We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sandringham Hotel

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
21 St Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1PL, Wales
Offers & Announcements
10% off = book direct
Sandringham Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #22 of 81 Hotels in Cardiff
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Johnny I London, United Kingdom
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    220
    103
    32
    28
See reviews for
59
147
98
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (518)
  • Mar-May only
    (132)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (101)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (135)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (150)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Perfect location, a short walk from the train station and very close to the Millennium Station and Castle. The staff were very friendly and really helpful and welcoming. I had work related business I had to do on Queen street (this is right round the corner from the hotel) and found the location perfect. The hotel is above a really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks Johnny for such a nice review. We try to do our best and compete with the many chain hotels we have in Cardiff. Your kind words will hopefully persuade others to choose The Sandringham when staying in Cardiff. I am very grateful to you. It was a pleasure for us to meet you and hopefully we shall welcome you... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Good centrally located hotel within easy reach of the shops, train and bus stations, sports stadium and nightlife. The staff were friendly and helpful through out my stay, the only drawbacks are that there are no lifts and the stairs leading up to the reception.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this excellent review. I am very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay. It is always a pleasure to welcome the Railway team. Hopefully we shall welcome you again. Kind regards, Simon More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Thoroughly enjoyed the experience of staying at this hotel. The decor in the communal spaces was a particular treat if you're a fan of retro - I particularly enjoyed the 1960s mural in the breakfast area - and all in all, it functioned well as a budget option in a great central location. The staff were lovely, really friendly and... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your very kind words. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and I am glad that you have enjoyed yourself. Hopefully we shall welcome you again in the future. Kind regards, Simon More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

No complaints! Very friendly and helpful staff! Room clean and spacious! Situated close to all shops, restaurants and sights!And railway station. Would definately stay there again!will bring my grandaughter next visit!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Christine for such a wonderful review. Good and bad reviews honestly do affect me. I read your five star review along with another one on my birthday so I am sure of a happy day. Thanks again and hopefully as you say we will see you again and if so I hope to say thank you in person.... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Great hotel can't fault it, superb location in the city centre yet the noise level was fine and the room was spotless. Receptionist was curtious and very helpful and for the price it is a bargain. Very much recommended especially if you are on a budget.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your five star review. I am very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay and I hope to welcome you back again when next visiting Cardiff. Kind regards, Simon More 

Chaddesden, null, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As as previous been reviewed in as much as there being no lift which rules out any disabled visitors. My room was on top floor and after 52 steps I was shattered. There is nothing much the hotel can do about this due to its layout. However the room was clean and roomy,bath and shower fine although shower was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Ken for your excellent and fair review. As you say we do have stairs but no lift. However we will accommodate guests on lower floors if requested and help with luggage. I am very glad that you have enjoyed your stay and I hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Simon More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It's too bad coz the personnell was kind, but the hotel OMG I don't recommend this hotel, 1st if you have a baby: lot of stairs to arrive in the reception, 2nd the court for the baby they didn't put the mattress, the boiler was completely dirty and the breakfast... my 2nd day I took my breakfast out side

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review

I am very sorry that you have not enjoyed your stay. The Housekeepers did put a travel cot in the room but I agree with you it should have had a more suitable mattress for a baby. We did go out straight away and buy one for you but I realise first impressions count a lot. I send my sincerest... More 

Gloucester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We chose the Sandrinham because it was central to the city but also because it had a twin room available for our South Afrian guests. We found it perfect for our needs, although it is in need of some updating in places, we found it very clean and friendly with bags of hot water, the breakfast was great also. I... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Ray for your positive review. Great to read that your guests have enjoyed their stay. I also have friends from South Africa. Happy to read that you have all enjoyed our hospitality. Hope to see you again. Kind regards, Simon More 

Ammanford, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a nice stay there, friendly service, nice clean room,, breakfast in the morning was served quick and was just right to help start the day off, I know it's a 2 star but had the service of a 4 star, will defenatly stay again next time I'm in Cardiff keep up the good work

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. It was very nice to meet you both and I will pass on your lovely comments to all concerned. Hopefully as you say we will get to welcome you again in the future. Kind regards, Simon More 

Tau, Norway
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
45 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

There is no lift / elevator in this hotel, nor space to build any in, as the building is very narrow. But if you can handle the stairs, the location is as central as you possibly can want it, with the pedestrian shopping street and fine pubs just outside, and a 3-5-minutes walk to the Cardiff Central train station and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Sir for your fantastic review. I am very pleased to read that you have enjoyed yourself. Hopefully we will get to see you again should you return to Cardiff. Kind regards, Simon More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

109 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (65)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (44)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question