We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 82 Cardiff hotels

Sandringham Hotel

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 St Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1PL, Wales
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Sandringham Hotel to your Saves list
Sandringham Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
68%
Ranked #29 of 82 Hotels in Cardiff
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
jasmin l Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    158
    80
    25
    26
See reviews for
42
113
71
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We arrived Sunday 7/9/14 late afternoon......staff at reception were very helpful and polite they had phoned me on the Thursday before to confirm ...well aware that the trip was a surprise for my partner as i had booked tickets for St Davids Hall ....(just round the corner) on the Sunday eve to see Ray Davies (From The Kinks)... The room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We were lucky to get a discount on booking but very unlucky when we tried to upgrade to sea view room.the manager Vicky had no customer service skills on offering a little good will gesture on a mistake a colleague had made.(a directors relative, say no more!)sadly no more visits to the Sandringham for us just because of the managers... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Very friendly and helpful reception staff. Rooms basic, but comfortable. Brilliant situation near railway station, castle and shops. Perfect for our needs and much cheaper than other hotels nearby. Staff contacted us when we had left something in the room after leaving, which I feel bigger hotels would not have done. Thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so so much for your lovely review. I am very glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that you were impressed with our customer service. Hopefully we will welcome you again in the near future. Kind regards, Simon More

Tarragona, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Excellent stay at Sandringham. It’s a family run hotel, located right in the centre of town (close to train & bus stations), very convenient. I do recommend staying there. We spent 2 weeks and they made us feel like at home! We (mum & 4 year old son) slept there 14 nights. The beds were comfortable enough to have a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Mireia for your smashing review. It is really nice for us to have guests staying for so long as we can get to know them properly. You came in everyday with a smile and it was really nice to meet you both. I hope to be able to welcome you again in the future and I will be... More

Varanasi, India
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It is a family run place and more of a bed and breakfast than a hotel. The room was OK but needs refurbishment. The hot breakfast was very good and the staff were excellent, polite and always ready to help. The room was made daily, the toilet facilities were good and hot water was really hot. There was a also... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review and for choosing to stay with us for the six nights. It was lovely to welcome you. I promise to get the bed checked in your room as we realise this is a major part of making someone's stay comfortable. We are currently changing carpets and bathroom tiles in rooms and have recently... More

newport gwent
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have read the reviews on this old hotel and find most are expecting 4 star where it is clearly advertised as 2 ... if you book 2 star its what you should expect surely .. Yes , this hotel , is In need of refurbishment , but the service .. staff .. and breakfast makes up for it ..... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review

HA HA Thanks Dave for your very nice, amusing and balanced review. Bettws is still laughing as I type my reply. It is always nice to read that guests not only enjoy their stay but also when they become a part of the nice atmosphere that is created not only by staff but by customers as well. Hopefully we shall... More

Sandpoint, Idaho
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had to take a room here because everyplace else was booked up. Over payed for a filthy dingy room. The towels were grey and well worn. The box spring was in tatters, the bathroom floors was dirty and sticky!! I actually took hand wiped I had in my suitcase and went over every surface I might touch. You should... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review

I am very sorry that you have not enjoyed your stay. The towels are not cleaned in house. They are done by the same laundry firm that services a five star hotel in Cardiff so I am surprised that you felt that they were not up to standard. We are a private family run business. Cardiff has one of the... More

Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The best to point out is the location which is superb (near the castle, the shopping area and the bus station to go to the airport) and the breakfast. The staff was friendly too. We were at the 3rd floor without lift being hard to carry a 25 kg luggage. The rooms need an upgrading as other reviews state. It... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. It was lovely to meet you both and I am glad that you were satisfied with your stay. I am sorry about the poor signal of the Wi-Fi on the top floor. I have been having some issues with the internet recently but I believe it is all resolved now. Hopefully we will... More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Only issue is that there is no lift. Would book this hotel again. The breakfast was lovely, eat as much or as little as you like. The free wifi is a fantastic bonus especially with the kids. Hotel is close to to train station, shops, restaurants, pubs etc.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. It was really nice for us to meet you all and hopefully we will welcome you again in the future. Kind regards, Simon More

Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

great location, rooms need to be updated, friendly staff and a good cooked breakfast, 1 night stay was way too expensive £110 , not worth the money. room was freezing in the night and the heater didn't work .would not recommend this hotel to be honest for the price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Tracy for your review. I am very sorry that you did not feel that we were value for money. I have had the heater checked and I promise that it does work although I must admit that the LED light does not come on. I do stock many spare portable ones as well. Our price is always cheaper... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Sandringham Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Sandringham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandringham Hotel

Address: 21 St Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1PL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandringham Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Sandringham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandringham Hotel Cardiff, Wales

107 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (64)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (44)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Cardiff with
any amenities