We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Angel Hotel

3.0 of 5 Castle Street, Cardiff CF10 1SZ, Wales
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Angel Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Angel Hotel
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    212
    141
    78
    55
See reviews for
82
255
28
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (631)
  • Mar-May only
    (141)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (209)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (167)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (114)
All months
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

A nice looking hotel in the centre of Cardiff. It could do with a bit of updating, but it's still comfortable. The problem it has however is that it has single glazing, and not particularly well fitting windows (in the three rooms we occupied). Our first room overlooked the car park and there was a noisy generator running all night.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belfast
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Everything in the hotel is fine apart from some points below 1) Air Con in rooms is slow and poor. Windows don't open so expect to be warm (not hot just slightly uncomfortably warm). Same goes for the lobby. 2) Breakfast is slow and disorganised. They do not keep the buffet chafing dishes topped up and seem annoyed when you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel enjoys a wonderful location right next to Cardiff Castle and just a short walk away from Cardiff central station and the shops. The ladies at Reception were freindly and effecient and the Reception lobby is gorgeous. These are the only good things about this hotel. The rooms were filthy - we had to be moved out of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Luton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

If you want a hotel that is ideally situated for the Millennium stadium you could do a lot worse than this one as even I could walk to the stadium from this hotel. The hotel is clean and tidy with a very helpful and friendly staff. If you are like me and not a big fan of the national hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

When I was first reading reviews I was concerned because of some of the reviews that I may have booked a bad hotel, however, after my stay I was glad I took the reviews with a grain o f salt. The Angel Hotel is in a great location, and yes things need updated and replaced throughout the rooms but beyond... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ebbwebbw
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Firstly, the positives Central location and comfortable beds. Secondly, the negatives Cramped room with far too much furniture to manoeuvre around. Filthy windows (with a cracked pane). Woodwork painted over with years of coatings of white gloss. £12 for a breakfast! Can't say i wouldn't stay here again, but certainly wouldn't be my choice of hotels.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ebbwebbw, Thank you for leaving us your feedback. The points for improvement that you have mentioned have been taken on board fully. I completely agree the location is great. We do hope you will join us again next time you are in Cardiff Jo McElveen General Manager More

Pembroke, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My daughter booked me in for an overnight stay, as we were going to the theatre together and I could just walk to the train station from the hotel to travel back home. The entrance was superb, it really had the 'Wow' factor - so what a horrible disappointment the very tired rooms were. The first room I was allocated... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear HMH57, I am disappointed to read that your accommodation did not meet expectations on this occasion. Your feedback will be discussed with my Housekeeping manager and maintenance team straight away. We do hope that you will return to the hotel in the near future, so that we can restore your faith in us. Jo McElveen General Manager More

Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Three of us stayed for a night in September - we telephoned prior to our arrival - so were disappointed to arrive and find out the lift was out of order and had been for some time and they hadn't bothered to mention it - had we arrived earlier in the day or been advised of this prior to arrival... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear An C, Thank you for leaving us your feedback. I completely agree that we are in a great location. I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with the location of your rooms; however I am pleased that our staff were efficient and helpful. We hope that you will visit us again when you are next in the... More

Ynys Mon
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I've stayed at the Angel many times over the years and it had sadly gone down hill, probably due to lack of investment. I understand it has changed hands recently and has had a facelift, though some problems remain with the old girl. The first is that it has traditional single pane windows. A lovely relic from it's Victorian days,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Garethman, Many thanks for your review. Your comments help us maintain the highest level of service and guest experience. On this occasion, I do apologise if we fell below our standard and your feedback has been passed to my managers to rectify our shortcomings. See you next time Jo McElveen General Manager More

UK
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here overnight recently. All of the staff were excellent throughout our stay. They really did make a difference to this Hotel. The reception areas are all clean and tidy. The Hotel is really well positioned. Just opposite the Castle and Park, and within 100 metres of the shopping area and probably about 1 mile from the Bay area, about... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MickeybUK, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I am delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. Your kind words about our staff’s service and also your dining experience will be passed on to the relevant teams. The points for improvement that you have mentioned have been read carefully and taken on board... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Hotel

Address: Castle Street, Cardiff CF10 1SZ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Angel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Cardiff
Angel Hotel Cardiff
The Angel Hotel Cardiff, Wales

131 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (71)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay