (142)
All months
Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Such a disappointment. The entrance to the hotel was very welcoming and promising.. However on closer inspection of the furniture, it was extremely tired looking and well worn. Carpets throughout the hotel were threadbare in places. The room was large and clean but again very tired and in need of complete refurbishment. The carpet did not come right up to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cardiff
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed in room 126 which at first looked ok. Unfortunately it was short lived, the curtains were ripped and dirty, the bathroom had black mold around the bath and so much under the shower control it was disgusting. The room was a bit tired but there is no real excuse for dirt and neglect to that extent in a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear nosila61, Firstly, I am extremely pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your Christmas party and thank you for leaving us such lovely comments regarding your food and the service you received. With regards to the cleanliness of your room I have had a discussion with my housekeeping manager and this will be rectified straight away. Thank you for... More 

Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Hotel location great for seeing Christmas market ,shops and castle. Room too hot,couldn't turn down radiator,air con not working,didn't open window as too noisy outside with traffic and revellers.this led to an uncomfortable sleep ;( Online voucher caused alot of confusion as I couldn't use it to pay for overnight parking but could use it for food or drink in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear fhward, Thank you for leaving us your feedback. The location we are in is great, I couldn’t agree more. I am sorry to learn that your sleep was uncomfortable due to the temperature of your room. I do hope that you brought this to my team’s attention whilst you were at the hotel. Please note for future reference that... More 

Wales
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We went here for our work Christmas party. The entrance hall is very nice. We were seated at long tables (ours were 13 per table), we would have preferred round tables so we could socialise better. There were no drinks included with meal (which is standard with most other places I have visited for Christmas parties, usually half a bottle... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Wales4, It is disheartening to read that you were unimpressed with your meal on this occasion for your Christmas party. Please accept my sincere apologies for any disappointment caused. Your feedback has been read carefully and will be discussed with my chef and his team. Your comment regarding the vegetarian options on the menu will also be looked into... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

The angel hotel have been great all night , from two friends who came down for a night with friends they have gone to and beyond the call of duty and been great all night, from showing the way to the room to helping us to gain food at 3am , the highest reviews to a great staff of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear CheesyChippys, It is great to read that you were thoroughly impressed with the service you received. Thank you for taking the time to leave us such lovely feedback. We do hope to welcome you back soon. Warm regards Jo McElveen General Manager More 

South Wales UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My parents recently stayed here for my dads birthday, they booked the deal through Amazon local it was for dinner with a bottle of wine followed by bed & breakfast. The location is fantastic, it's in the centre of the city and literally across the road from the Millennium Stadium and Cardiff castle and they were lucky enough to have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MrsL07, I'm so pleased to read about your parents recent stay as it seems like they thoroughly enjoyed the birthday celebration that they came for. We always try our best to recognise a special occasion. Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review and we hope to see you again in the near future. Kind Regards... More 

South Wales
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My husband and I had an overnight stay at the Angel, we did not book it originally but the hotel we had booked apparently had a "flood" which unfortunately affected the room allocated to us. I read the reviews on Trip Advisor and was a little apprehensive but in all honesty I was more than pleased with the twin room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rednana, It's great to read that you enjoyed your stay at The angel Hotel-Cardiff. We believe we have an ideal location for our hotel, It’s great that you thought this as well. Also situated in the centre of Cardiff just a 5 minute walk from the train station. It is always good to read how friendly our staff are.... More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked a cheap rate through hotels.com so expected a down market room, however if I had paid full price I would have scored -2. On arriving at reception I discovered Vicky is perhaps a sickly person as she must have been off on the day of the customer service course. I asked to upgrade to a double but she... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear rachel B, It so disheartening to learn that you were not happy with aspects of your stay on this occasion your feedback will be investigated fully, and in particular will be discussed with Vicky and also my chef. Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback as we are constantly looking for ways to improve the... More 

Kettering, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We asked to be moved from the first room we were allocated - it had one filthy skylight window covered by a blind held with a hole and a screw and hairs on the tiles of the shower. We were moved to a slightly improved room but peeling seams on the wallpaper, cracked bathroom floor tiles and a scarf found... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rosemary F, Your feedback has been highlighted to our housekeeping Manager. The Maintenance Manager is already aware of certain feedback you have provided. I thank you for bringing this to my attention and I do hope you return again in the future. Kind regards Jo McElveen General Manager More 

south wales
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It was well located, rooms lovely, overall no problems just that it was too hot in the rooms. Heating was on all night, very uncomfortable. Other than that I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Breakfast was fab

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear weaselsouthwales, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm very pleased that overall your stay was thoroughly enjoyed and glad you enjoyed the breakfast we had to offer. I have taken your feedback to the maintenance manager regarding the room being too hot. We hope to see you again in the near future. Kind Regards Jo... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Hotel

Address: Castle Street, Cardiff CF10 1SZ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Angel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Cardiff
Angel Hotel Cardiff
The Angel Hotel Cardiff, Wales

155 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (95)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay