We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 81 Cardiff hotels

The Angel Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castle Street, Cardiff CF10 1SZ, Wales
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Angel Hotel to your Saves list
The Angel Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
58%
Ranked #36 of 81 hotels in Cardiff
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Ena193 Cardiff
  • Overview
  • Reviews (543)
  • Photos (120)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (128)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

543 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    129
    188
    117
    65
    44
See reviews for
77
219
26
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Bought afternoon teas with a voucher on Living Social,and it was excellent, my friend is diabetic they made her a beautiful fruit salad which I thought was really kind and very thoughtful. We had lovely fresh scones, thick cream, strawberry jam, a variety of cakes and delicious selection of finger sandwiches. Tea or coffee whichever you preferred , as much... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rosebush, Clunderwen Pembrokeshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here when we went to see War Horse, nice central hotel convenient to town center and bus service to the bay. Very old hotel and difficult to modernize but clean and comfortable. Staff pleasant and helpful. Would use again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback. We hope to welcome you back soon. More

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

After a busy end of term week we had booked a night at the The Angel Hotel, to accompany going to see Dawn French at the New Theatre. Check-in was a little abrupt and impersonal, probably understandable as the gentleman on the desk appeared to be very busy without any support. Once we negotiated the teeniest tiny lift (max 6... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback. I have pleased to hear you had an ejoyable time and have taken note of your comments to ensure imporvements are made where necessary. We do hope you will return in the future. More

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed for just one night (thankfully that's all!). We turned up 2hours after check in started & our rooms weren't ready. They had us down for single rooms despite us booking 3doubles (which we had written confirmation of). We waited 15minutes in the very grand lobby before being told they'd found us rooms! Ours was absolutely hideous. It was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to highlight your concerns. I have taken note of your comments with regards to the decor and appearance of some of the rooms, we have recently started an internal refurbishment programme to ensure improvements are made where necessary. Needless to say certain rooms have been highlighted as a priority. More

Cirencester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Excellent hotel fantastic location just around the corner to the milleniumstadium .clean and tidy well presented rooms only gripe noisey generator outside the window but all in all a nice place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We do hope you will return for the event next year ! More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Can't believe we got a shoe box room, which was literally 1/4 the size of our family in the room next door for the same cost. It wasn't big enough to move around the double bed and the tv until stuck out into the doorway!! Very old, run down and not nice at all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review

I am very sorry you were so disappointed with the room you had been allocated. I have taken note of your feedback to review with the team to ensure improvements are made where necessary. More

Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here for a Graduation. Little dated, but nice enough, room was comfortable. No qualms with the place, friendly staff and price was reasonable. Pleased but if you want a bit more I'd recommend elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I was pleased to hear you found the team friendly and do hope you will consider staying at the hotel again in the future. More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Angel Hotel has a grand foyer with a beautiful staircase.The room was comfortable and clean, but no air conditioning in the height of summer made it was hot at night. Also no toiletries! No shower cap, shampoo only liquid soap in a dispenser you get in public loos. Not the best. Breakfast. The staff were very efficient and cheerful.... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback. We do provide shampoo in all bedrooms, I am sorry if this was not available throughout your stay. On a positive note I was pleased to hear the breakfast team were cheerful and efficient and that you will be returning. More

Grange Over Sands
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just stayed here for two nights. Nephew's Graduation. Had 7 rooms in total. Walking distance from where the Graduation took place. Large hotel on a corner. I always try to do fair reviews, will start with, The Positives - Great Location, opposite the Castle. Pleasant staff on reception. All the staff were helpful. We had upgraded our room,as we changed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to highlight your concerns. Please accept my apologies that your experience in our hotel bar was so disappointing. I can assure you that feedback such as yours is not the norm here. I have reviewed your feedback with the Operations Manager as clearly further training is required. Your feedback is being taken most seriously... More

Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Firstly we arrived early, so checked and left our luggage to come back later to claim our rooms.....our original rooms were changed on return, from what we'd originally been allocated to ones next to the kitchen extractor fans...I'm still listening to them as I type having been moved along one room after complaining .....I then enquired about the fitness facilities... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback. We do not advertise in our collateral that we have leisure facilities on site. However we do have a local gym that our guests able to use which is open from 8am. I am sorry if you have been misled by any commentary and will review this immediately. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Angel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Hotel

Address: Castle Street, Cardiff CF10 1SZ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Angel Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Cardiff
Angel Hotel Cardiff
The Angel Hotel Cardiff, Wales

120 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (60)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (15)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Angel Hotel is a beautiful Victorian landmark right in the heart of Cardiff. Neatly positioned between the Millennium Stadium and Cardiff Castle, its the perfect location for city breaks in Cardiff and for exploring the beautiful countryside and beaches of South Wales.Find out about the city’s history at The National Museum of Wales, admire the architecture of Llandaff Cathedral and enjoy shopping, dining and watersports at Cardiff Bay.With 102 modern, air conditioned bedrooms, a fine-dining restaurant and a cocktail bar, the Angel Hotel Cardiff is the perfect place to stay when exploring this vibrant and historic city. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
102

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer