We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Angel Hotel

Hotel website
Castle Street, Cardiff CF10 1SZ, Wales
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Angel Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Angel Hotel
Share an Experience

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    252
    172
    109
    74
See reviews for
96
301
34
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (771)
  • Mar-May only
    (164)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (209)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (204)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (194)
All months
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I first stayed at the Angel in the Summer of 2013, and I was amazed by the decor, and the room I was given. A huge room with a huge bed, and a little internal corridor with a chair and cupboard in down to the bathroom. A few weeks ago I was looking to stay in Cardiff again for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
northampton
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Very central, staff frendly and extremely helpful, defnitly went the extra mile. Hotel very tired and dated unfortnaty which is such a shame, food very average but Cardiff is on your doorstep so it hardly matters

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Me and my husband love coming to the angel as it was were we got married 3 years ago! We are regular guests and love the feel of the hotel with its beautiful lobby. I agree some of the rooms are a little dated bit as I understand they are waiting on a refurb. I love the fact that the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed here as part of a group at the weekend. The location was brilliant - right opposite the castle. It was easy to find and the hotel has a small carpark, which at £5 per night was a bit of a bargain. The entrance to the hotel is quite impressive (save for the 'wet paint' notices around) and check-in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

stayed in a group of 20 for rugby 6 nations match. cant beat the location of the hotel for this purpose or any event at the stadium. Rooms are comfortable although are ready for a freshen up. The breakfast was good and plentiful but the service could improve, waiting a long time for glasses and for the buffet to be... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear adrian191073, Thank you for sharing your experience with us here at the Angel Hotel. Our location is perfect, I couldn’t agree more. We are due to begin refurbishment which will continue through the year which will provide the freshen up we need. With this in mind we do hope you will return in the near future. Warm regards Jo... More 

Northwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As regular visitors to The Angel and writing some pretty poor reviews! I've got to say things are improving! Jen who greeted us and checked us out was delightful, couldn't do enough to help! I left my perfume, earrings and phone charger a couple of weeks ago - once I'd booked this time and spoken to housekeeping all items were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear P0ppy32, Jen will be overjoyed to hear such commendation of here service, as am I. I shall pass your compliments onto here straight away. It is great to read that you have noticed our hard work in improving our hotel and the service we provide. As mentioned we are due to be refurbished and look forward to showing you... More 

Rhondda, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely hotel with great location for millennium stadium, castle, train station , bus station shops and bars we didnt take car or have food in the hotel so cant comment on that stayed one night mid-week to see show at motorpoint arena which is about 15 min walk awayand stayed in a large room overlooking the castleand also had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear deene W, Thank you for the review and I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Angel Hotel. I am delighted to read that you will recommend us others and I do hope to welcome you back again very soon. Kind regards Jo McElveen General Manager More 

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I enjoyed a one night stay here with my partner. I found it very good value costing £99 for a city centre location, 3 course evening meal and breakfast. The room was large with a seperate seating area and 2 televisions. We were on the top floor which much lose heat quickly as a seperate electric heater was provided but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Charlie P, I am pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us at the Angel Hotel and thank for the wonderful review. As you know; the hotel is perfectly located for exploring Cardiff and the surrounding area and I am delighted that the team were really friendly and welcoming. I do hope to welcome you back... More 

Pencader, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

To start with i was miss-solid this's hotel. I booked through late rooms on the basis that there was a gym at this hotel....the hotel itself then confirmed that there isn't a gym on site, but residents have free access to "vitality" gym in town....ok that will do I thought.... Untill I got up at 7.30 in the morning to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Melanie D, Thank you for the review and I am disappointed to read that your recent stay with us was not to your expectations. The content that is on laterooms.com is out of our control, but thank you for letting other readers aware of the nearby gym. I do hope to welcome you back for another visit again very... More 

Dover, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel is ideally situated opposite thee castle altough really noisy due to traffic. Hotel is somewhat dated with needed of refurbishment.Really think the hotel needs to invest in a catering toaster in the dining room at breakfast as such long queues at breakfast. Dining chairs shabby. Lifts tiny and only 1 working!! There are better 3star hotels.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 317Helen, I couldn't agree more with the location; perfect for exploring Cardiff and the wonderful castle! Thank you for the feedback regarding the toaster and I do hope to welcome you back for another visit again very soon. Kind regards Jo McElveen General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

190 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (125)
Viewed
Room/suite (37)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (65)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question