We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sandringham Hotel

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
21 St Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1PL, Wales
Sandringham Hotel
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with HotelsClick to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #22 of 80 Hotels in Cardiff
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Elisa E
Add Photo Write a Review

604 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    163
    252
    120
    36
    33
See reviews for
71
175
115
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (604)
  • Mar-May only
    (164)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (155)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (135)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (150)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We came to Cardiff for a night out of London, as we just got engaged! The room was fabulous (number 3), the bed one of the most comfortable and the bathroom spacious and very cleaned. The ladies at reception, together with the one serving breakfast were fantastic, with a smile on the face and ready to please you. I have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Elisa for your lovely review. We all thoroughly enjoyed meeting you both especially at such a joyous time. It was a pleasure to put a bottle of wine in the room for you. Hopefully we shall get to welcome you again. Kind regards, Simon More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

A nice, clean and comfortable place in an excellent location with friendly staff. The building is very old though and that comes with its own issues. No lift meant that a large part of my memory of the hotel is lugging luggage up and down the stairs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for you review. I am very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay. The hotel is the longest serving hotel in Cardiff. It has character and charm but as you say sadly no availability for a lift. We will help where possible with luggage and lower floor rooms when requested. I totally understand and... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

I stayed at the Sandringham hotel with a friend last Friday night. My second stay here as it is not expensive and it is central to everything I need. We were given a 2nd floor room which had recently been decorated.i thought it might be noisy at the front but with double glazing and a fan , it was perfect.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Joana, Thank you so much for your review and for returning to us again. I am glad that you have enjoyed your visit once more. Really sorry to have missed you all on this occasion. Hopefully next time. Kind regards, Simon More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

that hotel was good..i was book onlie which sad include breakfast but when i was arrived ther reseptionist sad it is not include ... no problem,everthing was excellent..and very close to everywhere..I could hear the voices of the club bcaouse of my room was on the street side.Hotel does not have anything to do it :) thank you for everthing

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Simon for your smashing review. Great to read that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay and hopefully we shall get to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Simon More 

Paringa
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Close to bus station but in the centre of city so can be noisey. We stayed one night to catch a bus back to London. Cardiff is only small and you can walk from out of the city centre easily. Recommend b & b on Cathederal st as a good longer term stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review and for staying with us recently. We do have rooms at the back of the hotel and off the main street which are quieter. I hope you will consider returning to us in the future. Kind regards, Simon More 

paris
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very nice service & staff. I really enjoyed the 24/24h reception. The hotel is very old, and thus my room was not very sound proof Nevertheless hotel is very well placed in the heart of Cardiff, and arriving late at night, i could park my car easily in the street at couple minutes from the hotel.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Christophev for your lovely review. It is very nice to read that you have enjoyed your stay and I hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Simon More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Probably the worst hotel I have stayed at . There are so many things wrong with it, it would take me all day to itemise them all . At £110 per night bed only it is a complete rip off , only stay here if it is the last resort .

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review

I am so sorry that you have totally hated staying with us. We do try our best to make guests feel comfortable but we have clearly failed on this occasion. I can promise that I am totally gutted. Money is hard to come by for most of us so I get really disappointed if someone feels they have spent unwisely.... More 

Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for 2 nights from the 19th July 2015, the hotel is great for sightseeing and situated right in the heart for Cardiff, the lady on reception was like an old friend and the staff in the dining room were very friendly too, they do a really good breakfast. I would definately stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Anne very much for your smashing review. It was a pleasure for us to welcome you both. Alison (reception) has asked me to thank you as well. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards, Simon More 

Telford
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Was very impressed with the service, room, breakfast, location and discounted parking! Will definitely stay again. I wanted to be central for my daughters graduation and after party. Could not have found a better location! I emailed beforehand and was replied to within hours. Exceptionally helpful.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Pauline for your superb review and for taking the time to write it. I am very happy to read that you have enjoyed all aspects of your stay especially around such a special occasion. Hopefully we shall get to welcome you again when next in Cardiff. Kind regards, Simon More 

Marlborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Rooms were on 4th floor! No lifts available. Very noisy overnight from revellers in town centre. Hotel staff very helpful, though! Meal at Jazz Cafe appalling; steak the worst ever, waiter tried to overcharge!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am very sorry that you have not enjoyed your stay. We do have rooms on lower floors and these can be requested if preferred. I apologise that you were not happy with the steaks served in our restaurant. I have spoken to the chef to see what went wrong and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

115 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (71)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (44)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#21 of 80 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 stars 729 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#5 of 80 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 stars 1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#26 of 80 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 stars 558 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Parc Hotel
The Parc Hotel
#3 of 80 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,140 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Maldron Hotel Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay